Another Week of dCity: Training

in Blockchain Gaming2 years ago

Another week, more dCity.

Technically, it's been 2 weeks since I wrote my introduction to dCity post. It's been a strange ride so far. Everything keeps shifting and so plans I had get ruined or made much better.

I've put in roughly double the SIM that I started with, thanks to randomly winning the @qsett giveaway.

My initial core is the same: trying for positive income, 40+ education, 80+ creativity, so that I have a chance to get something most days.

Here are my biggest lessons from these two weeks.

Disaster is going to strike. Figure out what is going to be the worst and start to mitigate it.

I've had crime take my income. Mass fires. There could be economic crises, power outage, riots, and so on. On a budget, it's going to be difficult to protect yourself from all these, but if you just ignore it all, then you'll probably run into some sort of trouble most days.

The simplest thing I had not done was to add a police station to decrease the chance of crime. Crime is still my biggest chance, but I'm holding off to see how this goes for now.

Training.

For a time, taxes weren't so bad. I even got an income of 30+ SIM one day. It lulled me into a false sense of security that I could maybe just start boosting income as much as possible to get an economic engine going.

If I could get to a critical amount, it would allow me to buy new cards every few days off of the income it was generating alone.

Then my income went negative due to taxes.

My background discovery was 1% and my tech discovery was also 1%. This meant that getting a homeless person was the only likely thing to happen every day. I needed to look around for something else.

Training!

I had trained a student very early on, so I kind of expected this type of thing to keep happening. I hadn't looked into it very deeply.

I noticed I only had a .03% chance to train. I had just gotten super lucky. I got 2 Job Centers and that number went up to 12.05%. Not super likely, but over the course of a week, the odds get in my favor.

Training a homeless or immigrant can have lots of benefits too, like tax refunds so that you still get income during >100% tax situations.

We'll see what sorts of lessons I learn in the coming weeks.

Sort:  

I'm new to it like yourself so getting into it now. Bought a law firm there and it cuts my income tax rate. never knew that. The game is full of surprises. The all card list is helping me.

Several strategies I used when I first started out.

On the marketplace I tried to buy the cards that gave me the the most SIM and the most population for my money.

I also built up my education percent and unlocked tech cards so they could be discovered. In some cases you can sell extra tech on the marketplaces.

The homeless and immigrant cards can also be sold on the marketplaces.

When I get on the game later I will send you a gift from my account or my alt account.

Wow. Thanks a lot! Education does sound really good right now. I haven't discovered any, but I do unlock new tech whenever I can.

I sent a couple of universities, a tech and some workers (to offset the unemployment I caused when I sent the universities). When you get the chance buy some schools and universities out in the marketplace to bump up that discovery.

Definitely. Thanks a lot!

Congratulations @hilbyguy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 25