SHARE YOUR BATTLE Weekly Challenge! KULU SWIMHUNTER - Splinterlands

~~~ embed:https://ipfs-3speak.b-cdn.net/ipfs/bafybeidegp7sqg7vwl2l3babn5esttjqe3rn3uj6bjqsfgru4wgvuscg5m/ threespeak ~~~

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


  • Just in case the video above doesn't work, here are the Desktop Replay and Mobile Replay links!

  • The rule set for this match was Equal Opportunity(All monsters attack the enemy with the lowest health), Noxious Fumes (All monsters lose 2 Health per round), 46 Mana Cap, and no Earth or Dragon Splinter.

  • Usually when Earth Splinter is available, my opponent's will put together a magic heavy team but since the rule set excluded that Splinter I was comfortable not worrying about finding an anti-magic team.

  • Instead I went with Kelya Frendul as my summoner, the one I own is Level 4. He gives all friendly monsters an extra point of armor and speed.

  • I led with a Leviathan rental, due to its Taunt ability, my other monsters won't have to worry about being attacked for a couple or few rounds which is nice. I like using Taunt monsters because it protects the rest of my team and if properly supported can result in a loop where my opponent gets stuck attacking only my Taunt monsters while the rest of my team wears them down.

  • In 2nd, I put Venari Wavesmith. They havbecause of its 2 magic damage which bypasses enemy armor and it's Protect ability which gives all friendly monsters two extra armor points. I like combining Kelya's armor perk with Wavesmith's armor perk, and a hefty monster with lost of armor like Leviathan or Diemonshark.

  • In 3rd, I chose Nerissa Tridawn because of her heavy magic damage of 3 and large health which acts as a good attack spong should she end up in 1st position.

  • For 4th, I went with Djinn Oshannus whose a pretty reliable powerhouse with decen magic damage of 2, high speed of 5 which is 6 with the summoner Kelya, and mine is level 2 so he has Phas which lets him dodge magic according to his speed stat which is high.

  • In last, I put Merdaali Guardian whose job is to basically keep fixing my front-line's health with her Tank Heal ability. Armor-repairers and tank-healers are great for Taunt-monster teams because while half your team works as a shield, the other three monsters are on the attack without interruption for a couple or few rounds.

  • Now for the Weekly Challenge monsters--Kulu Swimhunter. Honestly I don't use this monster too often. Maybe only in low mana battles due to his decent range damage of 2 and decent speed of 3 which become 4 thanks to the summoner Kelya. While Leviathan is attracting all attacks with Taunt and Merdaali regularly fixes its health, I have three magic monsters act as a great offensive buffer which allows Kulu Swimhunter to dish out its range damage without worry of being attacked until the enemy manages to defeat Leviathan.

  • In the end, my strategy worked and Kulu Swimhunter wasn't taken down until Round 4, and not even by an enemy attack but the regular poison from the Noxious Fumes ruleset.

  • I'm not sure what I would change since magic is very advantageous to use in battles with monsters who have a lot of armor. Perhaps I would've used Wave Brood instead of Merdaali as a back-up Taunt monster but I'm not sure if the mana cap would've allowed that. The biggest threat for me in this battle was Deeplurker and the poison rule set.

  • Kulu Swimhunter looks cool, like he'd be one of Cthulhu's bodyguards if he was a little less blue and more grey or purple. Other than that, he has no abilities and his range damage is okay and isn't impressive until level 6. I prefer using monsters with abilities so if I'm going to use a monster with no abilities they usually have above-decent stats. Kulu Swimhunter feels more like a low mana-cap battle monster, rather than someone I'd choose for a heavy-hitter or ability-focused team.

  • Hope y'all enjoyed this Weekly Challenge post. Feel free to let me know in the comments below!


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.