You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ragnarok - Game Design Document

Its a combo of chess'ish/ hearthstone'ish/ poker'ish
Chess is more for positioning the battles you want, (like attacking a fire god as a water god)

The real fun part is the 1v1, which I think needs to be played to fully understand how it will work.

Sort:  

the chess board and 1v1 is battle chess from the 80's with an added layer of making the 1v1 more of a TCG style battle.

No issues with this. I like it a lot. Just trying to be honest of how it will work.

Your definition of "combo of chess'ish/ hearthstone'ish/ poker'ish"
is "Battle chess clone / TCG combat system / MTG 6th edition stack rules for bluffing strategy"

Like I said I love the idea but from a game designer view this is what it is.

(remember I have been doing table top, card game, board game, video game design for 25+ years so I just clarifying in my own head)

actually I see a lot more Archon than battle chess more like Archon II.

Can't wait for it