December Artistry Bazaar: My Henna Portfolio

As I posted about December Artistry Bazaar: My Little Henna & Brush Stall, I decided to dedicate my henna work into this post in this community, where I can share the art of temporary tattoos with you guys. Quick introduction: NomNomNoodle is my (cyber)name and painting henna is one of my favorite hobbies since I discovered it in 2012.

S__4907017.jpg

Being an amateur henna artist as I am, I tried to give myself a chance to go open my little stand in a market from time to time and December is the best time to do so. People tend to wanna get henna before their long weekend that they wanna go travelling and change up a bit. Henna is fun and won't last long until you have to get back to work.


Here are some of...

🌟 My Henna Art 🌟

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_81.jpg

Every time before I draw/paint henna for a customer, I had to hype myself up and draw one on myself first. This is the design I chose for that day. A crescent moon with a rose. I'm quite proud of it and more than ready for my customers.


EF49FE7D-5C75-4FDE-9CC7-3BA48FF946A3.jpg

This is how I worked. A customer would come up to me, ask what henna is, how long it's gonna last. Then we spent at least 15 minutes of picking the designs. We find the comfortable seats together and I start drawing.


55B708D2-C0D2-4FB0-8760-DE9A5B25464A.jpg


🌟 My Henna Works from that Weekend 🌟

Most of the time, it didn't take much time since most of the customer would pick a minimal design for me. Only a few customers would ask for real full-on Henna patterns.

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_53.jpg

Like this one, she just wanted to have her shop's logo on her wrist. This is how it turned out. I added colorful stars for her using colored henna.
LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_8.jpg


I had these 3 girls, just walking by my stand so many times. I could see that they were interested, were too shy to step in, so I started to talk to them and show them what I'm doing here.

1014553C-3A30-47F2-AB3B-B9965368463C.jpg

08E907D7-1BAC-410E-9A72-A006BA927B02.jpg


LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_1.jpg

They were instantly interested and asked me to draw them something. Then, they asked me to draw something cartoony, so I let them look up their favorite character and I'd do it for them.


I drew (1) We bare bear, which was a little messy there, (2 - down left) the sanrio character, Kuromi, which I was happy to get to use some other henna colors I brought too, and (3 - down right) a minimal cat.


LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_13.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_18.jpg


Next up, I drew a minimal pattern of a playback menu on one of my customer's wrist. Easy to draw, but not very easy to remind them that they need to be careful not to smear the henna when it's not dry yet.

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_56.jpg


One common pattern that I was being asked a lot is something that has to do with stars and and the universe, like this one here. It was a Saturn and a moon connecting together with stars.

7D1EA870-284E-4777-B8E8-E35C3C344B00.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_3.jpg


Lots of times, a customer wasn't sure what pattern they want and I'll just suggest them to start with something really common and go through Pinterest, like this.

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_73.jpg

She ended up with small roses and her friend got a Chinese word for "Love".

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_95.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_96.jpg

Next day, the girls were coming back to me, saying that yesterday after they showed off these new cool henna tattoo and their friends were surprised and thought that it was a real tattoo. They wanted more.

Another Sanrio's character. This one I don't know the name, so if anyone knows, please feel free to let me know in the comments.

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_33.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Henna Watercolor_231214_37.jpg

And this is Hello Kitty wearing a penguin suit(?). I'm glad she didn't smear the henna today.


And that's all of that weekend artsy job of mine. If I could get to do more, I'll be back and show you guys. Until then..

Stay joyful and keep enjoying the last weekends of the year, guys

Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle 🍜


Sort:  

First of all, welcome to our community! And what a way to do it, our first henna tattoo artist.
I was delighted not only with each of the designs, but also with the level of detail you put into them and that initial ritual of doing one yourself before starting.
My favorite was the saturn and the moon, it really looks like a permanent tattoo.
I hope to see more of your work here!

Yayy thank you so much for warm welcome in the community. I’m so happy to have a community that I could share this part of me. Happy Holidays ;))

Hi @nomnomnoodle, 😁 so glad to see you in the community, welcome and thanks for bringing your experience with henna, I love henna and want to paint my whole body with it 🤣.

You are an excellent tattoo artist you draw very well and also you are a good salesperson by understanding your potential customers and helping them.

Have a great 2024. 🌲🎁🚀💯

Thank you so much :) I really appreciate your welcome and glad to make new friends here :)) ahh Henna for the whole body I’d love to do that so much. The painting would be so relaxing but the witing for it to dry might take a super long time I think.

Anyway thank you for stopping by and happy new years ☺️✨

An excellent way to mix art, pleasure and finance.
Using henna gives certain freedoms that machine tattooing has more limited, besides giving you the possibility to change the designs many times.
I'm so glad you shared your experiences in our community.

I couldn’t agree more that both arts are for different purposes and it’s great how we get to have different options. Thank you for welcoming me so kindly. I hope I get to do more and share more experiences with you guys :)

lol love the facial expressions of the emoji's xd nice touch

Ohh you mean the face over emoji that i drew on the customers lol thank you so much @acidyo and @mamaemigrante ! Im so happy my hard work has been recognized

Totally agree. I also liked them a lot

I liked the design of the three girls, I remember one of my son's favorite cartoons was We Bare Bear I used to sit with him and watch it, that henna better not last so long on the skin otherwise I wouldn't be able to go back to work.

Thats so sweet. For me, I’m more like an old school cartoon network era so I haven’t watched it much but it’s popular here too

My first was with henna haha a owl in the chest, very bit one 😅 love henna, and the idea of taking the stand to the fairs is so cool, i have seen them a lot in the fairs for this part of the world too(south america)

Cool work! very diferent of what i usually see on henna 💜 merry christmas and happy new year 💙

Thank you so much ☺️ It made me happy to do this do. Unfortunately I didn’t have much time to do it lately but I hope to do more too. It’s very sweet of you to stop by. 🥳 HNY!

Impressive work! I'd most likely request your services for the first model with the cat if we'd meet. It's my favourite out of all! ❤️

Definitely! I’d love to :))

Let's keep that in mind then for whenever the opportunity occurs! haha Xd

!WOC

Great effort on Woc, @nomnomnoodle! kairke(6/8) is grateful for the work and dedication you've put into this post. Your contributions are truly appreciated.

You rock! @kairke knows it, and that's why they sent you this gift of 0.3 WGOLD to remind you of your greatness.

BTW! WGOLD is the token of the War of Clans ecosystem, you can use it to have discounts in all our games or stake it and earn rewards now!


Very beautiful! I loved the kitten! When I was pregnant a friend did my whole belly with henna, it was so relaxing hahaha

Absolutely wowww I’d really love it if someone would let me draw a whole belly with henna. How long does it stay on your skin? I think if it’s a big pattern it might stay longer right?

what beautiful designs, so much to choose from, happy new year.

que hermosos diseños mucho donde escoger, feliz año

Happy new year to you too :) Maybe you wanna get one for yourself this new year? 😁