Open the Book! 20221115 Song Celestial

in TruthSeekerslast year (edited)

Today I stumbled across this old copy of Sir Edwin Arnold’s translation of the Bhagavad Gita, The Song Celestial. I found this copy tucked away safely in my tool box; I’d forgotten it was there!

I got this from ThriftBooks for probably 2 or 3 dollars, but on the cover page it looks like the original owner put their name down in 1941! So I added my name and the date…looks like I got this copy in the year J1018.

Anyway, oddly enough the book opened directly to a passage I must have outlined 3 or 4 years ago, so I thought, maybe I’ll start opening spiritual texts to random pages and sharing their contents. Today we will focus on that highlighted passage in particular.

And whoso loveth Me cometh to Me.
Whoso shall offer Me in faith and love
A leaf, a flower, a fruit, water poured forth, That offering I accept, lovingly made
With pious will. Whate’er thou doest, Prince! Eating or sacrificing, giving gifts,
Praying or fasting, let it all be done
For Me, as Mine.

I really love what Krishna says here, it takes out much of the complication associated with proper worship: if you do it, do it for me, whatever it is, and I will be happy with this…at least that’s how I read that.

What do you think family, is this how YWHW feels with regard to offerings?



Thanks for checking out some more of my work! As always, I hope you enjoyed witnessing as much as I enjoyed creating!

© Photos and words by @albuslucimus, except where otherwise indicated.


img_4821.png


If you enjoy my content, check out the Albus Index!

Here you’ll find links to various post-groupings, so you can find all posts related to a specific topic quickly. Topics include lists of brewing recipes, flutes, crypto talks, rucking posts and an index of all acoustic covers. The lists are updated as new content is added, so they can always be used to quickly navigate my content.



img_1319

SRC

Sort:  

I read the opening scene a while later, the unfolding of the two great armies at the precipice of war and, just as the dialog between Krishna and Arjuna began to open, I flipped to another random page, landing on another of my highlighted quotes:

I love how these books are so well able to speak to us in myriad ways, to guide us to their own pages in times when the meaning of particular lines or parables might be of value for eyes that see. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how to live right spiritually, how to be a strong man of GOD. It was never really a thought for me in the past, but lately it feels like the only thing that matters.

Be well family!

Congratulations @albuslucimus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 45000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 46000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

World Cup Contest - New Sponsor - LeoFinance joins the party with 1000 more HIVE!
World Cup Contest - New Sponsor and Prizes - dCrops adds 30000 CROP and 300 NFTs
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Collect badges and win prizes - More than 5500 HIVE to win
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!