What was George Harrison’s “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” Really About?

My father in law was visiting for the weekend. He showed me his playlist (which is excellent, by the way) and asked me to pick a song. When I saw While My Guitar Gently Weeps I thought, I haven’t heard that in forever - let’s listen to that.

I had no ulterior motive except to hear a song I love and hadn’t heard in a while. It was actually my father in law who brought up what the song means to him, and then my wife who gave her interpretation. I stayed silent and listened to the lyrics because I’d never asked myself what it might mean - so I figured I’d listen and see if anything jumped out at me, and the result was pretty wild. Let’s get into it.

Remember when John Lennon said our societies are run by insane people?
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=mvqmGUZTCtU

Not long after this interview, he was shot to death, of course by a random person with suspiciously undefined/weak motives. But we’re not here for that, so feel free to go on believing whatever version of the story makes you feel more comfortable.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=zOKGcEfSwnY

So today I want to look at these words written some years earlier, at least mostly by George Harrison, for The Beatles’ While My Guitar Gently Weeps.


Art by Robert Lyn Nelson

While My Guitar Gently Weeps

Song by The Beatles

I look at you all
See the love there that's sleeping (1)
While my guitar gently weeps

I look at the floor
And I see it needs sweeping (2)
Still my guitar gently weeps

I don't know why nobody told you
How to unfold your love (3)

I don't know how someone controlled you
They bought and sold you (4)

I look at the world
And I notice, it's turning
While my guitar gently weeps
With every mistake
We must surely be learning (5)
Still my guitar gently weeps

I don't know how you were diverted
You were perverted too
I don't know how you were inverted
No one alerted you (6)

I look from the wings
At the play you are staging (7)
While my guitar gently weeps
'Cause I'm sitting here
Doing nothing but aging
Still my guitar gently weeps

(1) Is this a reference to the Godhead, the kundalini, the radiating energy of pure love that sleeps inside us, awaiting our time of awakening to the truth? Let’s push on and see if we can get further clarity.

(2) This could be taken many ways, and to be honest, I don’t believe he gave us the context needed to decipher what floor he’s talking about, but one could conclude that this alludes to the end of days and the cleaning of earth’s population. With so little information though, I have to say in the end that I just don’t know what he meant here.

(3) This reads to me as though he’s wondering how we lost touch with our divine inheritance. In (1) he refers to the love sleeping within us, and here he says essentially that we’ve lost our ability to access that which lies within us.

(4) Who was bought and sold? Whoever this refers to was not just bought and sold, but is also under the control of an abstract “they.” This could refer to the American public, the global community minus some of our stronger holdouts in the more melanated regions (bless you my brothers and sisters, you are carrying the world!), or it could refer to an individual, but that seems less likely given the overall context. To me this refers either to a people once free, or a leader of those once free people, but let’s see if further analysis can add to our context-base.

(5) This feels to me like it’s spoken in frustration and in the full knowledge that, although we should be learning, we are falling for the same deceptions time and time again, but because of the lines preceding this segment, I think it’s fair to assume at this point he is speaking in terms of mistakes made and lessons to be taken from the vantage point of global history. Check out The Protocols of the Learned Elders of Zion, regardless of the true author, it maps out a singular path to destroying nations one at a time, using the same method on repeat. It’s a lot like someone using the sweep kick over and over in Mortal Kombat, but since it’s drawn out over long times and hidden by the privately owned media, we don’t see it happening.

(6) This was, for me, the most powerful verse. Inversion is the backbone of Luciferian symbolism. Societies by and large today are steeped in perversion and inverted symbolism(again, check out the Protocols, which define the method for utilizing inversion and perversion to undermine a nation’s moral fiber to open the door for dissent). It even follows a path: start out by diverting the peoples’ attention, fill their media (and hence their minds) with lust and perversion, both sexually and spiritually, and eventually completely invert the belief system on which the nation was founded. When this happens, people lose connection to their ancestral roots and covenants to which their bloodlines are beholden. Once you’ve stripped out the belief system, you are free to replace it with whatever deleterious material you choose.

(7) Of you’re familiar with the history of Laurel Canyon and the ties between the US government’s intelligence agencies and the “hippie movement,” as well as the direct relationship the entertainment industries have to Luciferian rituals, it would not be hard to see that many artists, especially 50 years ago, may well have been privy to much higher levels of information regarding what was really going on. Of course, it could just be also that Harrison saw what was going on of his own accord, but either way, this line suggests that he sat above the tumult, completely aware that all the world’s news and media was a false play intended to drive us in any given direction.

So to me, it seems like Harrison wrote this song of lament, pining over the tragic downfall of mankind. Perhaps it was a wake up call, but had to be disguised in such a way that record label executives (controllers) either wouldn’t notice, or would see the veiled message as being too far above our heads to be received; in either case, it seems to this silly fool that he was ultimately trying to wake people up.

I don’t know, but I thought it could be an interesting topic for discussion at the very least. What do you think this song meant?

~ Seeker-8

Sort:  

Congratulations @hive-131897! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!