Thanatology: A Light in the Darkness of Grief

in Holos&Lotuslast month

"Hónralos con tu vida, no con tu dolor"
Gaby Pérez, tanatóloga

image.png

Greetings and blessings, my dear friends at @holos-lotus. I hope you are doing very well, in health and well-being, and that you enjoy the best possible day for all of us.

The year 2022 was a year in which I experienced many losses, a year that was marked by a feeling of uprootedness, by a deep sadness and pain, and by a feeling of helplessness that drowned me.

One of the first griefs I experienced during that year was having left behind my homeland, part of my family and my friends; and, although it was not a decision taken lightly, but very well thought out and planned, because it meant the reunification of my family nucleus, which made me happy, it was inevitable to feel sad, too, for what, with my decision, I lost along the way. The first months I felt in my chest a confusion of feelings that mixed between joy and sadness.


When I was in my process of acceptance and adaptation, a few months after having emigrated, misfortune appeared and another deeper pain made me succumb to sadness. My mother died! It was a devastating blow that shook the foundations of my existence. Her departure left an immense void in my heart and it was filled with pain and grief.

In the middle of my sleepless nights, I found a post on social media that talked about grief. In that post appeared a Mexican thanatologist who shared some emotional tools to cope with grief, no matter what kind of grief it was. So, I started following Gaby Perez, thanatologist, on Instagram, and I confess that there I found a refuge to face and heal the emotional wounds caused by emigration, the loss of my mother and other losses.

Since then, I have been reading about thanatology and I consider it has been a light, a beacon in the darkest moments of my life. Frequent listening to this thanatologist and reading about thanatology helped me to cope with my grief in the year 2022.

Saludos y bendiciones, mis queridos amigos de @holos-lotus. Espero que se encuentren muy bien, con salud y bienestar, y que disfruten del mejor día posible para todos.

El año 2022 fue un año en el que viví muchas pérdidas, un año que estuvo marcado por un sentimiento de desarraigo, por una profunda tristeza y dolor, y por un sentimiento de desamparo que me ahogaba.

Uno de los primeros duelos que experimenté durante ese año fue haber dejado atrás mi tierra natal, parte de mi familia y mis amigos; y, aunque no fue una decisión tomada a la ligera, sino muy bien pensada y planificada, pues significaba la reunificación de mi núcleo familiar, lo cual me hacía feliz, fue inevitable sentirme triste, también, por lo que, con mi decisión, perdí en el camino. Los primeros meses sentía en mi pecho una confusión de sentimientos que se mezclaban entre alegrías y tristezas.

Cuando estaba en mi proceso de aceptación y adaptación, a pocos meses de haber emigrado, el infortunio apareció y otro dolor más profundo me hizo sucumbir en la tristeza. ¡Mi madre murió! Fue un golpe devastador que sacudió los cimientos de mi existencia. Su partida dejó un vacío inmenso en mi corazón y se llenó de dolor y desconsuelo.

En mitad de mis noches de insomnio, encontré en las redes sociales una publicación que hablaba del duelo. En ese post aparecía una tanatóloga mexicana que compartía algunas herramientas emocionales para sobrellevar el duelo, fuera de la índole que fuera. Así, comencé a seguir a Gaby Pérez, tanatóloga, por Instagram, y les confieso que allí encontré un refugio para enfrentar y sanar las heridas emocionales provocadas por la emigración, por la pérdida de mi madre y por otras pérdidas.

Desde entonces, he estado leyendo sobre tanatología y considero que ha sido una luz, un faro en los momentos más oscuros de mi vida. Escuchar, frecuentemente a esta tanatóloga, y leer sobre la tanatología me ayudaron a sobrellevar mis duelos del año 2022.

image.png

IMG_20220918_165256.jpg
image.png

What is thanatology?

Thanatology “is a scientific discipline that is in charge of finding the meaning to the process of death, its rites and meaning conceived as a professional discipline, which integrates the person as a biological, psychological, social and spiritual being to live in fullness and seek its transcendence.”See more.

Now, with respect to emigration, this discipline taught me that mourning is not exclusive to physical death, but that we can also grieve for any kind of significant loss in our lives. In this way, I was able to understand my process and learned to validate my emotions at that moment and, in addition, I allowed myself to feel everything that emigration had moved inside me.


In the midst of the storm of mourning for my mother's death, I found in thanatology, listening to Gaby Perez, tools to go through this difficult grieving process in a calm, serene and very accepting way. I understood that grief is a unique and personal process, and that everyone lives it at their own pace.


Since then, thanatology has given me a different way of thinking about life and death. I have learned to value each present moment and to live with gratitude and fullness.


It is not easy to accept death when you feel a heart-rending pain in your heart and in every fiber of your being because of the loss of a loved one, but I am on the road to accepting death with a deep sense of peace and serenity, understanding that it is part of the natural cycle of life.

I wanted to share with you this experience that has been healing for me, in case it is useful for those who are going through the grief of a loss and, because, I remembered how good it did me, at that time, to see the videos of this thanatologist on Youtube, about having met her at the FILBo 2024, presenting her book “LA MUERTE DEL AMOR” (THE DEATH OF LOVE).

I leave you these photos I took at the presentation of the book in which Gaby Perez, Mexican thanatologist addressed the issue of mourning for the death of love.

¿Qué es la tanatología?

La tanatología "es una disciplina científica que se encarga de encontrar el sentido al proceso de la muerte, sus ritos y significado concebido como disciplina profesional, que integra a la persona como un ser biológico, psicológico, social y espiritual para vivir en plenitud y buscar su transcendencia." Ver más.

Ahora bien, con respecto a la emigración, esta disciplina me enseñó que el duelo no es exclusivo de la muerte física, sino que también podemos sentir un duelo por cualquier tipo de pérdida significativa en nuestras vidas. De este modo, pude entender mi proceso y aprendí a validar mis emociones de ese momento y, además, me permití sentir todo lo que la emigración había movido dentro de mí.

En medio de la tormenta que significaba el duelo por la muerte de mi mamá, encontré en la tanatología, escuchando a Gaby Pérez, herramientas para transitar por este difícil proceso de duelo de una manera tranquila, serena y de mucha aceptación. Entendí que el duelo es un proceso único y personal, y que cada uno lo vive a su propio ritmo.

Desde entonces, la tanatología me ha brindado una forma diferente de pensar sobre la vida y la muerte. He aprendido a valorar cada momento presente y a vivir con gratitud y plenitud.

No es fácil aceptar la muerte cuando se siente un dolor desgarrador en el corazón y en cada fibra de nuestro ser por la pérdida de un ser querido, pero estoy en el camino de la aceptación de la muerte con una profunda sensación de paz y serenidad, entendiendo que es parte del ciclo natural de la vida.

Quise compartir con ustedes esta experiencia que ha sido sanadora para mí, por si es útil para quienes estén pasando por el duelo de una pérdida y, porque, recordé lo bien que me hizo, en aquel momento, ver los videos de esta tanatóloga por Youtube, a propósito de haberla encontrado en la FILBo 2024, presentando su libro "LA MUERTE DEL AMOR"

Les dejo estas fotos que tomé en la presentación del libro en la que Gaby Pérez, tanatóloga mexicana abordaba el tema del duelo por la muerte del amor.

image.png

photo_2024-05-04_15-01-13.jpg

image.png

Las fotos que ilustran esta publicación son de mi archivo personal. El banner y el separador son mis diseños en Canva.

The photos illustrating this publication are from my personal archive. The banner and the divider are my designs in Canva.

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @aurodivys! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 17000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 18000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day

Buenas noches @aurodivys, gracias por compartir tan valiosa información. Me alegro de corazón que vayas superando el espacio de dolor que deja la partida de un ser querido. Te abrazo. 🙂

Muchas gracias, querida Damarys. Un abrazo.