Initiative: Where does well-being begin? I live my present, being grateful for being and being || Iniciativa: ¿Por dónde comienza el bienestar? Vivo mi presente, agradeciendo el estar y el ser

in Holos&Lotus2 years ago

pexels-oleksandr-pidvalnyi-321576.jpg


Free photo taken from pexels. Photographer Oleksandr Pidvalnyi

Dear Holos & Lotus community, I join the initiative proposed by @damarysvibra who leads us to reflect: Where does wellness begin? Grateful to be able to share my experience with you.

What is wellness?

When we talk about wellness we can say that it is something very personal and subjective, since what it means to feel good for someone else does not have to be the same as for me. But if something is certain, it is that we all try, at some point in our lives, to acquire it and there comes a point where we begin to give it the value it deserves in our lives.

Certainly, we live so overwhelmed with the day to day that sometimes we do not even take the time to analyze if we are living in wellness or if we are simply living life fulfilling established requirements.

Querida comunidad de Holos & Lotus, me uno a la iniciativa propuesta @damarysvibras quien nos lleva a reflexionar ¿Por dónde comienza el bienestar? Agradecida de poder compartir mi experiencia con ustedes.

¿Qué es el bienestar?
Cuando hablamos de bienestar podemos decir que es algo muy personal y subjetivo, ya que lo que significa sentirse bien para otro no tiene que ser lo mismo que para mí. Pero si algo es seguro, es que todos procuramos, en algún momento de nuestra vida, adquirir este y llega un punto dónde empezamos a darle el valor que se merece en nuestra vida.
Ciertamente, vivimos tan agobiados con el día a día que a veces ni nos tomamos el tiempo para analizar si estamos viviendo en bienestar o si simplemente llevamos la vida cumpliendo requisitos establecidos.

The moment when I reflected that I needed "an awakening" came about 10 years ago, when I was studying at the university and I had a feeling that I was just letting life take me by the hand, I had no motivation much less felt good about myself, at one point I felt a huge emotional emptiness and somehow I was like a spectator of my own life.

Meanwhile, I always wanted somehow to have a real connection with the world, I think that without realizing it I was in a search for something that really made sense and I attribute this also to the fact that I was studying philosophy, since it makes us reflect on really deep things that we don't think about every day. Throughout this process, I began to have a need to define what I really wanted to do with my life, because of course, there are certain patterns that society instills in us, as determinants for life, but sometimes they do not fill us or simply become requirements, but do not define our true essence.

When in 2012 I began to practice practices such as meditation, reciting mantras and somehow understand that we only have one life and we must take advantage of it 100% in things that nourish both body and spirit. This is how I realized that there were certain things that far from generating well-being were leading me down a path that was not ideal, an example of this was that when I felt some dissatisfaction I took refuge in alcoholic beverages was a way to try to silence those thoughts that tormented me and also combined it with cigarettes to deal with anxiety.

El momento en el que reflexione que necesitaba “un despertar” que me proporcionará un bienestar, se hizo presente hace aproximadamente 10 años, cuando estudiaba en la universidad y tenía una sensación de que estaba simplemente dejándome llevar por la vida, no tenía una motivación ni mucho menos me sentía bien conmigo misma, en un punto sentía un vacío emocional enorme y de algún modo era como un espectador de mi propia vida.

En tanto, siempre quise de algún modo tener una conexión real con el mundo, creo que sin darme cuenta estaba en una búsqueda de algo que realmente tuviese sentido y atribuyo esto también al hecho de estar estudiando filosofía, ya que la misma nos hace reflexionar sobre cosas realmente profundas que no pensamos a diario. En todo este proceso, comencé a tener una necesidad por definir qué realmente quería hacer con mi vida, porque claro está, existen ciertos patrones que la sociedad nos inculca, como determinantes para la vida, pero que a veces no nos llenan o simplemente se convierten en requisitos, pero no definen nuestra verdadera esencia.

Cuando en el año 2012 comencé a realizar prácticas como la meditación, recitar mantras y de algún modo comprender que solo tenemos una vida y debemos aprovecharla al 100% en cosas que nos nutran tanto el cuerpo como el espíritu. Es así como me di cuenta, que había ciertas cosas que lejos de generarme bienestar me estaban llevando por un camino que no era idóneo, un ejemplo de esto: era que cuando sentía alguna insatisfacción me refugiaba en las bebidas alcohólicas era una forma de tratar de callar esos pensamientos que me atormentaban y además lo combinaba con el cigarrillo para lidiar con la ansiedad.

pexels-dmitriy-zub-6497042.jpg


Free photo taken from pexels. Photographer Dmitriy Zub.

In my case, this combination that I had chosen to cope with life, were really harmful to me, because they did not make me feel any kind of welfare, but rather began to cause me problems, because I had episodes of anger when I was under the effect of the drink, so I was forced to finally recognize that I needed a change of habits and learn to deal with my thoughts. I think that when we do anything in excess it takes its toll on us and that's what happened to me, at a certain point I stopped enjoying and started to feel a dependency that would lead me to a nervous breakdown if I didn't give my body the doses of alcohol I had accustomed it to.

It was then when I realized that I had to cultivate my spirit to achieve really important things that would make me feel that sensation of true wellbeing. That is how I started to put into practice these tools that I will share with you, which had a healing effect on me.

En mi caso, esta combinación que había elegido para sobrellevar la vida, eran de verdad perjudiciales para mí, porque no me hacían sentir ningún tipo de bienestar, sino que más bien empezaron a causarme problemas, porque tenía episodios de ira cuando estaba bajo el efecto de la bebida, por lo que me vi obligada a por fin reconocer que necesitaba un cambio de hábitos y aprender a lidiar con mis pensamientos. Creo que cuando hacemos cualquier cosa en exceso esto nos pasa factura y eso fue lo que pasó conmigo, en un punto ya dejé de disfrutar y empecé a sentir una dependencia que me llevaba a una crisis nerviosa si no le daba a mi cuerpo las dosis de alcohol al que lo había acostumbrado.

Entonces fue cuando me di cuenta de que debía cultivar mi espíritu para lograr cosas realmente importantes y que me hicieran sentir esa sensación de verdadero bienestar. Es así como empecé a poner en práctica estás herramientas que compartiré con ustedes, las cuales tuvieron un efecto sanador en mí.

pexels-karolina-grabowska-4498360.jpg


Free photo taken from pexels. Photographer Karolina Grabowska.

I stopped living trying to meet the expectations of others ||Dejé de vivir tratando de cumplir con las expectativas de otros.

Many times we tend to put pressure on ourselves to meet the expectations that others have of us and this affects us because we begin to measure our success in terms of pleasing others. It is as if we want others to approve of the things we have accomplished and we have this need to make people see that we are doing well.

Consequently, we must understand that our life cannot be based on doing things that please others, but rather achieve a balance in ourselves and give way to live happily, celebrating our small great achievements, because when we feel happy for what we do this is something that transcends what others will say.

Muchas veces tendemos a presionarnos por cumplir expectativas que otros tiene sobre nosotros y esto nos afecta porque comenzamos a medir nuestro éxito en función de complacer a los demás. Es como si quisiéramos que otro aprobará las cosas que hemos logrado y tenemos esa necesidad de hacer que las personas vean que si estamos haciéndolo bien.

En consecuencia, debemos entender que nuestra vida no se puede basar en hacer cosas que complazcan a otros, sino más bien lograr un equilibrio en nosotros mismos y darle paso a vivir feliz, celebrando nuestros pequeños grandes logros, porque cuando nos sentimos felices por lo que hacemos esto es algo que trasciende, el que dirán.

Learn to face what causes us pain|| Aprender a afrontar lo que nos causa dolor.

It is not about living, denying our bad moments, but to give way to the vulnerability that we may feel at some point and through this to know what causes us pain or frustration. So that based on this, we seek to work on that which prevents us from moving forward and that we have hidden in order not to face it, because when we are in denial we are not able to solve anything.

No se trata de vivir, negando nuestros malos momentos, sino de darle paso a la vulnerabilidad que podemos sentir en algún momento y a través de esto conocer que nos causa dolor o frustración. Para que en función de esto, busquemos trabajar aquello que nos impide avanzar y que hemos ocultado para no hacerle frente, ya que cuando nos encontramos en negación no somos capaces de solucionar nada.

Positive affirmations control self-sabotage || Las afirmaciones positivas controlan el auto sabotaje

At one point, we want to be perfect and this notion is something we need to eradicate. So focusing on the good that we possess and how this generates positive affirmations that will help us in the long run to build a kind relationship with ourselves, will be the perfect formula that will prevent us from self-sabotaging ourselves.

En un punto, queremos ser perfectos y esta noción es algo que debemos erradicar. Entonces enfocarnos, en lo bueno que poseemos y como esto genera afirmaciones positivas que nos ayudarán a largo plazo a construir una relación amable con nosotros mismos, será la fórmula perfecta que evitará que nos autosaboteemos.

pexels-arina-krasnikova-6914833.jpg


Free photo taken from pexels. Photographer Arina Krasnikova.

Cultivate the spirit in order to calm the mind|| Cultivar el espíritu para así poder calmar la mente.

Although it sounds cliché when we feel good with our spirit, this is reflected in the mind, because when we are cultivating this and in turn, the way we act in relation to others, this has a direct impact on our own thoughts. We become people who have a spiritual strength and those thoughts that used to torment us no longer have the same effect on us, rather there comes a time when we simply let them pass us by.

Aunque suene cliché cuando logramos sentirnos bien con nuestro espíritu, esto se refleja en la mente, ya que cuando estamos cultivando este y a su vez, la forma en la que actuamos en relación con los demás, esto tiene una incidencia directa en nuestros propios pensamientos. Nos convertimos en personas que tienen una fortaleza espiritual y aquellos pensamientos que antes nos atormentaban ya no tienen el mismo efecto en nosotros, más bien llega el momento en que los dejamos simplemente pasar de largo.

Vibrate positively || Vibrar en positivo

We have the ability to perceive and vibrate according to positive things, which tend to recharge our vital energy, let's start to strengthen ourselves through practices that help us to do this, maybe doing what you like the most is a good way to start.

In my case, meditation is my ally, as it allows me to stay focused on the present, thus controlling the anxiety that we sometimes experience for the future.

Tenemos esa capacidad para percibir y vibrar en función de cosas positivas, que tiendan a recargar nuestra energía vital, empecemos a fortalecernos a través de prácticas que nos ayude a esto, tal vez realizar lo que más les gusta, sea una buena forma de comenzar.

En mi caso, la meditación es mi aliada, ya que me permite mantenerme enfocada en el presente, controlando así la ansiedad que a veces experimentamos por el futuro.

Be our priority || Ser nuestra prioridad

Understand that our well-being also depends on the way we establish that we are a priority, it is not about being selfish, but rather the opposite, when we cultivate in ourselves values and strategies that make us feel good, we can give what we have cultivated. While we cannot give something we lack, by being able to work on ourselves, we can give others wellbeing as well.

Entender que nuestro bienestar dependen también del modo en que establecemos que somos prioridad, no se trata de ser egoístas, sino más bien todo lo contrario, cuando cultivamos en nosotros mismos valores y estrategias que nos hagan sentirnos bien, podemos dar eso que hemos cultivado. En tanto, no podemos dar algo de lo que carecemos, siendo capaces de trabajar en nosotros mismos, podemos otorgar a otros también bienestar.

pexels-daniel-torobekov-5694121.jpg


Free photo taken from pexels. Photographer Daniel Torobekov.

Thank you for appreciating and reading my writing. All the best to each one of you hivers || Gracias por apreciar y leer mi escrito. Todo lo bonito para cada uno de ustedes hivers


Sort:  

Congratulations @indumukhi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 30 posts.
Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022
Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results

Dear @indumukhi,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!