You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ¿Cómo cultivo la amabilidad? / How do I cultivate kindness?

in Holos&Lotus2 years ago

Being kind will change your life and the environment where you live. And if, on the contrary, you are not friendly, you will feel that the environment is hostile, it will be full of bad energies and you will not be able to carry out a good working day.

This is so true. At one job I had it started off so nice, I thought it was going to be the job I stayed at until retirement age. I liked what I was doing, I felt appreciated by my bosses, it was a nice environment. But then the nice boss got fired, a bunch of other staff had their hours cut, and suddenly what was a nice place to work became super angry and mean and toxic. The new boss wasn't really our boss but she was the boss of another department and they just made her our boss too and she didn't ever spend time in our department but she thought she knew better than people who had worked there for years anyway. Everyone was so upset, they came in at the start of their day already angry because they expected the day to go badly. Eventually I was fired too, and I felt relieved to no longer work there. That's how bad it was.

It just was such a clear example of how a place can be either kind and happy and productive, or hostile and angry and mean, and all it takes is a few minor shifts that changes everything. I hope that eventually it shifted to be better again, but I don't know obviously since I am no longer there. The saddest part is that it was in healthcare, so the patients used to have a positive place to go during scary treatments and then they had a negative place to go. :(

Sort:  

I am very sorry to hear what happened to you in your previous job, I think that treating people kindly improves anyone's day, sometimes people have bad days but no one should be blamed for that, don't be kind, it means putting people in a bad mood they don't deserve it. Thank you for taking the time to read my post and comment on your experience. Have a nice day