The photographer's intention || La intención del fotógrafo

in Visual Shots2 months ago

I have realised that before going out to take pictures it is sometimes useful to ask yourself what you want to photograph. At least in my case, it conditions the degree of observation I put into my surroundings, and the lens I'm using. I want to talk to you a bit about this while showing you some of my most recent photos.

When I go for a walk I ask myself what I want to photograph. On my first few outings I focused on ordinary, simple things that were right in front of you as you walked along the route. That's why I had my 18-55 mm lens on the camera. Some of these pictures I have already shown in a previous post, where I focused on the variety of vegetation. But the flowers deserve a separate chapter.

When we talk about flowers we may think of the most well-known ones: roses, sunflowers, daisies... but there are many more. I am sure that on the internet you will find an estimate closer to this number. But during my walks I am amazed at how they are present even in what one would call ‘weeds’.

Since when is the ordinary especially beautiful? Well, it seems that it has been so for a long time, since the beginning of Creation. I think, if vegetation was meant to abound to provide food and carry out the natural processes to keep the earth clean, it didn't have to be beautiful too, do you think? Yet we have flowers of different shapes, colours and scents, don't you think that's fantastic?

Those are the intentions of the one who created everything. That's why the photographer can also have his own intentions. I've already talked about how that intention affects the choice of the equipment he or she carries. Now we may be thinking about how we want the photos to look on those works of art. For some time now I have liked to set up the camera in such a way that the pictures of the flowers are as I want them to be: with dark backgrounds, as if they were floating in the middle of nowhere, as if they were shining in a dark world, as if they were the only worthwhile thing in that place?

How am I looking for that result? Well, with fast shutter speeds, closing the diaphragm a bit and not being afraid of high ISO. I take the time to position myself in such a way that the background is in shadow. Sometimes it is possible, sometimes not, because the flowers are at a considerable height or the sky is completely clear. I don't touch any of them and try to capture them in their natural position, playing with the angle and the distance.

What do you think of the result after a little touching up? Well, I'm very satisfied. I think this kind of photography has something to tell us about the author. Yes, they have an intention, but they could also have a message. And yes, I have things to say about them, but for now I'm not ready to reveal it today. Though your version would be greatly welcomed in the comments.

I keep walking. I keep seeing more of these same flowers. I love to keep looking at them, and sometimes I take new photos of them if I can think of a way to highlight their attributes and add that personal touch. Thanks for making it this far, see you next time!

Me he dado cuenta que antes de salir a tomar fotos a veces es útil preguntarse qué se quiere fotografiar. Al menos en mi caso, condiciona el grado de observación que pongo a mi entorno, y el lente que estoy usando. Quiero hablarles un poco de esto a la vez que les muestro algunas de mis fotos más recientes.

Al salir a caminar me pregunto qué quiero fotografiar. En mis primeras salidas me enfoqué en cosas comunes, sencillas, que estuvieran justo frente a uno a medida que avanzaba en el trayecto. Por eso, tenía puesto en la cámara mi lente 18 - 55 mm. Algunas de ésas fotos ya las mostré en una publicación anterior, donde me enfocaba en lo variada de la vegetación. Pero las flores merecen un capítulo aparte.

Al hablar de flores quizás evoquemos en nuestra mente las más conocidas: rosas, girasoles, margaritas... pero hay muchísimas más. Estoy seguro que en internet se encontrará alguna estimación más cercana de ésta cifra. Pero durante mis caminatas quedo asombrado de cómo están presentes hasta en lo que uno llamaría "mala hierba".

¿Desde cuando lo común y corriente es especialmente hermoso? Pues, parece que es así desde hace mucho tiempo, desde que empezó la Creación. Pienso que, si se quería que la vegetación abundara para dar alimento y realizar los procesos naturales para mantener a la tierra limpia, no era necesario que eso fuera hermoso también, ¿no crees tú? Con todo, tenemos flores de diferentes formas, colores y aromas. ¿No te parece fantástico eso?

Esas son las intenciones de quien lo creó todo. Por eso, el fotógrafo también puede tener sus propias intenciones. Ya hablé de que esa intención afecta la decisión del equipo que lleva. Ahora puede que estemos pensando en cómo queremos que queden las fotos a esas obras de arte. Desde un tiempo me ha gustado configurar la cámara de tal forma que las fotos de las flores estén como deseo: con fondos oscuros, como si estuvieran flotando en el medio de la nada, como si estuvieran brillando en un mundo oscuro, como si fueran lo único que valiera la pena en ese lugar...

¿Cómo estoy buscando ése resultado? Pues, con velocidades rápidas de obturación, cerrando un poco el diafragma y sin miedo a un ISO alto. Dedico tiempo para ubicarme de tal forma que consiga que el fondo esté en sombra. A veces es posible, a veces no, puesto que las flores están en una altura considerable o el cielo está totalmente despejado. Eso sí: no toco a ninguna y trato de capturarlas en esa posición natural que tenga, jugando con el ángulo y la distancia.

¿Qué te parece el resultado luego de unos leves retoques? Pues yo estoy muy satisfecho. Creo que este tipo de fotografía tiene algo que decirnos sobre el autor. Sí, ellas tienen una intención, pero también podrían tener un mensaje. Y sí, tengo cosas que decir sobre ellas, pero por ahora no estoy preparado para revelarlo hoy. Aunque tu versión sería grandemente bienvenida en los comentarios.

Sigo caminando. Sigo viendo más de ejemplares de éstas mismas flores. Me encanta seguirlas observando, y a veces le tomo nuevas fotos si se me ocurre alguna forma de resaltar sus atributos y agregándole ese toque personal. Gracias por llegar hasta aquí. ¡Hasta la próxima!

📸

Banner 2022.jpg

FUENTES / SOURCES

Images: Shot with my Canon EOS Rebel t3i camera and edited with GIMP || Imágenes: Realizadas con mi cámara Canon EOS Rebel t3i y editadas con GIMP
Banner: Made by me in GIMP with my own images and free resources from the site pfpmaker.com || Banner: Hecho por mi en GIMP con imágenes propias y recursos gratuitos del sitio pfpmaker.com
Language: Post written in Spanish and then translated into English through DeepL || Idioma: Post redactado en español y luego traducido al inglés mediante DeepL

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @aaalviarez! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Excellent selection of images among the wide variety of beautiful flowers.

!discovery 35

Thank you for your words of encouragement. I prepared this content with a lot of love. Greetings @wilfredocav


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you so much

Muy buenas fotos, sobre todas las nocturnas, antes de leer el articulo creía que era una fotografía nocturna con flash, excelente el resultado obtenido en el fondo.

En realidad, todas las fotos están tomadas de día. Pero como es una zona boscosa, configuro la cámara de tal forma que logro este efecto que me gusta, con los fondos oscuros. Es un estilo que adopté hace un tiempo y me siento identificado con él. Gracias por tomarte el tiempo de dejarme tan sincero comentario. Saludos @soyernesto

 2 months ago  

This post was curated by wilfredocav from the Visual Shots Team | Be part of our Curation Trail - Delegations are Welcome

Thanks for your support

That's awesome! Many of us, including I, take random shots based on what we enjoy, but forget about the essence behind every picture and that they should be well analyzed first. Thanks for learning me something new today! :)

Amazing photographs also emerge from ramdom😅. I think you have to apply those days as well. On more recent days I have been more observant, and I spend time getting the camera to do what I want it to do, looking for a bit more uniform results. I'll pop over to your blog in a bit to look at some photos then. Thank you very much for leaving me that sincere comment. Regards @gabrielatravels

The pleasure was all mine. Keep up the good work :)

https://reddit.com/r/VisualShots/comments/1eab832/the_photographers_intention/
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jlinaresp ) sharing the post on Reddit as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Amazing pictures. Sometimes as a photographer you go with a goal, a target, but at the end the scenario offers you different opportunities. I say this not because I’m a photographer but a content creator, and this is what happens to me.

Great pictures!!