The man in the shadow

in Writing Clublast year

pexels-ron-lach-9902411.jpg

Source

He was only seventeen when he first stood before the jury. Black skin, dark hair, sparkling white eye, and a dark brown pupil that glowed with innocence. His bright white teeth were not hard to miss as he spoke his truth. But still, his truth was hidden in the color of his skin.

I sat among the twelve men jury, eagerly waiting to pronounce a judgment. At the end of his trial, he was pronounced guilty, and sentenced to rehab until he turned eighteen when a formal sentencing will be given. And though the judgment was final, I had this strong feeling that this young man was innocent.
He had a light in him, an innocence that could be seen in even the harshest judge’s eyes, yet some would condemn him for it anyway. For they had no idea who this child was. No matter how much I wanted to help him, it wasn’t right. Not with all the wrong people around, watching his every move and waiting to throw a knife at him. So instead, I kept my mouth shut, and my heart broken. I knew what would happen if I helped him. There would be no turning back.

Two months after the trial, I visited the young man in rehab. I waited for him In a room perfectly white and lacking any useful furniture aside from a table, two chairs, and a working light bulb. I stood at the extreme of the room, leaning on the wall away from the table and chairs which were placed at the center, and directly opposite the door. I knew there was no going back now, the fire has been lit, and the only way to quench it..is to let it burn.

My thought was interrupted by the loud squeaking of the door, there he was, bound in chains and accompanied by a guard. The answer to my problem...
He sees me and shows the faintest of all responses, an expression of disconcert. I smiled at him, trying to show reassurance. I take a step forward, but he holds up a hand and shakes his head softly so that the guards cannot hear. My heart sank and I turned away from him, feeling a pain in my chest that made me feel like I couldn't breathe like all my air was leaving me.

When I returned to stand in front of the table, I took a deep breath, then slowly exhaled. “You mustn’t fear them. They will never hurt you again”, I say quietly, staring down into his face, trying to find some indication that he understood me. A twitch of his fingers, a nod, even a little frown, anything to give the slightest hint that he was listening. But there was none. It was as though I was speaking another language, and my words simply echoed inside his head, unheard by the real world around him. “They are just doing their jobs”, I said aloud, repeating myself like a mantra, my voice growing hoarse. He gave a small shake of his head and I nodded back, understanding that he didn’t understand me either. My heart sank a bit more than before and I took a seat on one of the chairs. ‘Why won’t you believe me?’

"Maybe because I'm in chains and your not ... maybe because my skin color doesn't signal safety for your kind!!... Or...maybe it's because I'm an orphan kid, someone with no one ... Just another nobody for the system to trample upon..'. I noticed his anger as he spoke, so I kept quiet and allowed him to express his feelings. ..." I remember you.." he said pointing his finger to my face, " you are one of the people who put me here. You put me here for a crime I did not commit... I was only trying to help a dying woman..only for her to accuse me of rape. " His tone began to mellow as tears slowly trickled down his eyes. "I saw her battered and bruised laying in an alley along the road. She begged for help as she struggled to move, loudly gasping for air. She was bleeding...so I decided to help. I took her to the nearest hospital carrying her on my back because I had no phone to call the ambulance with. I waited for her to recover...I don't know why I did ... But when she woke, she blamed me for her problems and accused me of rape. ". His eyes filled with tears and slowly turned red. He tried wiping them away with the back of his hands but failed miserably. He stared silently, seemingly deep in thought. Finally, his eyes met mine again. He looked as though he was asking for forgiveness. He then started crying again, tears running down his cheeks and dripping off his chin. "I didn't do it you know...I didn't do it...I didn't.."

"I believe you.." I said, reaching over to place my hand on top of his, "but please understand that I can't take you home without a formal sentencing." Tears fell from my own eyes as I spoke. I couldn't bear to watch his despair and grief. "Please forgive me...Forgive me... Please..." I whispered, looking down at our joined hands. He squeezed my hands tightly, nodding at my words, his face full of sorrow.
As I stood to leave, and slowly made my way to the door when he asked, "what's your name?". I looked at him and smiled, " Amy Farwler...Detective Amy Farwler...your highness.." His face froze, half smiling, half confused, as I walked out the door.

Finally, I had it, all I needed to set him free...


Four months later..


Few days after his eighteen birthday, he was brought to the courtroom for formal sentencing but before then, new evidence that revealed him as innocent came to light.

"Your Honor, if I may.." the lawyer of the accuser began.

"You may..", the judge responded.

"The new evidence brought to light states that the defendant is innocent because he was not in the alley when my client here, Mrs. Bimbo was raped and brutally assaulted. Your honor, I would like to ask that the motion of retrial of the defendant is denied due to lack of authenticity.."

" Your highness.." the defendant's lawyer sprung into action, "Your highness, I have proof and my proof comes with authenticity and validity. My opponent here only wishes to dissolve this case without trial because he knows he has lost." The lawyer said making his way to the judge and handing him the evidence. "In your hands, Your excellency is the location of my client's whereabout at the time of the incident. As well as a video proof gotten directly from the stores he visited the night of the incident. "

"It says here that you have a witness who can affirm this claim?", The judge said pointing at a paper in the file.

"Yes, your highness.." the defendant's lawyer said.

"Well then, let's have it", the judge said signaling to call the witness to the stand.

"Your highness, I would like to call my first witness, Miss Amy Farwler to the stand". Instantly there was up roar among the Juries, the accusers, and the audience.

Amy Farwler stood and slowly made her way to the stand in her high heels shoe that displayed her elegance and power as she catwalked through to the stand.

As soon as she took the oath, the defendant approach her with his questions.
"Miss Amy Farwler, were you at the scene of the crime when my client allegedly raped and bruised Mrs. Bimbo.?"

"No I was not...", She replied confidently.

"Miss Amy, pls beware that you are under oath and as such. You are advised to speak the truth."

"I wasn't lying when I said I was not at the scene when your client allegedly committed the said offense and that reason is that your client never committed the offense at all... instead another individual whom I have identified as Mr. Kehinde, the current spouse to Mrs. Bimbo is to be blamed"

"Objection! Your honor!!.. " the accuser's lawyer sprung off his seat into action pointing his finger at Amy Farwler.

"On what grounds?", The judge asked.

"On the ground that the witness is talking rubbish!!... she is attempting to defame my client !"

"Objection overruled!!", The judge said hammering his gavel to declare his authority..." The witness may continue.."

"Thank you, your highness.." Miss Amy Farwler said as she took a deep breath and began from where she stopped. " I returned home late that night. I parked my car along the road getting my things in order before I left when I saw two figures emerging from the shadows of a dark alley. I saw them arguing about killing the heir to a throne. The man Mr. Kehinde, handed his gun to Mrs. Bimbo who refused. This led to him hitting her on the head with the gun and brutally assaulting her with punches and kicks. He finally stood over with a gun pointed to her head when I intervened.." she paused a little swallowing her saliva. " He noticed me and quickly ran away. I chased after him but he soon escaped me by scaling over a tall fence... When I return I found blood stains on the floor but the woman was gone."

"Objection my Lord! She has no proof to her claim!", The accuser's lawyer once again sprung into action to nib the problem in the bud.

"Objection sustained..." The judge responded." Miss Farwler, do you have any evidence to support your claim?"

"Yes, your highness.." Amy said as she reached into her brown purse to reveal several photos of the incident where images of Mrs. Bimbo and her spouse could be seen. She also brought out a voice tape containing the argument and the fight. Which the judge gladly accept and played.

After hours of verification of authenticity, they finally arrived at a decision.

"In light of new, new evidence. I hereby pronounce the defendant, Mr. Femi to be discharge and acquitted of all charges. While Mrs. Bimbo and her Husband are to be detained for conspiracy and attempted murder until a proper trial is set."

The courtroom was filled with Joy and celebration. Femi let out tears of joy as he embraced Miss Amy Farwler. The rest of the day ended with thanks and praises.


That night after, the case was concluded, Farwler visited Femi and the two had a lengthy discussion. Until finally Farwler brought out a brown envelope and hand it to Femi. "How much do you know about your heritage Femi?". She paused as Femi collected the envelope.
"I don't know much... all I know Is that my mother is African. Nigerian and Yoruba to be specific." He said staring at the ceiling fan which was slowly rotating on the ceiling. He sank his body into the comfort of the couch on which he was sitting and let out a faint sigh.
"Well then, I think it will interest you to know that your father is the late king of the Ede tribe in Ogun state of your hometown who deserted his people when he came to America... The heir to the throne Bimbo and her husband were trying to kill, is you". She stared at him as he remained silent."Anyway, here is my card just Incase you choose to do some more digging". She said placing her card on the center table.
Femi remained silent. He thought that nothing he said would matter. So he remain calm and speechless staring at the ceiling fan as Farwler walked out of the room.