The Dream Monster: ENG-ESP

in Writing Club2 years ago (edited)

"In my entire 20 years of Dream catching, I had never before experienced any dream quite as bizarre as Lucy's.

Her nightmares weren't just scaring her, they were killing her all the same..."

~Richard White.

As a young and hard working tailor in New York, i have found that it has become excessively easy for me to hide away my secret identity as a Dream Catcher. Oh yes, I am most certain that not a single Soul in this town has ever been inclined to believe that such extraordinary abilities have been shrouded in this old tailor shack of mine. However, I do not let my charades interfer with my dream catching.

You see, many a work day, I would fancy myself quietly and stylishly asking every customer whom walks into my tailor shop about his/her dreams. I would do so in such a smooth and non suspecting manner that will make each patreon comfortable and more susceptible to opening up about their dreams to me.

My job as the good old fashioned dream catcher was simple: get rid of the bad dreams by capturing and removing them from the memories of people. Ah yes, that was the daily work routine during most work hours. Day after day, I would attend to customers who, as they waited for their clothes to get amended, would go on and on to me about the various Nightmares and Night terrors they had either had the previous night or that had been occuring for over the past few days. Of course, the only help I could actually offer them was not one of direct support but one of indirect guardianship.

You see, what I would often do when faced with all these dream complications would be to simply hand the person to whom was facing this dream challenge, an object(a charm) and instruct them to place the charm over their bed every night before they go to sleep. Of course, the charm or dream catcher as I often referred to it, had no real dream catching significance; the idea was for them to feel as though they had an object that could resolve their dream troubles and for me to have a channel(via the charm) to access their dreams from the comfort of my home. So in retrospect, the charm didn't function as a dream catcher at all but more as a portal for the real dream catcher, me, to gain access to their dreams. And that's exactly how I have been silently catching various dreams for the past but ere long, my most dreadful and most horrifying dream catching experience ever will eventually come to hunt me in the form of my daughter.

Ahhh... I remember the dreadful night like it was yesterday, I had just gotten back home from a long day at the old Tailor shop and was more than overhelmed for my fatigue. My eight year old daughter, Lucy, had been with the babysitter all day after school and was currently already sleeping by the time I arrived home.

Hey, thanks for babysitting again Rachel.

I said to the Lucy's babysitter, Rachel and she replied back:

Sure thing Mr White. But uhmm... Sir. I think there might be a problem with Lucy.

A problem? Why'd you say that? Did anything happen?...

I asked Rachel with a very alarmed look on my face as I watched Rachel reach into her Backpack and bring out a piece of paper.

Here, look at it this. I found Lucy drawing this in her room minutes after I put her to bed. She said she had a Nightmare and that thing in the drawing was what she saw.

Rachel said to me as I gazed upon this disturbing drawing of Lucy's.

You said Lucy drew this?

I asked Rachel again still in shock.

Yeah. I was just as shocked as you are Mr White. I just had to take away the drawing from her and then put her back to sleep again.

Rachel replied.

Hmm... Alright, thanks Rachel. Don't worry, I'll handle it.

I said to Rachel before she left the house.

Later that night, I went to Lucy's bed still very curious and worried as to what that drawing was all about and so once I got to the bed, I placed a charm above her bed so it may allow me to access Lucy's dreams tonight. For if the monster were to show its face again in her dreams tonight then, I most certainly wanted to be there to capture the dream.

The Night had passed fast and it didn't take long for Lucy to begin dreaming and once I was in her dreams, I began following her through every phase of the dreams.

The first few phases of Lucy's dream were peaceful, child like infact but soon, the dream began morphing into something much more darker.
In this new phase of her dream, I watched Lucy walking down towards this deep large abyss in the middle of nowhere. Slowly and carefully she walked towards the abyss right until she got to the edge and stood motionless. I, however, who watched the whole scene from behind a rock did not want to capture the dream yet until I had seen the monster that was haunting Lucy's dreams appear.

Patiently, I waited - patiently we waited - right until a large vibration started raging from beneath the ground and a giant 13 ft monster arose from deep within the abyss. A very giant and disfigured looking creature it was, truly terrifying to say the least.

The creature for a moment, seem to be discussing with my daughter but I couldn't quite make out what they were saying. Nevertheless, I wasn't just going to wait there and watch this ominous creature converse with my daughter and so, without another minute to waste, I ran out from where I was hiding behind the rock and charged straight to the monster with my dream catcher net. Horrifyingly, the monster didn't seem to care at all that I was charging at it no!... Instead it simply turned towards my direction, smirked a little, and said the most horrifying words that will forever hunt me for the rest of my life:

"I'm sorry but you can't catch this dream, Dream Catcher..."

Yes, those were the words he said before devouring my daughter right in front of my eyes and once she was eaten, the dream world began collapsing and I immediately woke up gasping and screaming in horror at what had just happened.

By the time I woke up, it was around 7:45am. Ah, I thought perhaps I should let Lucy sleep in a little but when it clocked 10:50pm later that night and she had still not awoken, I was more than terrified to go wake her up from bed...

Español

"En todos mis 20 años de captura de sueños, nunca antes había experimentado ningún sueño tan extraño como el de Lucy.

Sus pesadillas no sólo la asustaban, sino que la mataban igualmente...

- Richard White.

Como joven y trabajador sastre en Nueva York, he descubierto que se me ha hecho excesivamente fácil ocultar mi identidad secreta como Atrapasueños. Oh, sí, estoy muy seguro de que ni una sola alma en esta ciudad se ha inclinado a creer que tales habilidades extraordinarias se han escondido en esta vieja choza de sastre mía. Sin embargo, no permito que mis charadas interfieran con la captura de mis sueños.

Verá, muchos días de trabajo, me imagino preguntando tranquilamente y con estilo a cada cliente que entra en mi sastrería sobre sus sueños. Lo haría de una manera tan suave y no sospechosa que haría que cada patreon se sintiera cómodo y más susceptible de abrirse sobre sus sueños conmigo.

Mi trabajo como "cazador de sueños" a la vieja usanza era sencillo: deshacerme de los malos sueños capturándolos y eliminándolos de la memoria de la gente. Ah, sí, esa era la rutina diaria de trabajo durante la mayoría de las horas de trabajo. Día tras día, atendía a los clientes que, mientras esperaban a que se les enmendara la ropa, no paraban de hablarme de las distintas pesadillas y terrores nocturnos que habían tenido la noche anterior o que habían tenido en los últimos días. Por supuesto, la única ayuda que podía ofrecerles no era de apoyo directo, sino de tutela indirecta.

Verás, lo que a menudo hacía cuando me enfrentaba a todas estas complicaciones oníricas era simplemente entregar a la persona que se enfrentaba a este desafío onírico, un objeto (un amuleto) e instruirla para que colocara el amuleto sobre su cama cada noche antes de irse a dormir. Por supuesto, el amuleto o el atrapasueños, como a menudo me refería a él, no tenía ningún significado real para atrapar los sueños; la idea era que ellos sintieran que tenían un objeto que podía resolver sus problemas oníricos y que yo tuviera un canal (a través del amuleto) para acceder a sus sueños desde la comodidad de mi casa. Así que, en retrospectiva, el amuleto no funcionaba como un atrapasueños en absoluto, sino más bien como un portal para que el verdadero atrapasueños, yo, tuviera acceso a sus sueños. Y así es exactamente como he estado atrapando silenciosamente varios sueños en el pasado, pero dentro de poco, mi más espantosa y horrible experiencia de atrapar sueños vendrá a cazarme en la forma de mi hija.

Ahhh... Recuerdo la espantosa noche como si fuera ayer, acababa de llegar a casa después de un largo día en la antigua sastrería y estaba más que agobiado por mi cansancio. Mi hija de ocho años, Lucy, había estado con la niñera todo el día después del colegio y en ese momento ya estaba durmiendo cuando llegué a casa.

Oye, gracias por hacer de canguro otra vez Rachel.

le dije a la niñera de Lucy, Rachel, y ella me respondió:

Claro que sí Sr. White. Pero... Señor. Creo que puede haber un problema con Lucy.

¿Un problema? ¿Por qué dices eso? ¿Ha pasado algo?...

Pregunté a Rachel con una mirada muy alarmada mientras veía que Rachel metía la mano en su mochila y sacaba un papel.

Aquí, mira esto. Encontré a Lucy dibujando esto en su habitación minutos después de acostarla. Me dijo que había tenido una pesadilla y que esa cosa del dibujo era lo que había visto.

Rachel me dijo mientras miraba este inquietante dibujo de Lucy.

¿Dices que Lucy ha dibujado esto?

Pregunté de nuevo a Rachel aún en estado de shock.

Sí. Estaba tan sorprendida como usted, señor White. Sólo tuve que quitarle el dibujo y volver a dormirla.

Rachel respondió.

Hmm... Muy bien, gracias Rachel. No te preocupes, yo me encargo.

Le dije a Rachel antes de que saliera de la casa.

Más tarde, esa misma noche, me dirigí a la cama de Lucy aún muy curioso y preocupado por saber de qué se trataba ese dibujo y, una vez que llegué a la cama, coloqué un amuleto sobre su cama para que me permitiera acceder a los sueños de Lucy esta noche. Porque si el monstruo volvía a aparecer en sus sueños esta noche, sin duda quería estar allí para capturar el sueño.

La noche había pasado rápidamente y no tardó mucho en que Lucy comenzara a soñar y una vez que estuve en sus sueños, comencé a seguirla a través de cada fase de los mismos.

Las primeras fases del sueño de Lucy eran pacíficas, como las de un niño, pero pronto, el sueño comenzó a transformarse en algo mucho más oscuro.
En esta nueva fase de su sueño, vi a Lucy caminando hacia un gran y profundo abismo en medio de la nada. Lenta y cuidadosamente caminó hacia el abismo hasta que llegó al borde y se quedó inmóvil.Yo, sin embargo, que observaba toda la escena desde detrás de una roca, no quise captar el sueño todavía hasta que no hubiera visto aparecer al monstruo que acechaba los sueños de Lucy.

Esperé pacientemente - esperamos pacientemente - hasta que una gran vibración empezó a surgir de debajo de la tierra y un monstruo gigante de 13 pies surgió de las profundidades del abismo. Era una criatura muy gigante y de aspecto desfigurado, realmente aterradora, por decir lo menos.

La criatura por un momento, parecía estar discutiendo con mi hija, pero no pude entender lo que estaban diciendo. Sin embargo, no iba a esperar allí y ver a esta ominosa criatura conversar con mi hija, así que, sin perder ni un minuto más, salí corriendo de donde estaba escondido detrás de la roca y cargué directamente contra el monstruo con mi red atrapasueños. Horrorosamente, al monstruo no pareció importarle en absoluto que yo cargara contra él no!... En su lugar, simplemente se giró hacia mi dirección, sonrió un poco y dijo las palabras más horribles que me perseguirán para siempre el resto de mi vida:

"Lo siento pero no puedes atrapar este sueño, Atrapasueños... "

Sí, esas fueron las palabras que dijo antes de devorar a mi hija delante de mis ojos y, una vez devorada, el mundo onírico comenzó a colapsar y me desperté inmediatamente jadeando y gritando de horror por lo que acababa de suceder.

Para cuando me desperté, eran alrededor de las 7:45 de la mañana. Ah, pensé que tal vez debería dejar que Lucy durmiera un poco, pero cuando marcaron las 10:50pm más tarde esa noche y ella todavía no se había despertado, estaba más que aterrada de ir a despertarla de la cama...

I hope you excel whatever you do.

Sort:  

Hi @exceltogaming! Your story is entrancing and well written.

Omg, I feel sorry for the tailor aka dream catcher. He's gifted to catch other people's dream but the power failed him when it came to his daughter's dream. Too bad. Wish I could read more to know the end. 😃

Hi @ladytitan I am very glad you liked the story. Oh and I'm sure the girl dies at the end considering how she slept the whole day without waking up. Also, the father's fear of going to wake her up was sort of a hint to her death.

This is a one-time notice from SCHOOL OF MINNOWS, a free value added service on hive.
Getting started on hive can be super hard on these social platforms 😪 but luckily there is some communities that help support the little guy 😊, you might like school of minnows, we join forces with lots of other small accounts to help each other grow!
Finally a good curation trail that helps its users achieve rapid growth, its fun on a bun! check it out. https://som-landing.glitch.me/