It's Not a Goodbye - Poem

I couple of days I wrote this poem. I was very sad because my niece had to leave the country with my sister and her husband. She spent ten months by my side, and I love her as if she was my child. I'm still sad about it, but I know she's perfectly well.

Thanks for reading.

It's Not a Goodbye

The day you left
Something in me broke.
I didn't cry,
I didn't allow myself to do so.
I knew it was for the best,
but it didn't mean it didn't hurt,
deeply.
The moment I felt your absence
was like a punch in my guts,
like something was ripped out of my soul.
And I get up every morning feeling lost,
because your laugh I hear no more,
or your cute giggles, and your small brown eyes
I don't see anymore.
But I know you're just fine,
and though a lump in my throat forms
every time I talk about you,
I have to understand you don't belong here.
And I must be brave, and accept it.
It's fine, I will be fine,
this sadness will pass,
and my stolen heart will be back,
and so are you, one day, some day, any day.


No es un Adiós

El día que te fuiste
algo en mí se rompió.
No lloré,
no me permití hacerlo.
Sabía que era lo mejor,
pero eso no significaba que no doliera,
profundamente.
El momento en que sentí tu ausencia
fue como un puñetazo en mis entrañas,
como si me hubieran arrancado algo del alma.
Y me levanto cada mañana sintiéndome perdida,
porque ya no escucho tu risa,
o tus lindas sonrisas, y tus pequeños ojos marrones
ya no los veo.
Pero sé que estás bien,
y aunque se me hace un nudo en la garganta
cada vez que hablo de ti
tengo que entender que no perteneces aquí.
Y debo ser valiente, y aceptarlo.
Está bien, estaré bien,
esta tristeza pasará,
y mi corazón robado volverá,
y tú también, un día, algún día, cualquier día.

Photos taken with smartphone Alcatel 1X.