The Arsonist - What would you do to stop being cold? | Horror story

in Writing Club3 years ago (edited)

image.png

image.png

I love to watch the fire, it calms me down, there are too many voices inside me screaming that only make silence when I have the flames in front of me. Fire is too beautiful to stop watching it, it is a living being, although many see it as a parasite that only consumes everything it touches in order to exist miserable minutes on this planet.

Once seated in front of the fireplace a new voice spoke to me, after having done what it whispered to me I knew it was too late to regret it, I had crossed a threshold that I did not know existed, now that I was on the other side I had a new world before my eyes where not even a forty day deluge would be able to extinguish the fire that had been born in me.

I placed my left hand on the fire, grabbed a piece of burning wood and lifted it, the pain lasted only a second and I did not know if I was crying for a suffering I did not feel or for the pleasure that seized every atom of my body. The scream of my younger brother when he entered the room was the only alert my parents had and they came running to save me, but they did not know that I had already found salvation to this world that I hated so much.

From that day on I only listened to the voice of fire, it dominated the rest of the voices and I could be functional enough not to make people be suspicious about me. My hand was completely disfigured, it looked like the claw of a decomposing animal; after much therapy I was able to use it completely again, but there was a craving growing in me and I could do nothing to calm it. The desperation that was choking me to feel the fire was driving me crazy, the voice repeated its speech over and over again without letting me breathe, think or know what to do.

I started with small, inanimate things, lacking a life that the fire gave them, making them perfect, at least until they were no longer so. Sheets of paper, wooden dolls, porcelain ornaments, leather shoes, silk dresses, paintings framed in large antique wooden frames. Without realizing it and without caring a bit the urge to burn things became greater and greater, it was impossible to resist and I succumbed to its desires.

The world existed on a plane that did not deserve my attention, I did not know what my parents were doing, I did not know how my brother grew up having me as an example, I did not know what senseless problems the world was involved in, only the fire existed for me and it was the only important thing, the rest could wait to be consumed by the flames.

There was a night when my bones began to ache, my articulations screamed in pain with every movement I made, I didn't know where the cold inside me was born and it was trying to kill me. I would have died if I hadn't gotten to the kitchen in time to put my hand on the stove before the food was ready. The pain was gone in a second and I cried with relief, I had never known such excruciating pain in life. The voice in my head started laughing at me, it told me that I knew what I had to do to never feel that cold ever again in my life and repeated its speech over and over again.

I cooked dinner today, my favorite dinner when I was a kid and still wasn't sitting for hours watching the fire in the fireplace. I had put a late sleeping pill in the food, when everyone was deeply asleep in front of the TV I carried them to their rooms, first it was my parents, carrying then the sleeping body of my younger brother was a revelation, I still didn't know if he was also blessed by the fire and able to hear his voice, but the innocence of his face and the smile on his lips when I carried him were the confirmation I needed.

I left my brother outside the house with a blanket over him so he wouldn't suffer too much from that horrible demon cold, as I entered the house I started laughing out loud as I spread gasoline all over the rooms and floors. I ended up in my room, I just lay down on my bed and smiling I light a match, I feel how tears of emotion run down my cheeks and I start repeating over and over again the speech of the voice in my head while the fire takes over all the rooms of the house, my parents, me.

It was inevitable that this would happen, nothing was going to prevent it, I had to leave my little brother outside the house so that his legacy would be even greater than mine and while the fire takes over my body and my soul I repeat for the last time the speech of the voice in my head: it is not fun to watch the world burn if you don't burn with it, turn everything into ashes, become pure fire.

image.png

El pirómano | Escritos de una mente desequilibrada LVI


Me gusta mucho observar el fuego, me calma, hay demasiadas voces en mi interior gritando que solo hacen silencio cuando tengo las llamas frente a mí. El fuego es demasiado hermoso como para dejar de verlo, es un ser vivo, aunque muchos lo vean como un parásito que solo consume todo lo que toca para poder existir míseros minutos en este planeta.

Una vez sentado frente a la chimenea una nueva voz me habló, después de haber hecho lo que me susurró supe que era muy tarde para arrepentirme, había cruzado un umbral que no sabía que existía, ahora que estaba al otro lado tenía un mundo nuevo ante mis ojos donde ni siquiera un diluvio de cuarenta días lograría apagar el fuego que había nacido en mí.

Coloqué mi mano izquierda en el fuego, agarré un pedazo de madera en llamas y lo levanté, el dolor duró solo un segundo y no sabía si estaba llorando por un sufrimiento que no sentía o por el placer que embargaba cada átomo de mi cuerpo. El grito de mi hermano menor al entrar a la sala fue la única alerta que tuvieron mis padres y llegaron corriendo para salvarme, pero no sabían que ya había encontrado la salvación a este mundo que tanto aborrecía.

Desde ese día solo escuchaba la voz del fuego, ella dominaba al resto y podía ser lo suficientemente funcional para no hacer que las personas sospecharan de mí. La mano me quedó completamente desfigurada, parecía la garra de un animal en descomposición; después de mucha terapia la pude volver a usar por completo, pero había un ansia que crecía en mí y no podía hacer nada para calmarla. La desesperación que me ahogaba por sentir el fuego me estaba volviendo loco, la voz repetía su discurso una y otra vez sin dejarme respirar, pensar o saber qué hacer.

Comencé con cosas pequeñas, inanimadas, carentes de una vida que el fuego les otorgaba, haciéndolos perfectos, al menos hasta que ya no lo eran. Hojas de papel, muñecos de madera, adornos de porcelana, zapatos de cuero, vestidos de seda, pinturas enmarcadas en grandes cuadros de madera antigua. Sin darme cuenta y sin que me importara un poco la necesidad de quemar cosas fue cada vez más grande, fue imposible de resistir y siempre sucumbía a sus deseos.

El mundo existía en un plano que no merecía mi atención, no sabía qué hacían mis padres, no sabía cómo crecía mi hermano teniéndome como ejemplo, no sabía en qué problemas sin sentidos estaba envuelto el mundo, tan solo el fuego existía para mí y era lo único importante, e resto podía esperar a ser consumido por las llamas.

Hubo una noche en la que mis huesos comenzaron a dolerme, mis articulaciones gritaban de dolor con cada movimiento que hacía, no sabía de donde había nacido el frío en mi interior que me estaba intentando matar. Hubiera muerto de no haber llegado a la cocina a tiempo para colocar mi mano en el fuego antes de que la comida estuviera lista. El dolor desapareció en un segundo y lloré de alivio, nunca había conocido un dolor tan insoportable en la vida. La voz en mi cabeza comenzó a reírse de mí, me dijo que sabía lo que tenía que hacer para no volver a sentir ese frío jamas en la vida otra vez y volvió a repetir una y otra vez su discurso.

Esperé lo más que pude, pero los incendios por todo el mundo fueron la señal que necesitaba para tomar mi decisión. Estoy temblando de la emoción en este momento, no creí llegar a hacer esto, pero es la única forma de evitar que el frío infernal vuelva a apoderarse de mí.

Hoy preparé la cena, mi cena favorita cuando era un niño y aún no estaba horas sentado observando el fuego de la chimenea. Le había colocado un somnífero tardío a la comida, cuando todos se quedaron profundamente dormidos frente al televisor los llevé a sus habitaciones, primero fueron mis padres, cargar después el cuerpo dormido de mi hermano menor fue una revelación, aún no sabía si él también estaba bendecido por el fuego y podía escuchar su voz, pero la inocencia de su rostro y la sonrisa que se dibujó en sus labios cuando lo cargué fueron la confirmación que necesitaba.

Dejé a mi hermano afuera de la casa con una manta encima para que no sufriera mucho ese horrible frío del demonio, al entrar a la casa comencé a reír a carcajadas mientras esparcía la gasolina por todas las habitaciones y los pisos. Terminé en mi habitación, me acabo de acostar sobre mi cama y sonriendo enciendo una cerilla, siento como las lágrimas de la emoción recorren mis mejillas y comienzo a repetir una y otra vez el discurso de la voz en mi cabeza mientras el fuego se apodera de todas las habitaciones de la casa, de mis padres, de mí.

Era inevitable que esto sucediera, nada iba a evitarlo, tuve que dejar a mi hermanito afuera de la casa para que su legado sea aún mayor que él mío y mientras el fuego se apodera de mi cuerpo y de mi alma repito por última vez el discurso de la voz en mi cabeza: no es divertido ver arder al mundo si no ardes con él, convierte todo en cenizas, conviértete en fuego puro.

image.png

Sort:  

Hi jauregui98,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.