La pared / The wall [esp/eng]

in Writing Club2 years ago

La pared.

image.png

Lleva tiempo que he estado pensando sobre las cosas que he hecho a lo largo de mi vida, después de todo, llegando a los 72 años de edad uno adquiere cierta sabiduría, pero también un temor acerca de lo inminente, el final de mis días y la búsqueda de sentido en mi vida.

Siento que no he sido el mejor hombre, quizás incluso algo malo, he hecho cosas que, si bien no me hacen sentir orgulloso, si cosas por las que podría ser castigado un día.

Vivo en un viejo departamento, en un tercer piso de dieciséis disponibles, muchos inquilinos ya se han marchado, recuerdo que hace 45 años llegamos aquí y el lugar rebosaba de la vitalidad de la juventud, de las familias creciendo y nuevas generaciones que se iban formando. Decidí no tener hijos, idea quizás contemporánea para esos años, pero sentí que ya éramos demasiados.

Mi esposa muchas veces intento convencerme de tenerlos, incluso algunas veces engañándome para poder quedar embarazada. Como si el destino se hubiera puesto de acuerdo, ella era estéril, los doctores intentaron ayudarla, pero no hubo buenos resultados.

Cuando ella tenía 26 y yo 30 años nos hicimos de un perro, su pelaje dorado y su energía nos hicieron sentirnos plenos, no necesitaba hablar para darse a entender… el gusto nos duro apenas seis meses, ya que sufrimos un accidente, un vehículo que se había quedado sin frenos lo atropelló, apenas libre también ser atropellado.
Luego de esa experiencia mi esposa lloraba todas las noches, no importaba que le dijera, cuanto la abrazara, no mejoraba. Pasado un tiempo, nos decidimos por adoptar a otro perro, sin embargo, el perro tenía apenas un año cuando enfermo, los veterinarios no entendían que habría pasado, todo paso a lo largo de una semana, se quedaba dormido, comía menos, apenas meneaba la cola… a veces veía a una pared de manera fija y no había forma de sacarlo de su trance. El veterinario pensó que podría ser un tumor en su cabeza y que tuviera epilepsia, por eso su incapacidad de interactuar con nosotros cuando le hablábamos o le intentábamos dar comida. Al séptimo día simplemente se levantó, caminó desde nuestra habitación hacia esa misma pared, se acostó y dejo de respirar.

Nos devastó la perdida de nuestro segundo perro, luego vinieron el tercero, una cuarta… un gato, segundo gato (y odiaba a los gatos, ellos lo sabían, pero pensábamos pasaría algo diferente) … todos a los seis meses experimentaban un malestar parecido, no entendíamos al final por que seguíamos adoptando o comprando animales de compañía, ya ni sentíamos tanto cariño por ellos acercándose a su sexto mes con nosotros, temiendo siempre lo peor. Si los perros iban hacia esa pared antes de morir, los gatos tenían comportamientos un poco diferentes, buscaban encarecidamente alejarse de esa pared, el primero maulló con mucha fuerza, corrió hacia la cocina, subió por la mesa al refrigerador y ahí se quedo erizado viendo la pared, el segundo al correr opto por salir de la ventana, cayendo al vacío que termino con su vida.

No crean que durante este tiempo no ideamos diferentes teorías del por que podría pasar esto, pasamos de pensamientos triviales como “no les gusta nuestro hogar” o “quizás algo en la construcción, un material, goteras, moho” a pensar cosas como “quizás tenemos malas vibras y no les gustan” o “quizás el lugar tiene alguna mala presencia”. Hablamos con el conserje quien nos aseguro no existir materiales dañinos, incluso de manera dirigida nos dijo “y no, no murió nadie en la construcción de este edificio”, alguna vez vino un amigo cercano a nosotros quien había decidido dedicar su vida a la religión y nos dijo solo cosas positivas, que había mucho amor hacia los animales y sin dudas entre nosotros, que no percibía presencias malévolas (he de confesar que siempre he pensado que eso es una estafa), antes de despedirse decidió orar por que fuéramos felices estando juntos o separados (creo nunca le caí bien).

Nuestros años fueron pasando, pudimos viajar, vimos como los hijos de nuestros vecinos iban secuencialmente abandonando sus hogares que los vieron crecer, nuestros vecinos con quienes llegamos en la inauguración del edificio siguieron aquí por unos tantos años más, hasta que la edad iba cobrando la factura del tiempo vivido.

Nos convertimos en un edificio lleno de ancianos, cada vez más dependientes, cada vez más incomodos, cada vez más abandonados.

Mi esposa me abandono ya hace 6 años, los médicos decían que padecía demencia, que cada vez iría olvidando más cosas, que eventualmente no sabría quién soy yo, no recordará como comer sola, como vestirse sola… como si se convirtiera en un bebe. Durante las mañanas ella prefería dormir, solo comía un poco y dejaba las cosas, en la tarde interactuaba un poco más, le gustaba estar en la sala conmigo viendo televisión o escuchándome leerle el periódico, al menos la vista aún me permitía hacer eso.

Notaba cuando estábamos en la sala, como miraba de reojo la pared, esa pared dónde los perros se acercaban para morir, y que generaba terror a los gatos… a veces saludaba la pared, le sonreía de manera divertida como si le hubiera contado un chiste… la situación me ponía nervioso, pero para entonces ya pensaba que la demencia habría cobrado su factura junto con la tristeza de las mascotas que perdimos en ese mismo lugar.

Una noche antes de morir, recuerdo que mi esposa se levanto de la cama, esto me sorprendió mucho ya que ella requería mucha ayuda para hacerlo, pensé que quizás sería algún dato de mejoría y he de confesar que me alegre como un niño, pero también sentía miedo sobre que pasaría o que la habría hecho levantarse. Eran las 3:00 am. Le hablaba, me ignoraba; encendí la lampara de cabecera, me ignoraba; me acerqué a ella y la toque en su hombro, me ignoraba; iba caminando a la sala, pensé en la pared y efectivamente, giro con una gracia que hacía tiempo no veía viendo la pared dirigiendo su mirada hacia abajo. Note una sonrisa jovial, como hacia tiempo no me dirigía, se agacho y extendía sus brazos a esa pared, cerrándolos como si intentara abrazar el espacio que la separaba de ese lugar. Dijo algo entre dientes, no percibí todo lo que dijo, solo lo último, un “te extraño”… vi unas lagrimas rodar por su mejilla, recargo la cabeza en la pared y pasado un par de minutos, recobro la compostura y regreso a la cama, como si fuera una premonición, cruzo los brazos en su pecho. A la mañana siguiente, ella ya no se movía. Me sentía terrible, lloraba, gritaba, maldije nuestra suerte y no haberle dado un hijo… los hubiera no dejaron de llegar y, a pesar del escándalo, nadie toco a nuestra puerta. Salí al pasillo a buscar ayuda, golpeando puertas, gritando, nadie salía… supongo era normal, muchas personas ya habían abandonado el edificio, ya fuera por que se iban a asilos, con sus familias o morían. Regrese a la habitación con ella, su cuerpo yacía ahí en la cama, exactamente como la había dejado… solo había silencio alrededor. Fui al cuarto donde guardaba la herramienta, tome un mazo y empecé a golpear la pared, esa pared debía albergar alguna respuesta, aunque no sabía que esperar… no importa que tan fuerte pegara, esa pared no se agrietaba, desespere, me senté ahí y llore de forma desconsolada… fue entonces que sentí algo cálido, como un abrazo… una sensación tan reconfortante, y no solo eso, en mis piernas sentía algo que se recargaba, me recordaba a la sensación que tenía cuando los perros se dormían a mis pies… decidí quedarme ahí para toda la eternidad.

English version:

The wall.

It's been a while since I've been thinking about the things I've done throughout my life, after all, reaching 72 years of age one acquires a certain wisdom, but also a fear about the imminent, the end of my days and the search for meaning in my life.

I feel that I have not been the best man, maybe even something bad, I have done things that, although they do not make me feel proud, things for which I could be punished one day.

I live in an old apartment, on a third floor of sixteen available, many tenants have already left, I remember that 45 years ago we arrived here and the place was brimming with the vitality of youth, of families growing and new generations that were forming . I decided not to have children, perhaps a contemporary idea for those years, but I felt that there were already too many of us.

My wife often tries to convince me to have them, sometimes even tricking me into getting pregnant. As if fate had agreed, she was sterile, the doctors tried to help her, but with no good results.

When she was 26 and I was 30, we bought a dog, the golden fur and the energy made us feel complete, the dog did not need to speak to make itself understood... the pleasure lasted only six months, since we had an accident, a vehicle that he had run out of brakes he ran over him, barely free to also be run over. After that experience my wife cried every night, no matter what she told her, how much she hugged her, she didn't get better. After a while, we decided to adopt another dog, however, the dog was barely a year old when he got sick, the vets did not understand what would have happened, everything happened over a week, he fell asleep, ate less, barely moved the tail... sometimes he stared at a wall and there was no way to get him out of his trance. The vet thought it might be a tumor on his head and that he had epilepsy, hence his inability to interact with us when we talked to him or tried to feed him. On the seventh day he just got up, walked from our room to that same wall, lay down and stopped breathing.

We were devastated by the loss of our second dog, then came the third, a fourth… a cat, second cat (and I hated cats, they knew it, but we thought something different would happen)… all of them at six months experienced similar fate. In the end, we did not understand why we continued to adopt or buy pets, we no longer felt so much affection for them as they approached their sixth month with us, always fearing the worst. If the dogs went towards that wall before they died, the cats had a little different behavior, they strongly sought to get away from that wall, the first one meowed very strongly, ran towards the kitchen, climbed up the table to the refrigerator and there he stood bristling watching the wall, the second running, he chose to leave the window, falling into the void that ended his life.

Do not think that during this time we did not come up with different theories as to why this could happen, we went from trivial thoughts like "they do not like our home" or "maybe something in the construction, a material, leaks, mold" to think things like "maybe we have bad vibes and they don't like it” or “maybe the place has some bad presence”. We spoke with the concierge who assured us that there were no harmful materials, even in a directed way he told us "and no, no one died in the construction of this building", a close friend of ours once came to us who had decided to dedicate his life to religion and he told us only positive things, that there was a lot of love towards animals and without a doubt between us, that he did not perceive malevolent presences (I have to confess that I have always thought that this is a scam), before saying goodbye he decided to pray that we would be happy being together or apart (I think he never liked me).

Our years went by, we were able to travel, we saw how the children of our neighbors were sequentially leaving their homes that saw them grow up, our neighbors with whom we arrived at the inauguration of the building continued here for a few more years, until age was taking its toll. invoice of the time lived.
We become a building full of elderly people, more and more dependent, more and more uncomfortable, more and more abandoned.

My wife abandoned me 6 years ago, the doctors said that she suffered from dementia, that she would forget more and more things, that eventually she would not know who I am, she will not remember how to eat alone, how to dress herself... as if she were becoming a baby. During the mornings she preferred to sleep, she just ate a little and left things, in the afternoon she interacted a little more, she liked to be in the living room with me watching TV or listening to me read the newspaper, at least my eyesight still allowed me to do that.

I noticed when we were in the room, how she looked at the wall out of the corner of his eye, that wall where the dogs approached to die, and that generated terror to the cats... sometimes she would greet the wall, smile at it in an amused way as if it had told a joke … the situation made me nervous, but by then I already thought that dementia would have taken its toll along with the sadness of the pets that we lost in that same place.

One night before she died, I remember that my wife got out of bed, this surprised me a lot since she required a lot of help to do it, I thought that perhaps it would be some sign of improvement and I must confess that I was happy as a child, but also I was afraid of what would happen or what would have made her get up. It was 3:00 a.m. I talked to her, ignored me; I turned on the bedside lamp, she ignored me; I approached her and touched her on her shoulder, she ignored me; I was walking to the living room, I thought about the wall and indeed, she turned with a grace that I hadn't seen for a long time seeing the wall directing his gaze downwards. I noticed a jovial smile, as she hadn't addressed me in a long time, she crouched down and extended her arms to that wall, closing them as if trying to embrace the space that separated her from that place. She said something between his teeth, I didn't perceive everything she said, only the last thing, a "I miss you"... I saw some tears roll down her cheek, she rested her head on the wall and after a couple of minutes, she regained the composure and return to the bedroom, as if it were a premonition, she crossed her arms on her chest. The next morning, she was no longer moving. I felt terrible, cried, screamed, I cursed our luck and not having given her a child... the “if’s” did not stop coming and, despite the scandal, no one knocked on our door.

I went out into the corridor to look for help, banging on doors, screaming, no one came out... I suppose it was normal, many people had already left the building, either because they went to nursing homes, with their families or died. I went back to her room with her, her body was lying there on the bed, exactly as I had left it… there was only silence around her. I went to the room where I kept the tool, I took a hammer and I started hitting the wall, that wall had to hold some answer, although I didn't know what to expect... no matter how hard I hit, that wall didn't crack, I despaired, I sat there and I cried inconsolably... it was then that I felt something warm, like a hug... such a comforting sensation, and not only that, in my legs I felt something that recharged, it reminded me of the sensation I had when the dogs fell asleep at my feet … I decided to stay there for all eternity.