Mystery | The man on the stairs

in Writing Clublast year

This post is both in English and Spanish, you can go directly to English by clicking HERE


20230503_091518_0000.png

Stocksnap - Pixabay | Edit. Canva y PicsArt


Jose me odia, no quiere hablarme.

Quiero que entienda, quiero que... necesito que lo entienda.

Había tenido una buena noche, me encontraba extasiada e inundada de felicidad, no entiendo como todo pasó tan rápido y esta sensación, por más que quise conservarla por siempre, se esfumó tan rápidamente de mi cuerpo.

Me encontraba volviendo de ver a unos amigos, había sido una noche algo pasada de copas, ruido y muchas risas que se convertirían en un grato recuerdo.

El momento de volver a nuestros hogares se hizo presente, eran aproximadamente las 3 AM.

Esa madrugada, después de haberme despedido de mis amigos, entré a mi edificio. Mi no tan lindo y algo anticuado edificio, con vecinos cascarrabias y chismes por doquier.

Dirigiéndome hacia el ascensor, que tenía la pinta de que en cualquier momento se caería junto al edificio, pulso el botón para llamarlo, esperando más de lo debido. No tenía tiempo para esto.

Eran las 3 AM ¿Por qué tardaba tanto? ¿Nuevamente se había dañado? Realmente deberíamos quejarnos, esto pasaba más de lo que quisiera.

Frustrada, voy hacia mis enemigas, las escaleras. No era la mejor opción, pues mi departamento se encontraba en el onceavo piso y honestamente, le tenía algo de miedo a esas escaleras. Nunca me había pasado nada raro, solo tenían una especie de vibra pesada. Quizá era por su aspecto viejo y el olor a humedad que parecía no querer irse nunca de este lugar, pero estaba cansada y quería recostarme para finalmente culminar esta noche tan ajetreada.


Escaleras 2..jpg

hseal - Pixabay | Edit. Canva y PicsArt


Estaba totalmente sumida en mis pensamientos, intentando coordinar mis pasos entorpecidos por el alcohol que ingerí, subiendo escalón tras escalón. Me encontraba algo atontada, quizá el sueño estaba atrayéndome hacia él, aunque aún no llegaba ni a la mitad de los pisos que debía subir.

Un poco cansada, me senté en un escalón para respirar e intentar concentrarme más. Los regaños hacia ti mismo borracho, deberían tener una mención especial en esta historia, creo que todos hemos vivido esto.

Inspiro lentamente y cuando pienso que ha pasado el tiempo suficiente como para seguir perdiéndolo, una sensación de tensión me invadió de pies a cabeza, dejando mi cuerpo como un gato totalmente alerta. Bueno, tal vez debería dejar de pensar en gatos en un momento como este.

Por alguna razón no podía voltear a ningún lado, estaba paralizada, pero mi mente estaba hecha un lío ¿Qué sucede? ¿Qué está mal? Debo levantarme y llegar a mi departamento...

Cuando finalmente me llené de valentía para intentar ponerme de pie, alguien se sentó a mi lado y yo, totalmente quieta y llena de miedo, seguía sin poder voltear para ver de quien se trataba.

¿Qué está pasando, quién está aquí?

Solo podía ver al frente, mientras sentía que mi corazón en cualquier momento se saldría de mi pecho.

Pasaron algunos minutos, aunque se sintieron como horas, pero solo fueron un par de minutos donde me preparé mentalmente para huir. No quería ver de quien se trataba, mi cuerpo me estaba advirtiendo que algo pasaba.

Mi acto de huida fue interrumpido por unas palabras que provenían de una voz masculina, gruesa y amable, que jamás olvidaré. En tono calmado me dice «Cuida a José, no la ha estado pasando bien, sé que lo quieres, solo cuídalo».

Después de esto, toda sensación de incomodidad que había sentido minutos antes, desapareció por completo, como padre latinoamericano...

Lo siento, debo aliviar el ambiente para no caer en la locura.

Me quedé perpleja en mi lugar. Recogí mis rodillas hacia mi pecho sin importar que mi falda su subiese, ¿Qué acababa de pasar?

No pude soportarlo más, mi cuerpo finalmente cedió y creo que jamás había subido esas escaleras tan rápido, ni siquiera cuando escuchaba los pasos de la Sra. Centeno, la mujer más chismosa de todo el edificio, haciendo eco por todo el lugar.

Nunca me fijé si este hombre se encontraba ahí aún o si se había ido tan rápido como sus palabras inundaron el lugar. Solo corrí lo más rápido que pude.

Entré en mi departamento, tomé mi teléfono, no sé qué estaba buscando, tal vez su número.

Jose. Mi Jose, con quien había discutido horas antes de salir a emborracharme para intentar olvidarme de lo que sea que tuviéramos.

Se había enfurecido cuando intenté preguntar sobre su familia, de la que nunca me hablaba. Especialmente de su papá, quien había fallecido cuando él era adolescente. Le molestaba cada que intentaba acercarme a él más allá de encuentros casuales y yo, tonta, seguía cediendo a sus deseos cada que me buscaba, aunque quisiera más de lo que me ofrecía.

Me había hartado de él y sus excusas. Lo había mandado por donde vino ese día, pero cuando se fue, tuve una sensación de vacío en lugar de tranquilidad, intuía que quería hablarme de algo importante, pero pensé que solo estaba siendo ilusa nuevamente y ya estaba cansada.

Teclee en mi teléfono su número, repicó un par de veces y no contestó, no lo culpo, ya serían casi las 4 AM ¿Quién contestaría a esa hora?

Escribo su nombre para enviarle un texto, quería contarle lo que había pasado, pero mi cerebro aún no estaba del todo cuerdo, entre los tragos, la adrenalina y el susto que me había llevado hace apenas unos minutos, con suerte estaba de pie aún.

Recuerdo haberle escrito "Tu papá quiere que te cuide Jose y eso es lo que voy a hacer, él te quiere mucho".

Finalmente, me dormí, pero no todo terminó como hubiese querido.
Al despertar horas después, hacer mis cosas y finalmente revisar mi celular, me di cuenta de que había metido la pata gravemente.

Había hecho un post en Facebook en lugar de haberle enviado el mensaje a Jose. Tenía varios comentarios de sus amigos llamándome la atención y algunos "¿¿??"

Jose me había llamado varias veces, unas 6 veces para ser exactos y luego de la última llamada perdida, tenía un mensaje que, aunque fuese simple, de 3 líneas, transmitía la furia que supongo estaba sintiendo en ese momento.

"Pensé que podrías conocer esa parte de mí, pero me equivoqué. El tema de mi papá no es ningún chiste del que te puedes burlar y menos en las redes sociales. No quiero verte más".

Auch.

Yo intentaba con todo mi ser recordar la cara del hombre que me había hablado en las escaleras, su voz, lo que me dijo...

¿Hombre que te había hablado en las escaleras? ¿De qué hablas? ¿Qué pasó anoche? Estabas bastante borracha.

He escuchado que los borrachos y los niños son los más susceptibles a que algo paranormal o extraño les pase, me causa curiosidad como son dos fuentes poco confiables según quien lo vea. Creo que a partir de ahora, comenzaré a escucharlos un poco más.

Jose me odiaba.

Jose, contéstame, puedo explicarlo.

¿Puedes?

Discúlpame...


ENGLISH


20230503_114042_0000.png

Stocksnap - Pixabay | Edit. Canva and PicsArt


Jose hates me, he doesn't want to talk to me.

I want him to understand, I want him to... I need him to understand.

I had had a good night, I was ecstatic and flooded with happiness, I do not understand how everything happened so fast and this feeling, as much as I wanted to keep it forever, vanished so quickly from my body.

I was returning from seeing some friends, it had been a night full of drinks, noise, and many laughs that would become a pleasant memory.

The time to return to our homes was about 3 AM.

That early morning, after saying goodbye to my friends, I walked into my building. My not-so-nice and somewhat old-fashioned building, with cantankerous neighbors and gossip everywhere.

Heading towards the elevator, which had the look of falling down next to the building at any moment, I hit the button to call it, waiting longer than I should have. I didn't have time for this.

It was 3 AM Why was it taking so long, had it broken down again? We really should complain, this was happening more than I wanted it to.

Frustrated, I go to my enemies, the stairs. It wasn't the best option, since my apartment was on the eleventh floor and honestly, I was a little afraid of those stairs. Nothing weird had ever happened to me, they just had a kind of heavy vibe. Maybe it was because of their old look and the musty smell that never seemed to want to leave this place, but I was tired and wanted to lie down to finally finish this busy night.


Escaleras 2..jpg

hseal - Pixabay | Edit. Canva and PicsArt


I was totally immersed in my thoughts, trying to coordinate my steps, dulled by the alcohol I ingested, climbing step after step. I was a little groggy, maybe sleep was luring me towards it, although I was not even halfway up the floors I had to climb.

A little tired, I sat down on a step to breathe and try to concentrate more. Scolding yourself drunk, should have a special mention in this story, I think we've all experienced this.

I breathe in slowly and when I think enough time has passed to keep losing it, a feeling of tension invaded me from head to toe, leaving my body like a fully alert cat. Well, maybe I should stop thinking about cats at a time like this.

For some reason I couldn't turn anywhere, I was paralyzed, but my mind was in a mess "What's happening? What's wrong? I have to get up and get to my apartment....

When I finally got up the courage to try to stand up, someone sat down next to me and I, totally still and full of fear, still couldn't turn around to see who it was.

What's going on, who is here?

I could only look straight ahead, while I felt that my heart would burst out of my chest at any moment.

A few minutes passed, and although it felt like hours, it was only a couple of minutes where I mentally prepared myself to run away. I didn't want to see who it was, my body was warning me that something was up.

My act of fleeing was interrupted by some words coming from a male voice, thick and kind, that I will never forget. In a calm tone he said "Take care of Jose, he hasn't been having a good time, I know you love him, just take care of him".

After this, any sense of discomfort that I had felt minutes before, disappeared completely, as a Latin American father....

I'm sorry, I have to lighten the mood so as not to fall into madness.

I remained perplexed in my place. I drew my knees up to my chest, not caring that my skirt was riding up, What had just happened?

I couldn't take it anymore, my body finally gave out and I don't think I had ever walked up those stairs so fast, not even when I heard the footsteps of Mrs. Centeno, the most gossipy woman in the whole building, echoing all over the place.

I never checked to see if this man was still there or if he was gone as fast as his words flooded the place. I just ran as fast as I could.

I went into my apartment and grabbed my phone, I don't know what I was looking for, maybe his number.

Jose. My Jose, who I had argued with hours before I had gone out to get drunk to try to forget about whatever it was we had.

He had become enraged when I tried to ask about his family, who he never talked to me about. Especially his dad, who had passed away when he was a teenager. It annoyed him every time I tried to get closer to him beyond casual encounters and I, foolishly, kept giving in to his wishes whenever he sought me out, even though I wanted more than he offered me.

I had had enough of him and his excuses. I had sent him on his way that day, but when he left, I had a feeling of emptiness instead of tranquility, I sensed he wanted to talk to me about something important, but I thought I was just being delusional again and I was tired of it.

I typed his number into my phone, and it rang a couple of times and he didn't answer, I don't blame him, it would be almost 4 AM, and who would answer at that hour?

I write his name to send him a text, I wanted to tell him what had happened, but my brain was still not completely sane, between the drinks, the adrenaline, and the scare I had taken just a few minutes ago, hopefully, I was still standing.

I remember writing to him "Your dad wants me to take care of you Jose and that's what I'm going to do, he loves you very much".

Finally, I fell asleep, but it didn't all end the way I would have liked.
When I woke up hours later, did my business, and finally checked my cell phone, I realized I had messed up badly.

I made a post on Facebook instead of sending Jose the message. I had several comments from his friends calling me out and a few "¿????"

Jose had called me several times, about 6 times to be exact and after the last missed call, I had a message that, although simple, 3 lines, conveyed the anger I guess I was feeling at the time.

"I thought you might know that part of me, but I was wrong. The subject of my dad is no joke for you to make fun of, least of all on social media. I don't want to see you anymore."

Ouch.

I was trying with all my being to remember the face of the man who had spoken to me on the stairs, his voice, what he had said to me.....

The man who had spoken to you on the stairs? What are you talking about? What happened last night? You were pretty drunk.

I have heard that drunks and children are the most susceptible to something paranormal or strange happening to them, I am curious as they are two unreliable sources depending on who is watching. I think from now on, I'll start listening to them a little more.

Jose, answer me, I can explain.

Can you?

Excuse me...


banner2.jpg


¡GRACIAS POR LEER!♡ | THANKS FOR READING!♡


Créditos de las imágenes - Image credits

[ESP] Todas las imágenes fueron tomadas de Pixabay y las señaladas fueron editadas con Canva y PicsArt.

[ENG] All images were taken from Pixabay and those marked were edited with Canva and PicsArt.


Sort:  

Congratulations @rosylisboa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Vaya, que buen relato.

Muchas gracias💗