Everyday Antiques - Pick a card

in Antiques & Vintage3 years ago

This is carrying on a series I did ages about of #EverydayAntiques. It was items that we have inherited that are old and interesting. I have a bag of cards that my wife's grandparents collected that I will show you.

Some of the previous posts have lost their pictures, but I did feature some Kensitas Silks before. These were woven pictures of flowers that were given away in packs of cigarettes in the 1930s. There was also a series with flags. The bigger cards came in bigger packs and there were some postcard sized ones too, but we do not have any of those.

Silks

From what I have seen they are not worth a huge amount. I guess a lot of people kept them as they are nice things. I have thought about getting them mounted in frames.

Back

These flowers are from another cigarette company and may be from the 1920s. There were fifty in the set, but we do not have them all. You could have bought an album for a penny from your tobacconist.

Will's Wild Flowers

The Brooke Bond tea Police File set is much later from the 1970s.We only have three of these. A full set is selling on ebay for a few pounds.

Police File

These are from Godfrey Phillips cigarettes who did royal jubilee cards in 1935. We have the Prince of Wales, The Queen, Prncess Alexandra and Princess Margaret Rose (current Queen's sister).

Royals

The British Costume card showing 'Day Clothes 1938' is also from Brooke Bond tea and may be from 1968. Loads of full sets in albums on ebay for a couple of pounds. The other is from a 1964 set by Primrose Confectionary based on the Z-Cars TV police show. I remember watching it as a kid a few years later.

Z-Cars

The whole lot is not worth a great deal, so we may as well keep them. It is just nice to have links to the past and our kids can have them some day.

As a kid I had some other sets including one about the space race. You can buy those cheap too as so many people collected them with their tea bags.

Sort:  

I like the police car one. It's hard to get a still image of a car to look dynamic but the artist nailed it.

I don't imagine the artists got much credit for their work. We've had all the fuss about MtG and Pokemon cards, but people were collecting cards 100 years ago or more. I expect they were trading them back then to get a set. I thought some might be worth more now, but they must be too common for that.

It is just nice to have links to the past and our kids can have them some day.

exactly so! we keep a lot of old papers, and I feel damn sad my mom and granny did not keep anything from the life in XX (not speaking abouut XIX). Well, XX was a hard time for Russia, mostly about survival and not about choosing the things to keep.

as for those inserts: I have read two years ago, that Theodor Einem (Russian businessman of German origin) established his confectionery in 1849 and his enterprise (soon became the biggest in Russia) invented was the 1st who used a lot of marketing and advertising features like that. 'Buy more cookies - collect all the inserts collection - educate your kids about... bla blah blah'.

Sorry too late to upvote but anyway - I am happy that more hiveans discover and start posting to this community. cheers! and a !PIZZA


@steevc! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @qwerrie.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

I think people care more about preserving the past now and not just with a eye on monetary value. Can't keep everything though.

!BEER

They are, definitely. Hard to say, why; my guess it is the mix, the complex of reasons, not just one (value). Intresting direction of the talk.

I would single out three - 1 ) people get tired of sleek, boring, neat minimalism (that's why all sorts of "handwritten" and scribbled scribble fonts are in vogue in modern design).
2 ) as the proverb says, "we do not value what we have, but when we have lost it, we cry." the less such material, the more it is in price. people multiply rapidly, and the amount of old stuff is limited, its specific amount per capita has a strong negative dynamics . 3) third ... I already forgot what I wanted to say :)


Hey @qwerrie, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Which other sets can I buy also 😅?

Eh? You can buy any of these online for not much money. I'm not selling.

Okay no problem

That is really surprising about the silks. I would have guessed they would be worth much more than that. The work is beautiful. Maybe because they were so mass produced. I mean if one came in every pack that is nuts thinking back about how much people smoke...

Most adults smoked back then and I guess a lot of them kept the silks. I could probably buy the missing ones to make a full set. From what I've read this is not something anyone else produced, but obviously lots of companies did cards.