You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keys | Part 2

in Antiques & Vintage2 years ago

Do you think the Coke made much difference? I'm sure people told me it could dissolve a coin overnight when trying to put me off it. Not that I drink it much anyway these days.

I'll have to see what I have. I am working on clearing out my shed, so more stuff is likely to turn up.

!PIZZA

Sort:  

Funnily enough we are clearing our shed and house out soon too. Moving house and we are so going to find all manner of old stuff!

Awesome! Do a post about it 😀

You know what..... I might just do that 😀

Yeah I the Coke got off all kinds of crap that hard scrubbing might have done. There was lots of sediment in the bottom that suggests it dissolved plenty.

We used cheap Coke. Not entirely sure if the ‘real thing’ would have done a different, perhaps more effective job.

Worth a go though.
Some on the last thread suggested an acid bath wouldn’t benefit old metals like these, since it could take away the protective layer on them. But a bit like this didn’t do any hard to ours. I suppose time will tell if they start to rust again or turn a funny colour.

I may have to try it on mine some time. I don't mind them looking 'weathered' anyway. I'll do a post some time when I have more to show.

Have a great Xmas.

!BEER


Hey @ashtv, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.