LOLZ Outage Update - Backup, Impacts on LOLZ Defi, Corrective Actions, and Vacation Proofing!

Hello all you LOLZ supporters!

I (@captaincryptic) am back from my vacation and have the @lolzbot up and running again!

Crash Update

As I posted last week, @lolzbot ran into some problems and had been down for a week. I managed to get it running again, but as feared, it crashed again right after I left for vacation.

While it was down, the voting bots were also malfunctioning. Which impacted LOLZ Defi, as discussed below.

I got home last night and got @lolzbot re-started and will be watching it more closely to make sure it keeps running properly. The voting bots are also running again as well.

Impact on LOLZ Defi

Not only did the problems cause the upvote bots to malfunction and spam vote old posts (sorry!), but it also caused us to miss out on our earnings for the last week. The loss of earnings caused our farming rewards to be low (nearly non-existent) for the last week, and the low earnings will continue for the next week until today's curated posts start paying out.

And with little to no earnings, we had little to no dividends to pay out. 40% of 0, is 0. Dividends will also be low/nill until today's curated posts start paying out.

Corrective Actions

We are dedicated to treating our delegators fairly. As such, we are going to try and make up the lost LOLZ Farming rewards. For the next week, we will run double rewards based on the pre-crash earnings. Once normal earnings return, we will evaluate if the double earnings need to be extended for a few extra days to make everyone whole.

Regarding Dividends, we have decided to not make up the dividends. The dividends have always been a percentage of our earnings, and since we didn't earn ... stakers didn't either. Sorry... we hope you understand and agree that is fair.

Vacation Proofing The LOLZ Project

I do not know why things like to go bad when I'm on vacation, but this is the third or forth time something like this has happened. Currently, when on vacation I don't have access to the server the scripts are running on as they are running on a server at my home.

I will be looking into a solution to my access problem ... and some of the Googling I've done since getting home looks promising. If I can get access to my server while on vacation I should be able to check in on things and get stuff running right without having long breakdowns like this one.

The Problem

So for those who are interested, the problem ultimately was with my block streamer script. To speed up my scripts, and to minimize my direct interactions with the Hive nodes, I've created a script that streams the blockchain and stores the information the bots need to do their work.

The new scripts run much more efficiently and faster and had been running seamlessly for several months. Unfortunately, the block streamer seems to get stuck on a block from time to time. I need to do some digging, but I suspect it may be bad blocks, if such things exist.

I will be adding a "skip bad block" routine to prevent it from getting stuck. I will also be fixing the voting bots so that they don't upvote any more old posts (should never be a problem when the streamer is running properly, but won't hurt to have a second check).

Thanks for Your Understanding And Support!

As always, we really appreciate the support from our users. It was very nice reading the replies telling me to "not worry, and have a nice vacation." While it didn't stop me from worrying .. maybe I worried a bit less.

@captaincryptic

About the LOLZ Project

The LOLZ Project is an engagement project with the mission of spreading laughter and joy on the Hive blockchain.

image.png

Sort:  

Glad you're back from vacation and setting everything right. I've added to my delegations over this time, (even though they're not paying for that week) in anticipation to prosperous weeks to come!

Don't stress too much about it, glad you had a good vacation and I appreciate your efforts to make things right. This only encourages us to invest more!

Don't worry, I hope you had nice vacation 🤣
!BEER

It was pretty good! Lots of driving .... !lolz

Never scream into a colander
You'll strain your voice.

Credit: reddit
@servelle, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of lolztoken

(1/10)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Glad to see you back 😉😂
!LOLZ

What is black and white and red all over?
A penguin with a sunburn.

Credit: captaincryptic
@lolztoken, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of anonyvoter

(4/10)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

Welcome back! It was boring without !LOLZ on Hive😁🥰

Ah close enough
Mediocrates

Credit: reddit
@lolztoken, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of iceledy

(1/8)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

!ALIVE
!LOLZ 👍

@lolztoken! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ hivecurious. (4/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Why are farmers always winning awards?
Because they're outstanding in their field.

Credit: reddit
@lolztoken, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of hivecurious

(4/10)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

!LOL

Posted using MemeHive

What is a birds favorite thing to watch in tv?
A duckumentary.

Credit: reddit
@lolztoken, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of holovision.cash

(4/10)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

!LOL

I found nasty month-old leftover mac and cheese in the fridge.
It was a case of age-related macaroni degeneration.

Credit: reddit
@lolztoken, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of cryptovisitor

(2/6)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

Will try this one. !LOLZ

What do cats cook for dinner when they're in a hurry?
Minute Mice

Credit: reddit
@lolztoken, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of mdasein

(1/2)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

Tghank you for ze work and ze update. !LOLZ

I don't want my wife any longer.
Her height is perfect.

Credit: reddit
@lolztoken, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of ben.haase

(2/10)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ