I tried playing a game of Go for a change.

in Fusekilast month (edited)

I set up OBS, in case I want to do some streaming, but it was a little bit late, so I tested it by recording a game. I didn't talk in this one so don't get your hopes up.

I ended up winning the game, but I'm so rusty I didn't even figure out why. Damn, I suppose I will need to start practicing again. It's been too long having not played the game, and I've forgotten practically everything.

(In case you were wondering I actually ended up playing 3 games, and this was the last one of them. And the only one I won.)

It looks like the board wasn't aligned correctly. I wonder how I could set it right from the get go. Maybe I'll need to do it mid-game some time, and then lock it in place.

Anyway, too late, so I'll be going to bed. Good night guys!

Sort:  

I wish I could play this game.

But you can! Go is actually quite easy to learn. There are basically three rules and one exception – everything else you’ll pick up as you play, like shapes and strategies.

The idea of the game is simple: surround more free area on the board than your opponent. Here are the basic rules:

  1. Game progress:
    Two players take turns placing black and white stones on the intersections of the board lines. Black always starts.
  2. Liberties and Capturing:
    A single stone has up to 4 liberties (adjacent empty intersections). If an opponent occupies all liberties of a stone, or a group of stones, the stone or group is captured and removed from the board. Captured stones are counted as points at the end.

    White loses his last liberty, and gets captured.
  3. Life and Death:
    A group of stones with two separate empty spaces (eyes) is alive and cannot be captured. If you can't fill both eyes at once, any stone you place inside the group will be captured instead. The empty intersections inside a living group will be counted as points at the end of the game.

    White can't play into either eye, because the stone would immediately lose all its liberties before black, and this is considered a suicide.

The Ko Rule: This rule prevents endless repetition. If a stone is captured and the next move would allow a capture in the same position immediately, the Ko rule requires that the player make a move elsewhere before returning to the Ko position. This prevents the game from stalling.


If white captures black, black can't immediately capture white.

Easy peasy... Now you know enough to start playing! 😊

Thank you very much for teaching me, I will try it out... 🙏

Wow bro It's great to see you diving back into Go. It's such a deep game that practice is definitely the key. Adjusting the board setup looked like a good plan. Keep at it, you'll get back into your groove soon probably... Enjoy your day brother

Thanks... May take a while to re-learn everything. Sometimes a break does good for learning, but if the break is too long, progress may suffer. We'll see what happens. You have a nice day too.

Take a break good friend 🥰

Awesome to see you back! Nice quick game. It seems tiur opponent loves tenuki...😉 Can't wait for the next!

I noticed Tenuki might have been the choice word of the day for all of those opponents last night. I might need to do one of these in the daytime so I don't disturb anyone's sleep while playing. The idea to suddenly play after everyone went to sleep came a bit ex tempore for me. (Those three pints of beer I enjoyed after dinner might have had something to do with it too.) 😉

That’s good! I still haven’t got round to learn this game yet!

Have a good time!