End of Season Rewards and New Guild – A Diary Of A Splinterlands Player #006

in Splinterlands2 years ago

Due to a public holiday, I spend more time with family and friends which is the reason, why I didn‘t have too much time posting. And I also needed to grind, while the DEC rewards where high.

Season review

image.png

As far as I remember this was my second season in Splinterlands and I still feel like a newbie. According to my stats, I still am. My win rate wasn’t really good, which is mainly due to the reason, that especially in loose streaks I get frustrated and don’t pay to much attention and just continue playing – and loosing.
My daily rewards haven’t been too good. I got one gold foil Pelacor Mercenary. No epics and no legendaries. And combined with season rewards only five rare cards. So nothing big after all. Since I even dropped once to Bronze League, there have been also some Credit rewards.
I got a total of 2330 DEC from Ranked play, which isn’t so much when considering, that I really played a lot at some days.

image.png

Rentals have been a total different story. I got a stunning 416.18 net gains, which is 15% of my total Splinterlands DEC income this season. Since I am just starting to accumulate good cards and my collection isn’t that great, it really feels great to have already a nice passive income stream. It is still only a net positive of ~27 DEC a day, but that really helps.
Still the rental market is cruel. I usually only take cards of the markets at the end of a rental, but got a few negative surprise. Some of my own rentals were cancelled, which got me down to Bronze at some time. And there are many people making long rents just to cancel them after the end of season. It is difficult under such circumstance to still be fair and not go the same path, especially since end of seasons seems like the only time when you can actually make some money from rentals.

Also my SPS rewards have been quite nice. I got 13,895 SPS from airdrops and 1,421 from staking adding up to 15,316 reward SPS.

New Guild

image.png

Only hours after my last post, I got a text message from the amazing @luthien12. At first I couldn’t believe it, since in my opinion I am still a beginner, but I got accepted by @untamable to “The Warriors” – one of the Top 60 guilds at the time of writing. Since then I am trying to improve my gameplay and income, to be a good member of the guild. So far my win rate wasn’t really all that good this new season, but I try to stay active and learn something every day.
I am really honored to be in this amazing guild and try to do my part to make the guild succeed and grow. And I got such a great welcome. I am really looking forward to being a member of this guild and the time to come!

New Season, new luck

image.png

Since last season had a pretty annoying start, I tried something new this season. High rentals. I rented a lot of very expensive cards (Llama + Flesh Golem, Phantom of the Abyss, etc.) and tried to play my way out of Bronze as soon as I could. I don’t want to have those Credit rewards, but want the chance to get some more and better reward cards, and maybe even an epic or my first legendary. So far, I wasn’t lucky, but since I didn’t get lucky with my End of Season rewards, I don’t expect my dailies to be mind blowing. It I just small steps on the path to domination ;-)
The strategy to rent good cards worked out pretty good and I could sometimes even win against players I really admire. Still, I made some big mistakes and was spamming my “good” cards, so that I got predictable and lost a lot of battles. I still am in Silver 2 right now, but probably won’t stay there the whole time, since the rents are too expensive right now and it’s only one extra loot chest.

Getting lucky on Splintertalk

I got lucky on Splintertalk and got my first upvote from @monster-curator. Of course I am thankful for every upvote, but it is fascinating, what difference it makes, if you get an upvote from a whale. I would love to know, how to be eligible to more of those :-D
Until then I am putting in some effort and hope to grow bigger time by time. Thanks to all of you for the diligent upvotes, I really appreciate it a lot!
As always, everything is getting staked and all the SPT are going to be delegated to @monster-curator. I am also powering up most of my Hive, to build up enough HP to at least be able to post, comment and upvote here in Hive!

Giveaways

I am thankful for all the streamers, who donated me some rewards from giveaways. I wasn’t very lucky this week, but still could get a few SPS and some DEC. And more importantly a lot of knowledge and could help to support them and their streams.

SPS and vouchers

I am getting close to 100 SPS, which feels like a big step. My daily airdrops are around 1,3 SPS from around 9,800 – 9,900 airdrop points. Those points are mostly from Collection power, which has added up to a little over 9,000. I am looking forward to constantly increase my CP and also other sources of airdrop points to increase my daily SPS airdrops.

image.png

Also my vouchers are increasing. I am almost at a quarter of an voucher and got another 0,021 vouchers today. I am looking forward to the general sale, when it is possible to buy packs without needing voucher, although I think, that the time window isn’t going to be all that long.
But even if I don’t get any packs, this isn’t going to be too big of a problem. I think especially for newer players it is preferred to buy the needed cards themselves instead of buying packs. Still, opening packs is fun!

Outlook on the season

I am looking forward to the season. Since I don’t have a big delegation, as I had last season, I am not sure, if I can stay in Silver league all the time. I cannot rent the power for it all the time, since this would eat up all my profits.
To be honest, right now I don’t have a plan for this season. I guess, especially towards the mid and end of season, I can easily get to my “usual” rating of 1700-2100, but my power right now is only at around 9,000 without rentals and since I am renting out cards, I would need even more. It would be amazing if I could get a few better cards from rewards, since I cannot put a lot more money into the game right now. Or maybe get lucky on a stream and either win a delegation or even some cards. But I wasn’t really successful the last few days in that direction.
If you feel generous, I would love to get a delegation or even some free cards. ;-)

If I can't make it, to stay in Silver most of the time without spending all my DEC, I am considering renting out most of my own cards, to get more income, so that I can buy better cards. Since my power is sufficient to stay in Bronze 1, I would at least get DEC in ranked battles and a low chance on some reward cards or at least some credits to buy more cards. And combined with the rental income - if it is anywhere close to the last season, which seems appropiate, I could buy one or two epic cards.

Cheers, andy-plays

image.png

Sort:  

We are so happy to have you in our guild, @andy-plays ! The other guild is missing out.

Thanks for this candid look at your Splinterlands life and strategy. I am content for now to earn DEC in Bronze 1 while renting out some of my cards for passive income, but it's interesting to read about your experiences - playing in Silver and joining a guild - since I can see that being my next steps (I've only been playing for a little over one season). Keep up the good work!.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @andy-plays! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Very nice job at them brawls just wanted to say that and hope ya the best good luck.

@andy-plays Congrats on getting in to a great guild, it is an excellent step. Thanks for sharing your experience and ideas. Looks like I might need to get a Harklaw and work on posting as well.

Keep Grinding!