Battle Mage Secrets Weekly Challenge! Ferocity!

in Splinterlands12 days ago

[Source]

Hi everyone! It's time for the weekly Battle Mage Secrets challenge and the challenge this week is the Ferocity Ruleset.

About the Ruleset

Ferocity

The Ferocity ruleset states that "All Monsters have the Fury ability". This means that monsters with the Taunt ability will take double damage. I would avoid using monsters with the Taunt ability as much as possible.


Battle Ruleset(s)

Details of my battle with this ruleset is as follows.

Keep Your Distance: Monsters with Melee attack may not be used in battles
Ferocity: All Monsters have the Fury ability
Mana Cap: 41
Available Splinters: Fire, Earth, Life, Death and Dragon
Format: Modern


Cards & Line Up

The Summoner
vs

Summoner: Obsidian - It increases the Shield of my entire deck by 1 and grants the use of one additional Gladiator card.

The Line Up

Position 1
Position 2
Position 3
Position 4
Position 5
Position 6

vs

Position 1
Position 2
Position 3
Position 4
Position 5
Position 6

[Card image source]

PositionNameDescription
1Pelacor ConjurerIt has the Flying and Magic Reflect ability, and is here to reflect some magic damage since it's likely to be used in this ruleset.
2Djinn RenovaIt has the Strengthen ability and gives my entire deck an additional health.
3Anachron BolterIt has the Headwinds ability and I'm using it to reduce ranged damage from the opponent if the opponent uses ranged monsters
4Captain KatieIt has the Snipe and Bloodlust ability and is my main damage dealer here. Hopefully, the Bloodlust ability will grow its stats to a good amount.
5Venari CrystalsmithIt has the Tank Heal ability, and is here to provide heals to make my tanks last longer.
6War PegasusIt has the Flying and Shatter abilities, and has 3 Ranged attack. It helps to remove the shields .

Strategy

The ruleset here meant that (1) melee monsters cannot be used, (2) monsters with the Taunt ability will take double damage.

As I saw that the opponent had higher level summoners and cards than me, I tried to stage a deck that will improve my chances of winning. So my strategy here was to reflect magic damage, increase my deck's health and to reduce ranged damage from my opponent, and to produce a good amount of damage.

The opponent opted to use Quix the Devious as his summoner, and that reduced the damage of my ranged monsters and slowed my deck down. At the same time, he used a mainly magic-based deck with a high amount of tanking health. It is a strategy that I like as well, but didn't opt for here as I figured that I'll lose if I go head to head with an opponent using a similar strategy. It's a real solid strategy here.

Initially, it looked like I was going to lose this battle. I was down to 4 monsters while the opponent still had a full deck of 6. I would have to say the heals and Bloodlust ability took effect at the right time and that really saved the day for me!


Thoughts on the Ferocity Ruleset

The Ferocity ruleset isn't a particularly challenging ruleset, since it only puts monsters with the Taunt ability at a disadvantage. There are many other strategies that can be used without using monsters with that ability. That being said, I do employ the Taunt ability a fair bit in my battles, so I won't say that I like the Ferocity ruleset a lot.


Battle

Watch the battle here

Sort:  


This post has been supported by @fallen.angels guild!
Delegate Tokens and HP to Fallen Angels to earn weekly rewards!
Delegate | Join to the guild

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @bhattg suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

Peace
The latest town hall recap showed interesting development about the grain official market.
Thank you for your publication
Nice lineup in the arena
I am in the leaderboard but far from the top 200. I like the Halving ability. It is really helpful.
Are you stocking grain or just selling on the p2p market?
!PIZZA
#freecompliments
Regards


Are you looking for Tier 5 brawl guild? THE GUILD OF NEOXIAN looking for wild silver fray player. If you are good in that fray and interested to join then contact with our Guild Officer xawi & Also Don't Forgot to Checkout our BDVoter Daily Hive Showcase & Participate into our Daily giveaway to win various prize.

SPLBDVoter.gif

DELEGATE HIVE POWER TO BDVOTER & EARN HIVE DAILY.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL & CHECKOUT OUR HIVE BLOG & TWITTER PAGE FOR DAILY CURATION REPORT

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121