Alva The Crusher

in Splinterlands2 years ago

Alva The Crusher Slim Edition

image.png
I wanted to recreate Alva the Crusher to be less beefy and more on the slimmer side. I'll be sharing with you how I've created this art as well as other details and a battle analysis as well including this card.

image.png
This art is inspired by Alva The Crusher of the water splinter. A low cast first position card from the gladius deck. And at higher levels will have the retaliate and stun ability.
image.png

start your play to earn journey purchase your spellbook now: https://splinterlands.com?ref=beerbod
image.png

Art Progression

This rendition of Alva was done thru my iPad. The software used was procreate and a number of differetn tools were used. Starting with the pencil outlines, to creating solid lines, applying base colors, shadings and blending to final touches and the background you can see full art progression below:

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Finished Art

image.png

image.png

Battle Analysis

Because this card is from the Gladius Deck, it can only be used for Guild Brawls. Below you could a see low mana cost battle with just 16 mana pool. The rulesets are armored up and earthquake. It's a water vs water splinter. My opponent went for a pumped up melee damage lineup with with Demented Shark and DeepLurker. While on the other hand i went with a high armor composition with Venari Wavesmith and of course Alva the Crusher, i used on the first position my hardy stonefish to absorb some damage.
image.png

Round 1

You can see how much armor advantage i have with this lineup. And early in the first round i already eliminated my opponents furious chicken. This moves up the demented shark into first position. One challenge i have though is that Alva the crusher won't be attacking while it's on the second position.
image.png

Round 2

I easily lost my Hardy Stonefish after the first round's earthquakes damage. Moving Alva in the first position. But you can see from the screenshot that I have an armor advantage over my opponent and has healthy armor points at the moment.
image.png

Round 3

After the quake damage of Round 3. I still have 5 armor on my Alva while my opponents doesn't have any. His demented shark is also already low on HP, and will be eliminated in one attack. If my Alva kills it then it will just build up my advantage due to the bloodlust ability. My venari wavesmith has no armor left and is low on hp and is expected to be eliminated this round.
image.png

Round 4

At the beginning of the fouth round and before the quake damage. My opponent is left with an armor-less deeplurker. I still have both of my cards. See how my Alva has been buffed up with high speed and melee damage. This is from the bloodlust ability and last hitting the demented shark towards the end of the previous round.
image.png

Round 5

The winning moment. My opponent just losthis last card. But see that Alva is still at full health and would have been ok to fight a couple more rounds. The shield ability has played a huge role in this match for making my lineup tanky enough to sustain damage from attacks and quakes.
image.png

image.png

And there you have it. See you again next week for another edition of splinter art weekly. You can show your appreciation for this art by giving it an upvote. See you on the next one.

Sort:  

Congratulations @beerbod! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - 1000 Hive Power Delegation Winner
Merry Christmas - Challenge Feedback - Win a 1000 HP delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for sharing! - castleberry#6859

Thanks for your usual support.