Dragon Splinter Battle Analysis

in Splinterlands2 years ago

This week's guide will focus on the Dragon Splinter and how we can take advantage of their versatility. We will be analyziang a few battles and in each one I will be sharing my insights.
image.png

image.png

Battle 1 Dragon vs Water

Here's the link for the battle: https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_3e55e2c11f68c6b0c0b30d7894ffcf70&ref=beerbod

This is a low mana battle with only 12 mana on the pool. The ruleset is weak magic. Because of this i decided to go with one of the strongest 8 to cast cards which is Djinn Chwala. It has high armor buffed with drake of arnak, high HP as well as decent damage, And can win against most melee monsters with it's thorns ability.

The opponent went with a balanced lineup complete with melee magic and ranged attack. He selected Kelya as the summoner. He used Cruel Sethropod, Ice Pixie and Angelic Mandarin.
image.png

Battle 1 Round 1

At the end of the first round, my summon still has full health. It took no magic damage due to the weak magic ruleset being absorbed by the high armor. And with thorns return damage plus my attack this round, the cruel sethropod is left with no armor.
image.png

Battle 1 Round 2

By end of round 2, my djinn chwala has already lost all armor, but still has full 9 health left. As expected, the 2 damage of thorns and melee attack by djinn has reduced the first position enemy card's hp to zero. Opponent only has 2 cards left.
image.png

Battle 1 Round 3

All attacks connected this round and my djinn still has a healthy high hp of 7. While the ice pixie is left unprotected and should die in one more hit. Once that happens I am guaranteed a victory as the angelic mandarin wont be able to attack from first position.
image.png

Battle 1 Round 4

Opponents Ice Pixie got eliminated this round. The angelic Mandarin won't be able to deal any damage. At this stage I am assured a win and all that's left to do is to reduce enemy monsters hp to zero.
image.png

image.png

Battle 2 Dragon vs Water

Click the link to view the full battle: https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_0ecba0106ac74e27ef359794803240d6&ref=beerbod

It is another Dragon vs Water low mana battle. I went with the same selection as before. Just 1 splinter monster to give me a win. Djinn Chwala with buffed armor using Drake of Arnak Summoner.

My opponent on the other hand selected Kelya the summoner, and used two low hp tanks, albatross and stony hardfish. His source of damage would be the deeplurker but looking at the lineup i have a slight advantage due to my cards thorns skill.

image.png

Battle 2 Round 1

My first attack got evaded. And while the deeplurker's attack has connected. I did not take any damage as it was absorbed by the armor. On the other hand the deeplurker is now exposed losing its armor from the thorns damage.
image.png

Battle 2 Round 2

By end of Round 2, the albatross no longer has any armor. Deeplurker also erased my remaining armor but in return took 2 damage reducing it's hp to 2.
image.png

Battle 2 Round 3

The albatross got eliminated this round. The hard stonefish also attacked losing its armor from the thorns ability. The deeplurker is down to 2 hp after receiving return damage. Now my Djinn Chwala still has 5 health remaining. Even if it wasn't to attack the next round. It is guaranteed to win because of the damage reflection.
image.png

Battle 2 Round 4

There's just no oppurtunity for my opponent to win. As thorns is guaranteed to reflect damage for connecting attacks. I wont by the fourth round.
image.png

image.png

Battle 3 Dragon vs Death

Battle link here: https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_98f914a4cf79a279976af70720331c1b&ref=beerbod

My lineup consisted of Djinn Chwala at the first position and Undead Badger to provide sneak damage. I am also buffed by 1 armor due to drake of Arnak.

The enemys death lineup start with Cursed Windeku which also has thorns damage. Carrion Shade another melee monster, Undead badger to also attack the backlines, and chaos agent to protect the backlines.
image.png

Battle 3 Round 1

The chaos agent was taken out by the undead badger. Enemies undead badger also removed the armor of my undead badger. My tank Djinn Chwala has 2 armor left and is safe for now from physical attacks while the opponents cursed windeku is now down to 5 health.

image.png

Battle 3 Round 2

The enemy undead badger was first to attack that's why mine got removed from battle. The cursed windeku is down to 1hp, While my Djinn Chwala still has 6 hp left. Because all enemy left is melee, this means that even if i absorb all attacks, I would still have the upper hand due to the return damage.
image.png

Battle 3 Round 3

Another win for my dragon splinter lineup. By choosing a high hp and high armor tank. I was able to take advantage of low mana pool battles where opponents have tendency to select melee monsters. The thorns ability coupled with increased armor ensures high survivability without needing to compromise damage output.
image.png

Thanks for reading until the end. Follow me for more splinterlands guides and topics.

If you have any questions about dragons or splinterlands in general then leave a comment below. I respond to all comments and queries. Feel free to also share your strategies.

If you find this guide helpful, show your appreciation by giving this post a thumbs up.