Splinterlands Dragons

in Splinterlands3 years ago

👉 This article will discuss and highlight the strengths of your dragons splinter with a focus on lower level leagues. Which cards are best to have and strategies and possible counters to ensure victory, This is also my entry for this weeks Share your battle challenge

image.png

Dragons FTW

Dragons are often an overlooked deck, but with the right combination can be extremely powerful and difficult to defeat. It's main advantage is the ability to be combined with other splinters, making your plays very unpredictable

image.png

Dragon Summoners

Dragons are a great counter against physical ranged or melee attacks. On the bronze leagues one of the best summoner is Drake of Arnak as it gives one armor to all your friendly units. It's a good counter against Pyre or fire splinter decks as the plus one armor buff negates their first round attacks.

image.png

Another dragon summoner you can take advantage of is Brighton Bloom. On earthquake rulesets, most players tend to select flying monsters which are usually not their best cards. So instead of selecting flying summons, bring out your best and greatest cards and give them all the flying ability.

image.png

Dragon Tanks

No mylor? No problem. This tank has the thorns ability at level 1. With dragon's expertise in dealing and negating physical damage, this is one dragon card Djinn Chwala is definitely nice to have.
image.png

While Djinn is an epic card a cheaper Dragon Tank can be used, the one below is Gloridax Soldier, with one armor, 4 health, shield and flying ability all for 5 mana cost, opposing teams will have a hard time figuring this one out.

image.png

Dragon VS Dragon

Here's one Dragon vs Dragon match i played recently, my opponent decided to go dragon and death combo. While mine is dragon and life. You can view the full battle here: https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sm_gGfrEqkCgOSPQ29JLyN4&ref=beerbod

Round 1

My dragon and life deck composition focuses on sustaining my tank Djinn Chwalla.
I have 2 healers in the second and third position, Divine Healer and Venari Crystalsmith. While my opponent focused on pure physical mostly melee damage and wants to attack my backlines.

image.png

Round 2

I am left with 5 cards, and my backline is suffering heavy damage. This it to be expected, but again my main focus is my frontline. His tank Haunted spirit is down to 3 health entering the start of first round. Also because his manticore attacks from reach position, it has also taken some damage.
image.png

Round 3

I'm down to having 2 attacking cards, but i have already taken out his primary tank haunted spirit. While my tank Djinn Chwalla is still at full health. This is the round where things will begin turning around.
image.png

Round 4

I have 3 cards left to my opponents 4. My secondary healer is already exposed as well with no armor and 2 health left. His summoner grants a plus 1 attack buff, reason why he is dealing so much damage. However, as my primary strategy is keeping my tank alive, i am still very much in this game.
image.png

Round 5

While my opponent has more cards, i still have my tank at very high health. This is a very good position heading into the final rounds. The thorns ability has been very useful in eliminating the enemy frontlines and i still have my last divine healer alive.
image.png

Round 6

It's over for him. His elven cutthroat will die in this round. and the succeeding rounds he will have no more means of attack as his ranged cyclops will move into the first position. It's just a matter of cleaning up
image.png

Round 11 win

The cyclops was upgraded with shield ability, so it took quite a while before i could kill it. Still it is a good win.
image.png

So there you have it, if you haven't played splinterlands yet; you can sign up using my link here: https://splinterlands.com?ref=beerbod thanks all and see you again next time.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121

very nice post