Water Splinters Chaos Legion Meta

in Splinterlands2 years ago

My entry for this week's social media challenge will highlight the strength of water splinter's chaos legion meta. What used to be a magic favored lineup will now focus on speed and armor.
image.png
Before we proceed, if you plan on playing splinterlands and start your free to earn journey then you can register using my referral link: https://splinterlands.com?ref=beerbod

image.png

Best Water Splinter Summoner

It's no surprise that since the launch of chaos legion, water splinter has seen an enormous shift in playstyle, and it's all credit to Kelya Frendul. A new summoner which gives plus 1 speed and plus 1 armor to all allied monsters.

image.png

Fast Tank

One of the new cards which takes great advantage of the new summoner is Diemonshark. It's very unique in the sense that it has 6 armor and 4 speed. Together with Kelya, this rare water unit make your lineup a force to be reckoned with. And with the help of the trample ability, opponents will wish this card does not get any last hits.
image.png

Blue Splinter's new Offensive off tank

For only 6 mana Deeplurker brings a lot into the chaos legion water meta. It has 3 attack and buffed by Kelya most of it's attacks almost always hit. The opportunity ability makes this card worrisome for many opponents as low hp monsters are sure to be eliminated.
image.png

Neutral Help

Scavo Hireling and it's repair ability also greatly compliments the new meta lineup for water splinter decks. Armor lineups used to be heavily exclusive for the life splinter, but with the help of this neutral monster then it is a great fit for your card selection.
image.png

Old but Gold

And let's not forget the one of the best cards to include is the protect ability of Venari Wavesmith can turn the battle greatly into your favor especially when facing physically damaging opponents.
image.png

image.png

Battle Analysis

Now let's do a deep dive into one of my battles highlighting the strengths of the new chaos legion water setup. You can view the entire match with this link: https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_92c9f2f4c1efb2ed661c56fb223b4035&ref=beerbod

Mirror Matchup

It's water vs water, Kelya vs Kelya. My opponent went for a high speed high evasion lineup. All of his cards are attack based. While mine is comprised of 2 of the cards i mentioned above to provide me with additional armor and have armor repairs as well.
image.png

Round 1

Notice that my main advantage here resides on my first position card and the Diemonshark's 9 armor. While its a 6 card lineup vs 5 cards for me, I am not in a complete disadvantage as I have additional armor as well as armor repair abilities on my lineup.
image.png

Round 2

You can see here that my Diemonshark armor is still at 5 in the beginning of the second round. My opponents Serpent of Eld armor is down to 1. Our tanks only damage concern really is the magic attacks where both of us has 1 magic card that deals 1 damage each round. I am in a slight advantage given that my choice of first position card has a higher HP.
image.png

Round 3

I lost my Scavo Hireling from the previous round and this is where it starts to get tricky for me. While losing my support card is a huge blow, I also managed to take out my enemies magic damage Ice Pixie and that sorts of balances out things.
image.png

Round 4

Now it's 4 vs 3. This marks the start of me gaining an upper hand. My enemy has lost his serpent of eld tank from the previous round as well as his kulu swimhunter. Good thing my attacks didn't miss and i still have one magic damage card. And even if my deimonshark is left with 1 health. One advantage I have is that higher armor given by the Venari Wavesmith.
image.png

Round 5

The fifth round starts with a 3v3. My deeplurker has moved to the first position tank and I believe i still have the advantage here given my higher armor as well as a magic damage per round.
image.png

Round 6

It's 3 on two, and the only thing i need to do is to eliminate the deeplurker of my opponent, his still has 1 armor left, but again having venari wavesmith negates any armor advantage.
image.png

Round 7

I'm again in a bit of a bind as my opponent has caught up. Now my deeplurker is down to 2 health while in contrast to my opponents 5 HP. My only wish now is that my deeplurker to attack first.
image.png

Round 8

I lost any advantage i had from the previous round. My deeplurker is eliminated because it wasn't able to attack first. I need to drop and eliminate my opponents first position card quickly to secure my win, That's all that needs to happen now.
image.png

Round 9

I am down to my last card. I need to survice a couple of attacks, and one advantage I have is my full armor. Everything will be decided on the 10th round. Whether my venari and armor can outlast the physical damage my opponent has. And if i eliminate the deeplurker in rounds 9 and 10.
image.png

Round 10

And finally, my venari attacked first on the tenth round eliminating the deeplurker, and moving his ranged splinter into the first position where it can't do anything. It was a long and very close match. Luckily. My armor lineup hold up until the very end and worked definitely to my advantage.

image.png

image.png
Here's another battle where i used the samelineup. But this time versus a death splinter. It's a flawless win for my part and is also a good match to analyze. Watch the whole fight here: https://splinterlands.com/?p=battle&id=sl_08291398947d302c407cc6823c458bdd
image.png

image.png

Aaaannnddd there you have it. Stay tuned for more splinterlands guides coming in the following days. Follow me to make sure you get the updates.

If you find this guide helpful please feel free to give it a thumbs up.

Sort:  

I really like the water elements

Yeah. Its one of my go to decks.

Scavo Herling paired up quite good with Kelya Frendul. If somehow Scavo can survive long enough, we will have Scavo do repair each round.

True. Thats why i also use venari wavesmith.

Congratulations @beerbod! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!