Fire Spitter Reimagined - Splinterlands Art Contest

in Splinterlands7 months ago

Splinterlands

It's been a busy couple of days really and it's not easy being a Nigerian. The cost of living keeps increasing each day and the kinda money that could keep one afloat can't even keep anything anymore. It is tiring really

In the midst of it all, I was able to come up with something, taking inspo from Fire Spitter

lineart: for this one I sketch in a pose and just went straight to the lineart, refine it and move on to colours.

flats: after the lineart I paint in the flat colours. I colour in the body of the dragon, the wings, and the dragon spine thingies.

Shadows: after the colours I colour in the shadows. I open another layer, select a colour from the surrounding, in this case a dark red, change the layer's blending mode to multiply and colour in the shadows. I do two layers of shadows to give it more depth.

After the shadows I then colour in some rim lighting on selected parts of the body.

The background, I keep this very simple and paint in gradient between dark red and black.
Then I paint in the fire and add in a few details to the piece.
Next I select all the layers, duplicate it and merge all the duplicates together on top of every thing. I then duplicate the merged duplicate and open filters and select the gaussian blur, put it on 30% and then lower the opacity to 30%, this created a nice effect. With that done, I add in a few details and the piece is finished.

firespitter.jpg

This piece took roughly 2 hours total work time on Krita and photoshop.

Sort:  

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Congratulations @biem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners
Feedback from the October Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - September 2023 Winners List