Splinterlands Art Contest week -251

in Splinterlands10 months ago

Look who is peeping

Congratulations to last week winners, I was happy with the comments and upvotes I got from my last entry into the contest, people are starting to appreciate my work and if you haven't seen it, this is the link

I wanted to do something fun and different this week and since I have been practicing water features and I thought how about I used the sentry character as subject, that's the coastal sentry.
IMG-20230706-WA0028.jpg

Process

1- sketching: I did a very simple sketch for this with the pencil brush.
2- flat colours: once the sketch is in I create another layer under the sketch layer (with its opacity reduced) and put in the flat colours. Now, because I was going to be painting a water scene i was conscious that all the colours were blue or relatively blue

HiveDivider.png

3- shades: with the flats in, I paint in the shades, I use dark shades of blue for this. I use three shades of blue, to give the subject more form. Once I'm satisfied enough with the shades, I then render it in with the blur brush. This gives it even more form and volume.

4- Highlights: next is the highlights, I use lighter colours of blue for this. They serve like atmosphere lights bouncing off the character's face. After the highlights have been put in, I also render them lightly with the blur brush.
Painting the water

IMG-20230725-WA0029.jpg

One of my techniques for painting water is, I first of painting in the water body colour which is mostly blue, this time I used I "not so light" blue for the body. And then on another layer ontop of the water body layer, I add strokes of other colours, I use different colours of blue, a little greenish blue, some whites, and even darker blues. There's usually a random arrangement to them, but if you have a clear picture of water you wanna paint, sometimes the arrangement can be specific. In this case it was totally random with a little arrangement of the whites.
Anyway once the add ons are in and I'm satisfied with it, I then use the smudge brush brush and strategically smudge the colours together, a little redoing here and there and once I'm satisfied with the way it looks, I created another layer ontop and do the same thing, only this time it's with the colours of the Character. And they strokes aren't randomly placed, I paint them on so to form the body of the Character and then I smudge it with the smudge brush, lower the opacity of the layer until it looks a distorted reflection of the character's body under water.

HiveDivider.png

I do the same again on another layer with light colours of blue and white alone and then blur in that layer to make look like a camera shot focused on the character.
Then with the water features finished I paint in some bubbles for fun, blur some of it for effect and then add in some reflected light effects

sentry.jpg

Back to the character

I paint in some light blue colours the character's face, to give it some reflected light effect coming from the water, I then change the layers blending mode to 'Linear dodge'.
Lastly I paint in some water drops on her face and then Bam! The piece is done.

This piece took 6 hours to work on
Software used was Krita

Sort:  

I like the effect of the sea ^^, nice work
!LOLZ

My wife accused me of being immature.
I told her to get out of my fort.

Credit: lofone
@biem, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of nicosistemas5

(1/1)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Thank you 😊

Congratulations @biem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 250 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 500 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 7
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 6
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 5

Thanks for sharing! - castleberry#6859