Sort:  

I appreciate you sharing your thoughts; but I feel like we need to give the change, and the upcoming change, a little longer to take effect.
Somebody who's rightly proud of their win-rate, and resigned themselves to a particular level, will take a while to come around to the idea of being proud of their level, and resigned to that 50:50 win-rate.
My personal experience, I felt trapped before the change. In Wild I faced optimised bot teams, but when I tried playing in Modern, I couldn't get close to the top of Bronze 1 in order to break out into higher levels.
I get that we're a bit more pay to win now. (Buy a few more BCX, unlock that next ability, and win a few more of those close matches), but previously it felt like pay to lose, where I had a max level card that could only perform at a fraction of the level I'd paid for.
Again, that's just a personal perspective. I completely understand if others feel differently.

Appreciate you chiming in, MC. Always value your insight.

It's a sticky wicket, man. I am not sure what the best solution is (though, as you just read, I have my opinions on what the best solution could look like), and maybe time is the X-factor and we just need to let things pan out, but given all the folks we'd already shed over the course of the bear, it makes it particularly difficult to see those folks that stuck with us now, and all of a sudden, feel completely left out in the cold directly as a result of this update.

We all know Yaba's a bright dude and I trust he'll figure it out. That said, I felt obligated to help gather some feedback and represent, to the best of my abilities, all the voices.

Cheers hombre!

Sticky wicket!

I haven't heard that in a long time!

Allowing players to choose their league for the season completely eliminates the 'being trapped in bronze' situation. I understand he wants to give it time, but damn man, we have to hope there are still players here by then. If you see an iceberg dead ahead, you don't wait to see if you're still headed for it a little later. You correct course asap.

Let me add some of the things that I have observed about the SPS rewards. while the rewards got increased due to the modern reward pool combined into one, it seems like rewards have been capped or something. First, you can take a look on this 2 accounts by which I played which have the same rating and only played the battle around 15 minutes apart but still get around the same SPS reward despite the difference on SPS boost and the other one have 5% more bonus. Looking at the top of the leaderboard, they are also getting around as much regardless of their SPS staked and bonus. Even when matt says that it was because the reward was adjusting because of the ranked overhaul and the combining of the SPS pool, Having a bigger SPS staked and going to higher leagues should have bigger impact on the SPS reward that a player get when they won a match to incentivize them which is not what's happening right now. Will this keep to happen after the changes on april 2nd? I don't know but if having 70k SPS staked owned or delegated was more than enough for me to earn the same as the players on the top leaderboard does, then I might as well to do that with my other account that rent 360k SPS to have that 10x SPS boost.

image.png

image.png

Anyways, I would like to thank @bjangles , @azircon and @mattclarke once again for delegating SPS last season for my alt account @agonyaccepted. Not renting SPS for more than a season was a big help for me.

Hey Saydie! Thanks for swinging through and taking the time to add some thoughts. The cap on ranked battle SPS is an interesting one - it exists throughout the leaderboard, too. It's my understanding that the folks at the very top of the leaderboard are earning about the same / per win as folks towards the lower end of the leaderboard. I'm sure we'll get this addressed with the update coming tomorrow and/or in the next TH.

And yea, we've got some pretty cool whales to hang with :) Glad it helped!

Thanks for the thoughts and the long exercise of sharing community messages. I generally align with many of the concerns and the sentiment with the changes but often find myself believing that it needs time to sync in before making changes again. Either way, I am sure that Matt and team and gathering this type of feedback and calibrating with the data to decide on the best path forward.

Cheers NewAge. And while I understand that time may be the secret sauce we need to let this thing work out, I really struggle with the fact that so many of the lower league all-stars have completely removed themselves from the game as a direct result of this.

Either way, I'm sure we'll figure out that happy-medium, but I felt it my duty to share my thoughts and findings.

After all, we are called the People's Guild ;)

This is by far the longest post written by an individual on subject related to Splinterlands!

I have already talked about in on audio so I will hold my comments. Let us see how the “casual” players chime in

I don't deserve all the credit - a lot of that is comments directly from the community via the Feedback Form!

same here. Thanks for encouraging the discussion too AZ

I agree with AZ that I've already shared my thoughts and happy for others chime in. Thanks for taking the time to gather all the information and display it for us @bjangles !!!

Awesome post dude! Thanks for gathering all that feedback and posting all those responses. The results are about what I expected but still really interesting!

hmmm I think it still needs time. It's only been like one season or two since the change. People don't like change especially when it's negatively impacting them so I think the response was not that surprising. The change definitely did have more of an impact towards casual players but it's hard to say that they are dead. One of the issues is that there's more people with either owned maxed out cards or they are renting max out cards. We don't have enough new players or casual players to match with the casual players hence why they have a negative experience fighting all these maxed out decks. I think the system was designed so people would eventually just battle to where their deck would hit a 50% winrate and then they would have to upgrade to climb higher. I guess people are uncomfortable with that 50% winrate but I also think that would be good as it would help people push to upgrade their decks. Where they can truly shine should be the tournaments but problem with tournaments I feel is that their are people using battle helpers. I have no proof of this but it does seem sketch when seeing the lineups and winrates of certain players consistently performing.

What I think we can do in the future though is just to have each league have their own mode. Like max modern, gold modern, silver modern, bronze modern and of course the wild half as well. Then people can just choose where they want to play and of course the rewards from max modern will be more than bronze modern. It should scale based on the cost to own a deck for a certain league.

I feel this would help a lot but the only problem is we lack the playerbase to do this or I guess we could have Splinterlands nonspellbook bots to fill the match liquidity.

Let's give it a bit more time though. I still think it's a step towards the right direction just potentially needs some amendments from the team but they need more data. I don't think 1/2seasons is enough to go ahead and make another change but that's just my opinion.

You, and others that have called for the same, may be right re: time - though I do think it important to start calling attention to this stuff early. Big changes have big ramifications. And this was a huge change. Either way, we'll see. Hopefully, in a season or two's time, this data represents an immediate overreaction from the community.

Appreciate you taking the time to drop your thoughts here! Cheers, Shawn!

Yes Hopefully. Will just have to see how it goes. You're welcome!

What an awesome post, bjangles! Great job! Sorry for voting it until today, for some reason it caught my eye just now.

Reading a comment about a player that says that Splinterlands is doing nothing against bots, it made me think about something. I know for a fact that the team is working hard trying to spot the borg in our ranks, however, it seems as if they need to be more open about what are they doing. For example, from time to time in Discord we read a message from a team member and that's OK. Nevertheless, I think they need to make an official full report, weekly here on HIVE about this topic. Maybe it can consume a lot of time, but it shouldn't be long. I think that will help with the perception that team is doing nothing when clearly they are. The rewards from those reports could even help fund this effort much better. I don't know, it's just an idea!

Thank you so much for bringing this up!

!PIZZA !PGM !CTP !BBH! !HUESO

Yo Cpol!

Spot the borg in our ranks

Get'em!

Agreed, there are more than a few things that are currently happening in the background that could/should lead to a much better overall experience for us humans here. I love the idea of an (un)official weekly report - I know there are some community members that have done some exhaustive research into tracking BH/bot users and would love to see that stuff see the public eye.

Good to see ya, Cpol! Thanks for droppin in, amigo :)

Greetings from the Virtual World Community. We send you Hueso token to support your work.
Click on this banner, to be directed to the Virtual World Discord and learn more about the curation project.


Uses: 3/6
!PGM

@bjangles! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @cpol. (3/50)

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Congratulations @bjangles! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.
You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2024
Happy Birthday to the Hive Blockchain

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@cpol(3/15) tipped @bjangles

Great post and I love seeing the "trapped in Modern Bronze" from Matt Clarke and others - I "whined" about it and sure enough, it's a bitch lol

Another thing: Bots and BH's in Modern definitely need to go so when I take my L's it's to a Humie not a Necron lol

Thanks for giving it a read man! Yup, completely agree. I've completely given up on my Silver account in Modern and sent it to Wild. It's not a fun experience at all. Max cards being the ticket to fun is not sustainable and I have serious doubts it's the best way forward. Hopeful that iterations and adjustments that support the smaller league players come soon.