Silver Dollar Challenge - Earth Edition

in Splinterlands3 years ago (edited)

TitleScreen.jpg

Welcome to the first episode of my Silver Dollar Challenge! As a new player in Splinterlands I found the beginning game to be extremely rough. Like most gamers, I'm accustomed to games that start you off with lots of success and flood you with early rewards to get you hooked. Splinterlands has a very different economy than typical games, so that simply isn't the case here. It was a culture shock. I nearly stopped playing the game because it seemed so difficult/costly to make any progression.

Obviously I was wrong. The more I explored the game the more I realized that, but it took some effort on my part. So I decide to create this series to prove to new/potential players that you can progress in this game without needing to spend much money.

My goal: To progress through Silver and reach Gold using only starter cards and cards I rent from Peak Monsters with a total budget of $1 per month per splinter. That will equal a total budget of $6/month for the entire deck, and I will use this deck to try and compete in a silver tournament I'm hosting this Saturday!

First up is the Earth splinter! Here are the 9 cards I ended up renting for $1 for 30 days:

EarthChallenge.jpg

Scarred Llama Mage: 31 cents
Cornealus (level 2): 30 cents
Furious Chicken (level 3): 14 cents
Kron the Undying: 10 cents
Oaken Behemoth: 3 cents
Wood Nymph (level 5): 3 cents
Mushroom Seer: 3 cents
Brownie: 3 cents
Mylor Crowling: 3 cents

I'm hoping the Llama Mage and Kron can carry me through several battles. I've had no answer for this combo when used against me, so let's find out if it's as simple as it looks! I had plenty of left over budget, so I splurged on Cornealus and a level 3 chicken to boost my neutrals. I'll need to add cheaper neutrals later, but I'll save those for another splinter. I'm pretty happy with this group, and can't wait to see how it performs!

Be sure to check out my Youtube videos and join me on Saturday to see how my deck turns out! I'll also be opening $50 in packs and will have some giveaways (free packs!) to distribute to those who tune in. I can't wait to see you all there!

Join Splinterlands | Youtube | Discord Server | Twitter

Sort:  

Congratulations @bulldog1205! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

That's an incredible idea. I'll definitely be keeping an eye on these posts too see how effective your strategy is.

Agreed - this is an awesome idea! Will be very interested to follow

Great concept. I wonder if we will keep seeing that chicken over and over and over...

top very godd