The Hidden Dragons in Plain Sight! My Weekly Battle Challenge!

in Splinterlands3 years ago

image.png

Neglected Splinter? Or not....

I barely use the Dragon Splinter, no offence to those who have a full deck of dragon cards but I can barely afford a nice Chromatic Dragon on a whim. It's one of my most underutilised deck. However, early on when I had began playing, I realised that Dragon cards are great for the Earthquake ruleset! Most have the flying ability and pretty decent attack points. There is a hidden potential in plain sight!!
@splinterlands @steemmonsters

My beginner (Purely Dragon) deck consists of the following cards:

image.png

For the match, I fielded in these cards (including rentals):

image.png

image.png

Ruleset: 4 mana restriction with a 48 mana cap. Magic hits armour before reducing health.

Wackkkk. But LET'S GO

Summoner

Daria Dragonscale

image.png

Gotta love a level 2 rental summoner! Daria Dragonscale gives 1 extra melee damage so the first 2 tanks can whack a good chunk of health in the first few rounds. As my Dragon cards aren't strong to begin with so any additional bolstering of stats will work!

Tank

Crystal Jaguar

image.png

I really like the value for money on this bad boy so much that I levelled him up to 2. It gives an additional speed point (Total 3) so that there'll be a fighting chance! Of course I could have fielded in a Crystal Werewolf but there's no armour and it is relatively pricier. Life cards are great value packed monsters always!!

Back-up Tank

Manticore

image.png

Manticore is actually one of my first purchases! I bought him at USD 6.53 and he is now worth ~USD9.50. I really like him because that flying ability plus 3 speed is going to help deal a swift follow up attack after Crystal Jaguar starts off. Unfortunately it only has 1 damage and is costly to level up.

Ranged Attack

Fire Spitter

image.png

Doesn't this chonky boi remind you of Charizard?? I bought him together with Manticore! I really like his 4 speed coupled with flying. 2 Aim damage is wonderful, could kill off a low mana magic card. My principle is to have monster health equal to that of their mana cost.

Follow-up Range

Peacebringer

image.png

Who doesn't love a stock card! This one's from the Spellbook and it's such a valuable card for low mana battles especially when Ranged attackers can be used up front. I use Life Splinters due to it general wholesomeness- decent health and attacks!

Sneaky Boi

Dragonling Bowman

image.png
I cannot imagine how a USD3 card would pump in value overnight?? It's worth USD7 now. INSANE! I bought him as it was rare to see an aim attack monster with sneak ability, this was probably my second time using him. 4 mana for 3 health is acceptable with that sneak ability I guess. He did come in handy later on in the battle.

Rear Tank/Sneaky Boi2

Feral Spirit

image.png

He is what I'd consider as the kamikaze monster. There was a possibility that the opponent would play a Mylor summoner so he would have been gone by the first round. Needed all the surprise I could have! As such, my first attacks would either be by him or Fire Spitter, fairly good in preserving the my tank in case anything happened (LIKE THORNS >.>)

The Battle

Round 1:

image.png

image.png

Well, we do see that Feral Spirit had done his due in shaving 2 damage off Centaur but succumbed to Thorns.
It ended with us killing off Biceratops. 1 for 1.

Round 2:

image.png
This happened so fast that by the end of the 2nd round, the opponent had only Elven Mystic left. I was still running with Manticore, Fire Spitter, Peacebringer and Dragonling Bowman.
At this point I was impressed! Would have thought that they would have been clobbered.

Round 3:

image.png
Well well well, nothing much other than sweet victory, innit?

Watch it here:
https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_4ab2ed262c9e6823c716e1bef410c9c3&ref=cabalcoin

I hope you have enjoyed my commentary and analysis of the battle, do stay tuned for more! I have definitely gained a lot of insight into playing the Dragon Splinter!!

-Till next time, @cabalcoin

Sort:  

Nice work @tipu curate

Congratulations @cabalcoin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks for sharing! - @lenonmc21

Good job with your alignment and strategy, your dragon cards are valuable and powerful, keep building your deck. Your post was good.

Thank you @lenonmc21! Appreciate the encouragement