Gold Foil and Frustration

in Splinterlands2 years ago

Goldy.PNG

It’s been so long since I pulled a gold foil card from the daily focus chests that I almost forgot that they existed. Fortunately, one of my recent daily focus rewards reminded me gold foil can still be pulled even in the lower leagues.

Although I only pulled a common gold foil card (Pelacor Bandit), I was still happy because as mentioned earlier, it’s been so long.

Besides the gold foil Pelacor Mercenary, I was also able to pull a Naga Assassin (Rare) which was a nice addition. As for the DEC, I only got 48 but I didn’t mind that much as ranked battles in the modern format gives a decent amount per win.

Four of out of the 10 focus chests I’ve opened contain potions but that’s still okay as the gold foil card somewhat made up for it.

Overall, I wasn’t a bad pull.

Unfortunately, my happiness didn’t last long because the very next day, things turned around for the worse.

comparison.PNG

Not only did I not get any gold foil (or anything good for that matter), out of 8 focus chests that I opened, 6 were potions.

Can you imagine that? 75% of my loots yesterday were made out of potions, and this was despite the fact that I was playing in the silver league. If I was playing in the bronze league, I would still understand as the drop rate in that league was made like that to push the players to play in the upper league. But from the look of things, the drop rate of potions in the lower leagues was increased significantly thus potions dropped more often than cards these days.

Unfortunately, the developers of the game weren’t satisfied in messing with bronze league players, they now want to silver league players to move to the gold league.

What’s next? Push gold league players to move to the diamond league by giving trash rewards in the gold league?

Honestly, playing in the silver league isn’t worth it anymore as more often than not, my daily focus rewards consist mainly of trash.

Good rewards also exist in the lower league exist? Sure they do but they’re rare than shiny Pokémons in Pokémon games.

Play in the gold league?

I don’t have the cards and the money to compete in the higher league, unfortunately. And with the archmage bots ruining normal players’ experience, winning becomes more difficult and frustration increases.

To get those 8 focus chests, I was forced to endure constant consecutive losses that push my ECR down to the 70%.
You could probably imagine the frustration I’ve felt whenever I play the ranked battles which is why instead of moving to the gold league, I’ll do the opposite and move back to the bronze league next season.

Sure, the rewards in the bronze league is worse compared to the rewards in the silver league but winning should be much easier.
In short, I’ll exchange quality with quantity.

This might seemed evolving backwards and is against what the dev team was trying to accomplish but so what? I would rather play in the bronze league and face the lower drop rates than to deal with the frustration of playing in the silver league.

Anyway, that plan was for the next season. For now I’ll just try to endure.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

It is really tough out there. I have yet to pull a single legendary from about 750 Gold chests since the reward updates. By stats suggested I should have about 8-10 by now. The only way to beat archamge bots I've found is to match their strategies with the same cards at higher levels. Which takes the fun out of playing when your forced to repetitively play the same card combos in 8/10 battles in Bronze.

Don't get me started on bots. Ok you've fired me up. Bots are ruining the game and more and more people are turning to botting everyday, many feel they have been left with no choice but to force even more preassure on the economy. It actually needs to happen to be honest. And if your not able to survive the squeeze, to bite the bullet and join the bots farmers in insurection. The only way to stop the bot problem is to allow bots to run into the millions of accounts and drain the economy to 0 and drive people away from the game or even more into botting. Once this happens and Splinterlands market is back to bear bones, only then will something be done. It's a critical mass theory in action. The sooner we get to tipping point, the sooner it will set off a response to fix the issue once and for all.

Yeah, things have become really difficult now. Similarly, I also haven't pulled a single legendary card either since the update. Even CL card packs rarely drop nowadays and it's been so long since I got one. And about bots, I have a complicated feeling about them. Without bots, match ups would take too long but at the same time, the really complicated bots makes winning very difficult. And as you've mentioned, they drained a lot from the game economy and are driving players away. That said I'm hoping that the devs won't wait till the tipping point before they do something as I felt that it would be too late to save the game by then.

I don't think you would wait that long without bots (and remember without bots your reward per battle win would 5-10x as the DEC pool would be shared between less population (E.G without bots suddenly Splinterlands goes from 500k accounts to probably less than 100k, we seen this in the early stages when the owning of cards rewards update came in brifely before the bot farmers figured out they would just rent out every card. The rewards suddenly sky rocketed while the bot farmers spent a week setting up auto renting for their 1000s of accounts). Anyways, you'd simply be matched to the next available ranked player which is great as it would mean you could rank up faster if you beat a much higher opponent instead of grinding out 15-20 points per win providing you were playing below your max capability but the slightly longer wait for a game would pay for itself in significantly higher returns.

Yeah, I guess compared to bots farming the reward pool, a bit of waiting wouldn't hurt. Thank you for the thorough explanation, I've learned a lot from it.