Weekly Battle Challenge: Incoming Radiation!

in Splinterlands2 years ago

This week I will feature something a little different - a brawl battle. Radiated Brute is not the star of the show, but he gives a solid performance in his preferred supporting role.
Quix_Thumb.jpg


The Battle

image.png
This fray was Chaos Legion cards only, so both of us were using the Brute. As is so often the case, the battle was decided by mistakes made. In this case, my opponent chose to use Tusk the Wide as his front line tank. This was a strange choice for a Fire splinter only battle with the Equalizer rule in play. Fire splinter is not known for its magic, so the Void ability was not useful to make up for his lower damage output, and the high health of Tusk meant that I gained more than he did from the Equalizer. In addition to this, all of my units were able to deal damage each round whereas his two melee units at the back were absorbing damage but not dealing any of their own.

You can see the effect of this after just one round.
image.png
Tusk is dropping twice as fast as my front line tank.

image.png
After two more rounds my Disintegrator is still standing (barely) while both of his tanks are gone. Now my Brute can move to the front and keep up his damage output.

image.png
Another two rounds on, and my opponent's Tenyii Striker is brought to the front where he can no longer sneak attack, having failed to kill even one of my back line. He is dealing more damage now since my Disintegrator fell, but he is the only one attacking vs all five of my remaining monsters. This clearly cannot be sustained.

image.png


With his Reach ability and extra point of damage, the Radiated Brute makes a useful second row tank for the Fire splinter.


If you haven't tried playing Splinterlands, feel free to use my referral code (https://splinterlands.com?ref=cherute) to give it a try!

Conclusion