Weekly Splinterlands Info - Nov 11th 2022 Has Splinterlands killed new players' ability to earn?!?!

in Splinterlandslast year (edited)

Weekly Splinterlands Info
hr.png

Introduction

So @infidel1258 and @moookiller did a video a week ago that got my interest up which is around "newer" players and players who haven't invested a lot thinking they are being able to earn, a lot of salt over burning packs, and the reward changing having hurt bronze and silver.

While I push back on twelve a lot in this video I agree with him. There is far more rewards in bronze and silver than there ever way available. Yes for a week / 7 days there was more SPS in those league which wasn't balanced and it was changed. So if you played for those 7 days you got ridiculously high rewards that shouldn't have been there from the start. So everyone compares the changes to those rewards which is just wrong. These rewards were unbalanced to amount invest and what you are earning.

There is a lot of takes that changes to hurt bots have also hurt player again this is wrong. Has it hurt players who haven't invested anything... yes. Has it hurt people looking solely to extract... yes. But if you are looking to play and grow your account and he here for years you are getting far more rewards than ever before.

My history

I started at the end of Feb of this year (2022). I start really learning the game and didn't earning chest the first two weeks. So from a rewards stand point lets say I have 2 weeks in March. You'll also notice and I'll point it out in July I was visiting family and didn't really play for two. So lets go a head and look at my rewards for each month from March to Oct and we're almost half way through Nov so I'll share what I've earned so farm.

In March I was in bronze playing with mostly starter cards and a Uraus delegation from my boy @dbofficial125 with probably a couple other cards. I don't remember what all he delegated me but he did delegate me some when I started the game.

The rewards

All reward screen shot were taken today at the time of writing this post. Splintershare uses current market values when calculating rewards so all months will be equal in terms of what I earned and their value right now.

So for here I earned .2 for the cost of my $10 spellbook which is basically isn't a lot but it has opened up my ability to started earning. I will not be including the spellbook cost in ROI calculations only because IMO it's the base price to play the game and overall that cost is part of what keep the fee gone when doing transactions between SL and Hive.

2022 Mar

Here I believe at this point I may have put a couple hundred into cards. Either April or May I found @luke-wtp video on cards $50 and $100 cards for each splinter. I put in $500 and bought these cards as they had come down some in price and I had earned some already.

So this was a good month with a Oshanus pull and gold foil Uraus (which is when DB pulled his delegation) So I'm going to caluclate assuming the $500 dollars I put into card is active here. So while this was a high pull this was a ~1.6% ROI for one month of playing a game!!!

2022 Apr

So here I'm learning more and I believe I'm in silver consistently at this point so the number of chest I earned went from 80 for the month to 121 with a value of $1.50. So with last month's rewards I'm not up to a ~2% ROI which overall for playing a game is crazy.

2022 May

At the end of May the rank reward changes goes live. I immediately getting four time the chest I was previously getting. In one month I earn 70 more rewards than I was getting. Now with the 17.14 I'm at a ROI of 5% doubling what I was able to earn previously.

This is the rewards new players get, this is their earning potently double what it was previously

2022 June

Here I didn't really play for 2 week and I decided to try archmage and see how it did. It didn't do better than me it actually did worst but it did free up some time. Now I'm up to 6% return this better than most saving account you can get at your bank!!!!

SPS also went live in the reward in place of DEC at the end of July. It was about a week before SPS was distributed by league.

2022 July

Here I tried Splintermate for a couple days which I stopped because again it wasn't doing better than me and in fact it was doing worst and I wanted the SPS rewards. Now we've earn 9.9% ROI almost a 10th of the investment back and overall each month how much of a ROI I am getting keeps going up.

With the rank rewards there was also a multiplier to potions in the chest. I have 100 CL packs I purchased sitting because I don't have the potions to open them. I started firstly playing in silver with going into gold end of season but near the end of the month here I rented the power to play in gold for the last couple days of the season.

2022 Aug

This is the first month where I started renting and pushing into gold as soon as I can. I am doing this with the cards I have the original $500 investment which over all is mostly a max silver level deck in water and everything else around bronze level. I believe at this point I did put $100 - 150 more into the game most of which went to leveling Keyla, Obsidian and Thaddus to level 4 and leveling a few of those water cards. So because of the addition money I have put in we're down to 10% ROI for the cumulative rewards of $66.45 on $650.

This is where people talk about as you climb in leagues the ROI get worst for what you have to invest. I ended up putting in another $150 to basically level 3 summoners one level with a handful of cards as lot of the expensive water cards I have are still 1 BCX.

Here I did by 181 RW packs which is a value of around $750 just in SPS. I was able to open a few and this is why I had been pushing into gold for potions. I ended up opening 91 so for next month I'll add $455 to my ROI. Again overall my cost is going up greatly with consistent rewards put as you try and push higher you get less ROI. This is why the SPS distribution was push towards the higher level leagues. There has to be a ROI and incentive for them to push up to that level.

2022 Sept

Now we are consistently playing in gold it usually takes me 2 - 3 days to get out of silver and stay out it and in gold 3. No my ROI has dropped to 7% though I use my RW cards a lot and while not needed they have and will continue to help me win games. Though you can argue you don't need to them to have keep the same level of earning and I agree though my plan is to hopefully max CL and RW out for gold at some point and these cards will help. Who knows I may not and it will be Rebellion before I have my first set maxed for the level I am playing out.

Without the RW cost the ROI is 13%.

2022 Oct

We are still in the process of this month and it's mostly here to show what I've earned so far. The current season will end in 3 days and we'll get a 2nd EOS before Nov ends so I expect about the same amount of 300 + chest for EOS so here hoping for some good pulls!!!

2022 Nov

I'd say it's easy to earn $15 - $20 a month in rewards playing in Silver and going to gold EOS for gold level chest for EOS on the $500 investment I did. At $15 a month for $500 that is a ROI 36% which is very good. If you get lucky with pulls and are a good player to earn more chest you can easily end up with 48% ROI. All the while if you re-invest that money into cards your account will keep growing and eventually you will progress the leagues. Which opens you to more cost but the potential for more rewards. Now all this is just chest value it's not counting SPS from wins, tournaments if you are playing, LPs rewards, staked SPS rewards, etc. I average 5 SPS a day which for a month is another $6 a month or an additional 1% ROI on top of the chest.

Overall 37% - 49% ROI just from chest is a crazy investment it's more than just staking SPS return and this for playing the game. We are getting SPS in brawls now also which just additional income.

One big mistake I think I've been doing to trying to re-invest in the game in licenses, LP, etc instead of in cards. I have 2 licenses, 3 Runi, and enough set aside to hopefully get 2 Lux Vegas. But I haven't been doing anything to buy cards unless I bring in specific money to buy them. If I'm lucky enough to grab a Lux Vega I plan to start leveling 2 splinters so I can hopefully play with a better win rate in gold so I can earn more. With my silver level water deck and bronze level for everything else I can get around a 50% rate which has dropped to 45 - 50% as people rent cards. Overall renting IMO stagnates your account especially for an account like mine where I can already play in the league I want the win rate isn't going to change enough for added value. Because I have to take what I am earning subtract what I usually earn then subtract my rentals. Which at best would be a break even. Mostly because I don't play in tournaments right now as all my previously staked SPS went for my second license and RW packs.

Closing

The amount bronze and silver level players can earn has overall double just with the release of updated rank rewards system, more so with getting SPS in the rewards for players planning on being here long term. Keep with the grind and it will eventually rewards you!!!

hr.png

Signing off

Come join the Splinterlands community.

Sort:  

Congratulations @cimmeron! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

great post!!~

Thanks, I was hoping you or twelves would see it. I did also post it on his Youtube video that I referenced.

il let him know. we will for sure talk about it

This post has been given a 10.0% UpVote by the SplinterBoost Community Curation Bot.
image.png
Delegate HP | Join Discord