Quest Potion 800% Inflation Decision?!

in Splinterlands3 years ago (edited)

Quest Potions went from $0.75 to $6.00 Overnight!

Post Pic 2.JPG

What Is Going On Here! $60 For 10 Quest Potions?

This is outrageous!

post pic.JPG

I just logged in today, like I do every day about this time, and proceeded to add $7.50 worth of tokens to my account. Every 10 days or so I like to add more quest potions to my account to take advantage of the 5 extra chests you receive. Well, after I added the tokens to my account, I went to the shop to buy 10 like I usually do, but the "Pay with Tokens" option was gone.

After doing a little research to see what was going on, I realized that Splinterlands made an executive decision to stop allowing token purchases for these potions. WHAAAAA?! I added the money from my Paypal account to my Tokens account, and now I have all these tokens I really have no use for. The absolute rediculous part is the 800% mark up. So now they want to charge $6.00 for each potion instead of $0.75. That's a little crazy Splinterlands... Right when I was really starting to enjoy the game and investment opportunity, you go and throw a curve ball like this that is the highest inflation rate I've ever heard of in my life overnight. You could have at least warned everyone with an in-game message or something. I would have never blown $7.50 for absolutely nothing, that's for sure. I have thousands of dollars tied up in in liquidity pools to promote Splinterlands, DEC, SPT, SPS and Hive. I have a very strong feeling I should cash out EVERYTHING now. Any business that would jack up prices like that overnight seems extremely fishy and questionable. Who's to say they wont start charging $10 worth of DEC just to log into the game? This was not a community voted change that they implemented as far as I can tell, and everything else about Splinterlands seemed to be pretty respective to the opinions of the community. Help me make them aware that it is NOT okay to charge an 800% mark up on prices overnight. Especially without even informing anyone through emails or in-game messages that this was going to take place. I definitely would have bought a couple hundred quest potions prior. I'm probably going to cash out everything I've invested in Splinterlands if they don't change this. Since this happened, I have a hard time trusting a business that can ethically and consciously do that to its players/customers/investors. I really love Splinterlands though. I've spent so much time money and effort in it. I'm truly disappopinted in this decision they made. Splinterlands makes plenty of money already, so taking away the token option for chests is not necessary in my opinion. People are still spending plenty of DEC buying cards and other game assets. I don't see how DEC would be dramatically affected in the market by allowing tokens for purchasing quest potions. Come on Splinterlands... Bring back the Token Pay Option so you don't lose people that are truly invested in the game that aren't rich! Having to spend $6 now is a luxury instead of $0.75 to treat yourself. This shouldn't become a game for the rich! Card prices and packs are already getting so high that it is really hard for people to build decks that don't have a huge income and want to be a part of the Splinterlands blockchain game platform. The quest potions are the ONLY thing that enhances your ability to progress your assets without spending hundreds of dollars on building decks at these current market values.

If Everyone Voices There Opinion, Splinterlands Might Bring Back The Tokens For Quests. Please Leave A Comment Below and Up-Vote This Post. If We Get Enough People That Want This Changed, Maybe We Can Make A Difference!

Sort:  

Congratulations @cloudnyne! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the Hive Power Up Month - Let's grow every day!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation