Playing With Yodin Zaku For The First Time

in Splinterlands3 years ago

A few days ago, I was fortunate enough to uncover a Yodin Zaku while opening am Untamed Pack with with all potions enabled!

It came as a bit of a surprise, considering it's just my first few days as a player.

screenshot-splinterlands.com-2021.04.05-17_46_33.png

The Yodin Zaku summoner is quite a valuable card.
One that is often frustrating for it's opponents.
And I can understand why…

It gave me quite an advantage :)

Match Results

Overall, I Was able to use Yodin Zaku in seven matches over a two day period.
6 wins, 1 loss!

It helped greatly when one of the days' quests was with the Fire Splinter.
I was able to complete it after just a handful of matches

Not too shabby for someone just getting used to how everything works. :)

Strategy

My overall strategy was simple, depending on game rules and mana cap:

  1. Strike first with speed.
  2. Always have at least one opportunity, sneak, and snipe monster.

One of the best examples can be found here: (Battle Link).

I did forget the reverse speed rule set in one match (Battle Link), but won anyways in one of the most lopsided matches.

In the only loss (Battle Link), I think I spent too much mana on Yodin Zaku and spread myself too thin. All it took was a heavy tank and a single ranger with good health to beat me.

screenshot-splinterlands.com-2021.04.05-17_53_37.png

Keep in mind, I haven't faced any Silver or higher opponents yet, so these type of results will probably change.
Any advice for future battles is always appreciated...

Defense

Sadly, I don't have any real defense strategy against Yodin Zaku, since I haven't face the card in battle yet.

I'm sure that will change quickly enough… :)

As a more experienced player...would you have any advice, or words of wisdom?
It would be great to know more.

I was able to find a couple of great videos from @cryptofiloz on his Odysee channel here: (Video 1), (Video 2).

Any other links to articles or videos in the comments about defending against Yodin Zaku would be fantastic!

Thank you to the community for all the fun and support :)

Have an awesome day,
Michael
aka: Cryptoninjaz

Sort:  

Personally I find that I use Yodin with Living Lava or another tank with reduced damage. So I can lost if they are magic based. I personally like to use as many snipe or opportunity cards because it can hit 3 targets at once.

Congratulations @cryptoninjaz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day

Looking forward to more!
Thanks

hi man! thanks for use my Exode ref, send you promised pack.