Throwing the Potions on Chaos Legion Packs

in Splinterlands2 years ago

Trying to maximize my returns on cards.

Currently I am earning around 24 Splintershards (SPS) each day. That is enough for me to convert into 5,000 CREDITS, with some change left over. I am also earning 1 voucher per day, which takes 4,000 CREDITS to purchase. That leaves 1,000 CREDITS that I have been using to purchase 5 Alchemy and 5 Legendary potions.


alchpotion.png


legendarypotion.png

I had won many Legendary potions over the seasons without any packs to use them on. So, that allowed me to already get some Legendary cards.

Getting a lucky draw in Splinterlands

Since that post, I have picked up a few more Legendary and Epic cards. According to the text on the Chaos Legion pack purchase page, each pack is supposed to contain at least one Rare or higher card. So, if you get one Rare in a pack, that's nothing to write home about. I have a total of 24 Rare, 7 Epic, and 5 Legendary cards now. Which didn't change much with my plan.

My Plan

I purchased enough potions to open 5 packs. I was sitting on 15 packs. Each time you open a pack, it takes 5 potions towards a Legendary or Gold Foil reward. So, even though I have been purchasing enough potions for each pack I have been earning over the last week or so, I wanted to open 5 packs and see how my luck went. This isn't scientific or anything, but I just wanted to see how well I did with those packs. I'm not a Whale, so I am not going to have 100s of packs to open, but I bet they throw on potions for each of their packs as well.

Here is the results in the order I opened them.

Pack 1


splinterlands_lg1.png

Pack 2


splinterlands_lg2.png

Pack 3


splinterlands_lg3.png

Pack 4


splinterlands_lg4.png

Pack 5


splinterlands_lg5.png

As you can see, I got 1 Legendary and 2 Gold Foil Rare cards. Not exactly the best return on Legendary rewards. I already had that Legendary card. Getting 2 Gold Foil cards in one pack makes me wonder if I would have gotten a Gold Foil in that pack regardless of the potions. Both Gold Foil cards are worth under $15, which still is more than enough to pay for the potions that I purchased to open the 5 packs, if I sell the cards now.

I will continue to purchase potions and use them on the packs until the drop is done. Why not? It really isn't costing me anything, because I am getting the SPS for "free" anyway.


DeanLogicForkSing-sm.png

Let the positive energy sing!

More Power to the Minnows!!


Now Playing

Rising Star | dCity | Splinterlands | dCrops

Sort:  

You are a genius. Thanks for all your awesome tips over the years…. On Steemit, Splinterlands and everywhere else. I got my Blurt up to 1 Million ($40,000 usd) with all your advice.

I’d like to pay you back some day.

I can give you lots of Blurt over there … https://blurt.blog/@deanlogic

You can trade your Blurt for Bitcoin, Ethereum, Steem, Dtube, Hive, RVN on Ionomy.com

Ionomy: https://exchange.ionomy.com/en/aff/f7862c1aeae8e0399176a908fcecbcfe

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Dear @deanlogic,

Do you mind supporting the HiveBuzz proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work next year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

We wish you a Happy New Year!