Share your battle Weekly Challenge | Time Mage

in Splinterlands2 years ago

It's the weekly challenge again!

 "image.png"
 "image.png"

Below are some card details quoted.

THEME: TIME MAGE
Edition: CHAOS LEGION
Rarity: RARE
Element: LIFE
Attack: MAGIC
Abilities: Slow

"Time Mages are members of the Order of the Silver Shield and close associates of the Wizards' Council. They are trusted to peer through the fabric of time and reality to foretell the future or manipulate the present by slowing the flow of time. They can also speed up the aging process of armor, causing it to rust prematurely.

However, with such power also comes great risk. The future is ever-changing, and the ripples of time can affect everyone. Time Mages must undergo strict training to ensure they don't abuse their power and use it only for the most dire of circumstances."

^ taken from lore

I don't have this card but it's free to use so I was able to use it during my battle.

 "image.png"
Ok let's start. I will talk about my lineup first. The table shows my lineup according to the position in the battle. (This time I'm adding the card in the table, wonder if it shows nicely?)

Card Mana Reason/thoughts Card Pic
Mother Khala 4 Need the +health instead of the +range since I'm not planning to use range cards as they are expensive
Gargoya Scrapper 1 Cheap mana so use it for the frontal card as distraction and waste the opponent's attack
Chaos Agent 1 Also another cheap mana card and using it in case the opponent use a snipe card
Celestial Harpy 2 Has flying and opportunity ability which makes it useful to kill monster with 1 health. Also trying to use flying ability to dodge attacks if possible.
Truthspeaker 3 Adding some armor for protection from attacks.
Stitch Leech 3 Attack the opponent's back card.
Time Mage 4 Since it has a high speed of 4, putting it at the back in case the opponent has a sneak ability, maybe there's a chance of evading the attack. The health is also quite high compared to the other monsters in my deck.

Thoughts about time mage

I usually try to use it whenever I play health splinter because of it's slow ability and high speed. It is especially useful when the opponent does not have the void ability like unicorn mustang's. Its mana is also quite average and helps when the mana requirement is above 15.

ps. It's quite hard to edit this divider because of the 'magical' background the time mage has. Sooo it kind of looks pretty weird huh.
time.png

Battle

image.png

The battle mana cap was 17 with the Standard ruleset.

We both chose different splinters and the opponent had 4 cards while I had 6.

Round 1

River nymph cleansed their frontal card so the speed went back to the original even though time mage had the slow ability. The opponent's high armor proved to be difficult to deal with because I only had 1 magic which takes 4 rounds to get rid of the health. My other cards were also attacking their other cards instead of the frontal card. And my frontal attack got KO'ed too. Not surprised since they had 2 magic.

image.png

Round 2

My chaos agent also got KO'ed in this round. Really just the magic doing their work. 2 health got reduced by the opponent's 2 magic. Now that celestial harpy got to the front row, I'm wondering if I made the right choice by putting it before truthspeaker?

image.png

Round 3

Celestial Harpy got KO'ed here and maybe I really should have put my truthspeaker before celestial harpy. Thankfully, their range card got KO'ed in time which resulted in lesser damage that could have occurred to my cards.

image.png

Round 4

It doesn't matter that truthspeaker got KO'ed now since the armor has no effect on magic. Although stitch leech missed the attack on ice pixie, it has a few health before it gets KO'ed by magic so it is still helping time mage do her work 👍

image.png

Round 5

The job of stitch leech is already completed since time mage can KO the opponent as it has enough health to.
image.png

Round 6

Though stitch leech missed the attack, it does not matter anymore.
image.png

Round 7

Here we are, almost destroying the opponent.
image.png

Round 8

And the result of the match, time mage is the last card standing, with full health.
image.png

Did my strategy work?

My strategy worked because it became a match of who can be the last card standing as the opponent's magic destroyed my cards quickly but my cards tried to get rid of them too. My cards could last till the end partly because of the slow ability of time mage and had enough health to last.

Do I like the Time Mage?

Definitely, since it has the slow ability which helps me increase the miss attack of my cards from the opponent. Its magic ability and high speed also proves to be very useful in situations when the opponent has armor or it is trying to attack time mage.

Copyright:
Material is owned and open-sourced by Splinterlands.io

time.png

Click here to watch the battle!

Do join the game if you are interested :)

Sort:  

!PIZZA for my #metafrens

!PIZZA for metafrens!

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!
@deathstarer7! The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
relf87 tipped deathstarer7 (x1)
koodies tipped deathstarer7 (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121

Congratulations @deathstarer7! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from April day 21
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!