For Guild & Glory: April 11 & 16 Personal Brawl Report

in Splinterlands2 years ago

4.16.22 Brawl Canva.png

Overview

Welcome back to my followers and @Splinterlands fans for the next installment of my personal brawl report series, "For Guild and Glory." We've got a few brawls to catch up on from April 11 and 16, so let's jump right into the action.

The perennial Top 3 guild and Tier 2 brawl competitor, @shield-of-glory, dominated its April 11 brawl for a 1st place finish, good for 77 crowns and 4813 merits. However, this past brawl that finished April 16 did not go so well, as SoG sputtered into 4th place, earning 33 crowns and 2063 merits. What a difference five days make.

SoG Top 5 4.11&16.22.png

Back in Tier 1, The Gold Syndicate, part of @the420syndicate family of guilds, placed 3rd for the April 11 brawl and 4th for the April 16 brawl. The 3rd place performance earned 20 crowns and 923 merits, while 4th place only earned 11 crowns and 508 merits.

Synd Top 5 4.11&16.22.png

Personal Record

Once again, both of my accounts were on Gold Foil duty. @ducecrypto battled in the Tier 2, Bronze League, Modern Gold Foil Fray 14, while @shaelien contested the Tier 1, Bronze League, Wild Gold Foil Fray 11. I was able to finish with a positive record in all four frays over the past week. Read on for more specific battle details and replay links.

DuceCrypto Battles

For the brawl starting April 11, renting was tricky since the brawl was set to end right around the end of the season. However, my guildmate @imperij4427 generously delegated me a slew of summoners, so I only snagged a pair of influential neutral cards, Chain Golem and War Chaang.

For the brawl starting April 16, I was again lucky to receive delegations for summoners like Kitty and Yodin, but I supplemented that with Scarred Llama Mage, Kron, Lorna, Mylor, and War Chaang. It really helps when brawl combat doesn't fall at the end of a season.

4.16.22 Duce Rental.png

My record with DuceCrypto battling for Shield of Glory in Tier 2 was 2-1 for the April 11 brawl and 3-2 for the April 16 brawl.

4.11&16.22 Duce Battles.png

April 11, Battle 1 vs @whistletea --> Replay

April 11, Battle 2 vs @eyenn --> Replay

April 11, Battle 3 vs @change2improve --> Replay

The battle 2 and 3 wins were pretty ho-hum, but the loss to Whistletea was quite noteworthy. We both started very similar lineups in the 60cc, back to basics, little league matchup, but their Gold Foil Gladius card, Whistling Damon, really turned the tide in my opponent's favor. The decision to choose Drake instead of Brood was also a difference maker.

April 16, Battle 1 vs @athunderstruck --> Replay

April 16, Battle 2 vs @bragurr --> Replay

April 16, Battle 3 vs @goldmonsters --> Replay

April 16, Battle 4 vs @michiel87 --> Replay

April 16, Battle 5 vs @change2improve --> Replay

I was able to win the important battle 2 against the Peakmonsters [Premiere] member, since their guild jumped out to an early lead. We both chose the death splinter, but my decision to pick Brood versus his Owster made the difference. I only had one magic monster, while he played two, and my two opportunity monsters got in for key attacks.

Another interesting matchup was battle 1 against the player from Immortal Gods 4. In a mid-mana battle I tried to force a 6-monster Yodin lineup, but my opponent countered with a speedy 4-monster Obsidian lineup and took me down with a Regal Peryton that was too tough to hit.

All in all, I was pretty happy with at least a 60% win percentage in both brawls, but I really would have liked to win battle 4 for the 4-1 in the most recent one.

Shaelien Battles

Playing primarily with delegations from my main account, as well as leveled-up Chaos Legion rewards cards, Shaelien also faired well over the two brawls. My record on my alt account was 3-2 on April 11 and 4-1 on April 16.

4.11&16.22 Shae Battles.png

April 11, Battle 1 vs @evomaster --> Replay

April 11, Battle 2 vs @ilikeipa --> Replay

April 11, Battle 3 vs @xrelax --> Replay

April 11, Battle 4 vs @zyllarx --> Replay

April 11, Battle 5 vs @autobotvu --> Replay

The Gold Foil Gladius Whistling Damon was again a thorn in my side, putting in work in my first loss in battle 1. I was able to beat my opponent, who clearly likes drinking IPAs, in battle 2, using the combo of River Hellondale resurrecting a Cruel Sethropod to take advantage of his magic-free lineup. My other loss in battle 4 was a matter of getting outgunned in a 60cc matchup when their Mylor and superior monsters destroyed my forces.

April 16, Battle 1 vs @horea39 --> Replay

April 16, Battle 2 vs @dansao --> Replay

April 16, Battle 3 vs @eksis1234 --> FLED

April 16, Battle 4 vs @tutubingkarayom --> Replay

April 16, Battle 5 vs @samsquanch22 --> Replay

Yodin was instrumental in dealing me my only loss, which was battle 2. The other interesting matchup was battle 4, a 40cc opportunity ruleset pitting their Obsidian magic-heavy lineup against my Alric magic-light lineup. Ultimately, I was able to clear their taunt monster before they could clear mine and then decimate their backline.

New Brawl Preview

It promises to be another competitive brawl in Tier 2 for Shield of Glory, as we are matched up against two other Top 20 guilds: 6th-ranked Legendary Dragons and 16th-ranked The Alliance.

For The Gold Syndicate, ranked 197th overall, we come in as the 4th-highest rated guild in our brawl trailing: Blazar Force (89th), Immortal Gods 3 (129th), and Drunken Dwarfs (151st).

Thanks for following me on my brawl adventures. I'm always up for questions or advice, so if there's something you'd like to ask or a suggestion you'd like to make, I look forward to them in the comment section below. Best of luck to you in your next brawl!

Sort:  

ahaha congrats! you def got me on that battle

Yet another fine example of how to chronicle your tales of battle Keep up the solid work bud. I love every single piece of content you put out.

Good ....good......, you are smart


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.