Splinterlands Battle Mage Secrets Weekly Challenge - Counterspell Ruleset

in Splinterlandslast year

image.png

Winning a Counterspell Ruleset battle

RULESET: Counterspell

Description: All monsters receive the Magic Reflect ability at the start of the battle. Enemy monsters that attack with magic receive damage back.

Damage returned is equal to the damage of the attacker divided by 2, rounded up.

Magic monsters with the Reflection Shield ability do not take damage from reflected magic attacks.

The Amplify ability increases damage.

The Strategy

image.png

It took time before I was able to get a battle with the Counterspell ruleset. I've used up more than half of battle energy. I'm also coming off from a long day of work so I was not at my optimum mental state when I got into this battle.

I didn't bother too much with the other ruleset - Tis But Scratches - and just focused on how I'll be able to take advantage of the Counterspell Ruleset.

The Summoner

I always lean towards the Earth element whenever it's active, and that was the case for this battle. Since earth splinters are known for its magic monsters and counterspell does magic damage back, I opted to use a summoner that will counter the counterspell and Immortalis was the summoner for that.

1st Slot - Martyr Fungus Flinger


To get familiar with the martyr ability, I try to use monsters with martyr ability to perk up other monsters in my lineup. This battle was no exception.



2nd Slot - Self Heal Flesh Golemn


Flesh Golem at level 3 has the heal ability. Combine this with martyr will be a very strong monster when it moves to tank position.



3rd Slot - Silence Monster Mushroom Seer


One of my favorite earth monsters because of its Silence ability. For mid-mana battles with the earth element active, mushroom seer always gets a slot in my lineup.



4th Slot - Protect Monster Queen Mycelia


One of my favorite legendary monsters because of its protect ability which give my other monsters +2 Armor if in case opponent goes with a range or melee lineup. At level 2, it has the amplify ability which I'll talk more about later.



5th Slot - Weaken Range Monster Swamp Thing


At this point, I was only left with 4 mana to choose for the next remaining monsters. I had to choose whether to use a monster that costs 4 mana or two monsters that costs 2 mana each. I chose to go with the latter since I had a martyr at tank. Choosing a healer would mean the delaying the effect of Fungus Flinger's martyr ability.



6th Slot - Scattershot Monster Acid Shooter


One of my favorite earth monsters as well because of its low mana cost and scattershot ability.

This completed my lineup.



The Battle

image.png

Looking at the initial lineup, it looked like an equal match with the opponent using all gold cards. One thing I didn't notice was the opponent's Queen Mycelia having amplify ability. I was expecting that my magic monsters will not receive any counterspell magic damage, but that wasn't the case for this battle.

After buffs applied:

image.png

End of Round 1

image.png

As planned, opponent was able to take down Fungus Flinger at tank. This boosted all stats of Flesh Golem's by +1. Having Swamp Thing's weaken ability in combination with Immortalis -1 health did prove useful in this battle because counterspell from Fungus Flinger took out the opponent's healer at 2nd position.

While I was watching this round, I was surprised that my magic monsters Mushroom Seer and Queen Mycelia received counterspell damage. Again, this was due to the opponent's Queen Mycelia's amplify ability.

Let's see how Round 2 goes.

End of Round 2

image.png

The opponent choosing magic monsters did prove to lead to it's defeat quicker than expected. My monsters' turn wasn't still over when Djinn Bijka was the only monster left in my opponent's lineup.

image.png

Mushroom Seer dealt the last blow which resulted to the win. I think this was one of my quickest battles. Usually, my battles lasted until Round 5.

Battle Result

We get a nice +17 boost to ranking and 0.353 SPS to our SPS HODL stash!

image.png

Sort:  

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord


Do you know you can win a Chaos Legion pack and many other things just by following some simple steps ?? Check out our Latest Daily Showcase and Participate our latest Giveaway. Thanks

SPLBDVoter.gif

DELEGATE HIVE POWER TO BDVOTER & EARN HIVE DAILY.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL & CHECKOUT OUR HIVE BLOG & TWITTER PAGE FOR DAILY CURATION REPORT

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121