Tournament turmoil: 2nd place Silvershield Knights, Silver league, Modern

in Splinterlands2 years ago

Ladies and gentlemen,

welcome to my blog series "Tournament turmoil", where I report about my experiences in the Splinterlands tournaments. These articles will show you gameplay and renting strategies, aswell as general advices to up your performance in this fun playmode, including economical talk. Just give it a shot and share your opinion in the comment section below.

Tournament Turmoil 2nd place Silvershield Knights Modern.jpg

Those "Silvershield Knights are recruiting"-tournaments are my favorite ones, as they have nice gameplay with silver caps, okay costs to rent and an good entry fee-payout-ratio. The tournament from 22nd to 23rd March was held in the modern format. Allowed cards were from Chaos Legion, Untamed and Dice. Sadly reward cards aren´t allowed yet in those modern tournaments. Missing my Pelacor Bandit and Uraeus. Before we talk about my gameplay and renting strategy, lets check out the results:


So. damn. close! Only eight points of tiebreakers behind the great Ueyuey, a rank 1 player with an insanely high winrate. Never placed that high before. But all those rented high powered cards from Untamed and Dice (I own only Chaos Legion and Reward), some good lineups and a bit of luck took me all the way to the second place.

Divider Silver.png

Rental strategy

You seriously can´t aim for the best places, without access to Untamed and Dice in this game, no matter Wild or Modern, so I rented quite heavy for this one. Good for me: There were other tournaments aswell during this time window, so the rental cost was split across four tournaments and some ladder grinding for fun. Here are the cards I rented for the tournament:

Rentals fire.JPG

Rentals water.JPG

Rentals earth.JPG

Rentals life.JPG

Rentals dragon.JPG

Rentals neutral.JPG

In death it was only a single card: Owster Rotwell, who gives all your creatures Magic Reflect. Paid a bit over 2.000 DEC for those cards, as I aimed for gold level cards (for the other tournaments). As you can see on the results, it worked out just fine.

Divider Neutral.png

Gameplay strategy

As you already saw in the screenshot, I played 19:2, which is pretty awesome. Lets break down the archetypes, I´d chosen:

5 x Mylor Goodstuff
4 x Kitty / Life Earthquake
2 x Lorna Little League / Low Mana
2 x Yodin Zaku doing Yodinstuff
1 x Kitty Opportunity
1 x Owster Rise of the Commons
1 x Owster Back to Basics
1 x Thaddius Brood Little League

On top of these 17 games I had a whopping four byes from fleeing opponents on day one. As I said, my great showing resulted from a bit of luck aswell. In retrospective I see quite a lot of potential improvements. Some thoughts following:

  • Especially that Thaddius Brood game makes me quite mad, as it was one loss, that was definitely my fault. Instead of Thaddius I should have played Owster, aswell as including Riftwing. Stupid game that cost me rank one. But, we all should learn from our mistakes and just make it better the next time.

  • That Owster Back to Basics game was so thrilling. At the time my opponent locked in his team, the tournament was nearly over and I sitted on rank two. He finished day one with a clean sweep of 11:0, so I was pretty nervous. I bested him and progressed to rank one temporarly, until Ueyuey got me on tiebreakers in the last half hour of a two day tournament.

My MVPs in the tournament have been Mylor Crowling, Queen Mycelia and Byzantine Kitty.

Divider Silver.png

That´s all for today. Hope, you liked the content. If so, I would be happy about each upvote and comment. They help me, to produce more and better content in the future. Thank you in advance and good luck for all your games. See you again! 😉

Divider Neutral.png

You haven´t played this awesome game yet, but are interested? Give it a shot. If you register through my link, I can help you at the beginning. Just message me here or on discord @Eledain#2058.

Play Splinterlands now!

Divider Silver.png

Credits to @nane-qts for those beautiful dividers and @kyo-gaming for those awesome silhouette images of the summoners.

#Perpetuals
#Splinterlands
#Gaming
#P2E

Sort:  

Congrats to the 2nd place. Well done! But 2k dec for renting is sick 😂

!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM tokens to @vasupi, @eledain

remaining commands 3

Buy and stake 10 PGM token to send 0.1 PGM per day,
100 PGM token to send 0.1 PGM three times per day
500 to send and receive 0.1 PGM five times per day
1000 to send and receive 0.1 PGM ten times per day

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

Create a HIVE account with PGM from our discord server, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444

Thank you! Was worth it. :-)

Congratulations @eledain! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Congratulations @eledain! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The fourth edition of Hive Power Up Month started today. Don't miss it!
Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!