DIEMONSHARK - An Underwater Demon

in Splinterlands2 years ago

DIEMONSHARK.png

Water.png

DIEMONSHARK

It seems that every new post that I write I say "Long time no see!", but my life has been pretty hectic lately and I haven't had much time to write or even play! Right now I'm working on my thesis and it's taken most of my free time. I expect to be more active in a few weeks. However, I wanted to take one day to write this post, and I hope you enjoy it.

Today, I'll be writing about the Diemonshark, one of my favorite tanks introduced in the Chaos Legion set. This scary monster is a Rare Water card, and not only its looks are scary, it's even scarier in battle, and I'll show you why!



Lore

Water.png

Diemonsharks travel alone throughout the stars searching for prey and territory. They are fearsome beasts with lightning-fast reflexes. Diemonsharks are extremely territorial and attack any creature that encroaches on their land. The Chaos Legion trains them as transports for equipment. Since they can travel by air, ground, or sea, they are ideally suited for the task.



Stats

Water.png

At level 1, it has 2 melee, 4 speed, 6 armor, and 7 health. This makes it an incredibly tank. Not only it has a lot of armor and health, it also has great speed, which allow it to dodge attacks. It also has Trample, which allows it to attack again after defeating an enemy with its first attack. I have to say that this skill is quite hard to use effectively, since you won't know when it'll proc. However, when it does, you're in for a treat.

image.png

At max level it also has Enrage, being faster and stronger when not at full health, and Retaliate, having a chance of counter attacking, after taking Melee damage. While the first ability allows it to dodge more attacks, when hit, it has a chance to attack back, which is huge, especially combined with its increased Attack stat.

Overall, as its name suggests, this card is a Demon in battle.

Water.png

Battle

Here I'll show you a battle using the Diemonshark, and a strategy that can be useful. I'll describe it as best as I can, but nothing beats the feeling of actually watching the battle, so in this link you'll be able to watch the battle yourself.



Ruleset

Water.png

image.png

  • Fog of War: Monsters lose the Sneak and Snipe abilities.
  • Rise of the Commons: Only common and rare monsters may be used.
  • Allowed Splitners: Fire, Water, Earth, Death and Dragon.


Team

Water.png

This time, since I could only play common and rare monsters, I went for a Water team, since that's my favorite deck, and I have some great cards there. The fog of war wasn't a concern for me during this battle.

CardDescription
KELYA FRNDUL

She gives +1 armor and +1 speed, which makes her better than Bortus most of the time. In this game speed is very important, and she allows my monsters to attack and weaken the enemy before they can attack. She also protects my weaker monsters against Opportunity attacks, thanks to the +1 armor.
DIEMONSHARK

If the Diemonshark had great armor and speed, when combined with Kelya, it becomes even greater. 5 speed for a level 1 is incredible, and even more so for a physical tank that can dodge several attacks.
FLYING SQUID

Since I can't use Sneak monsters, and I like to focus on melee for my water team, I had to use other abilities to allow my melee monsters in the backline to attack. That's where the Squid's Reach comes in. This allows it to attack from the second position, helping weakening the enemy tank.
DEMENTED SHARK

While it can't attack from the backline, the Demented Shark is a great support card, thanks to Inspire, which gives +1 Melee Attack to every allied monster. This helps both the Diemonshark, the Squid, and the next monster in my lineup.
DEEPLURKER

I feel like I say this for every card, but I think this is my favorite Water CL monster. With Opportunity, it targets the enemy monster with the least health, and thanks to its massive 4 attack (thanks to Demented Shark) it'll most likely kill said monster in one bite.

While it's a bit slow, thanks to Kelya, it has a respectable 3 speed, so it shouldn't miss much.
CAPTAIN'S GHOST

To spice things up, I decided to go for a Magic monster as well, in case the enemy decided to debuff my melee monsters, or used a tank with Shield. This card is a great rare monster, with 2 magic, and 7 health at level 1. Great for a magic monster which ususally have low health.
KULU SWIMHUNTER

Last, but not least, the Kulu Swimhunter. While it's not a must have card, for its low mana cost, I find it really useful thanks to its 2 ranged attakc, and I've seen myself playing it a lot. I only picked it because I had 4 mana left, but I'm not disappointed in its performance this battle.


ROUND 1

Water.png

image.png

  • Diemonshark defeats the Radiated Scorcher, thanks to the Demented Shark's buff, and its trample ability activates, attacking the Living Lava as well, removing its armor. (First Proc)
  • The Deeplurker defeats the Serpentine Spy before it's even able to attack.
  • The rest of my team attack the Living Lava, leaving it with only 2 health.
  • The rest of the enemy team attack my Diemonshark, but thanks to its armor, it still hasn't taken any damage.


ROUND 2

Water.png

image.png

  • The Diemonshark attacks and defeats the weakened Living Lava, allowing it to attack once again. (Second Proc)
  • The Flying Squid and the Swimhunter defeat the Tenyii Striker, leaving the enemy with only 2 monsters left, against my 6.


ROUND 3

Water.png

image.png

  • The Spark Pixies attack the Diemonshark, but sadly that's the last attack it will make.
  • The Diemonshark attacks and defeat the Fire Elemental, which means Trample will activate once again, and this time it also manages to defeat the Pixies, winning me the battle. (Third Proc)

Water.png

Final Thoughts

Water.png

  • Diemonshark managed to Defeat 4/6 enemy monsters. That's just insane and shows how powerful it is. However, as I said, proccing Trample is hard and situational, and I wouldn't rely on it as a strategy. It's just a nice bonus.
  • I also have to give credit to the Demented Shark, which buffed the Demented Shark, and other melee monsters. If it hadn't been for him, I'm certain Trample wouldn't have activated as much, and I could have possibly lost the battle.
  • Kelya is also a great summoner. Besides from allowing my monsters to dodge, she also makes their physical attacks more accurate.


If you want to be part of the incredible community of Splinterlands, and earn money while playing a really fun game, click here!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! - @marianaemilia

You made a good description of the battle and showed a good point of view to use this monster, good job!