MUSHROOM SEER - Must for Obsidian Mirror Match

in Splinterlands2 years ago

MUSHROOM SEER2.png

Earth.png

MUSHROOM SEER

Hello, everyone, I hope you're doing great. In this post, I'll show you one of the guild battles that I recently had, and how the Mushroom Seer helped me win the battle. This is a rare monster from the old reward set (meaning that it's no longer in print), and from the Earth Splinter.



Lore

Earth.png

The hidden Mushroom Forest at the heart of the Centauri Wood has produced many curiosities in the past, including medicines with strange and otherworldly effects. Recently, fully grown Mushroom People have emerged from this forest. These Mushroom People spread maddening spores everywhere they go.



Stats

Earth.png

At level 1, the level I used him, he has 2 magic, 1 speed, 3 health, and Silence, which lowers the enemy magic. This ability is the reason why the Mushroom Seer is a must for an Obsidian mirror match, negating the summoner's buff.

Apart from his ability, the 2 magic attack is great for a relative low mana cost. However, its slow speed and only 3 health make him vulnerable.

image.png

After leveling up, it gains Poison, while improving its speed and health a little. This was my first time using him, but I had seen him a lot before, and it's a great card; one of only two who have Silence at level 1.

Earth.png

Battle

Here I'll show you the guild battle using the Mushroom Seer. I'll describe it as best as I can, but nothing beats the feeling of actually watching the battle, so in this link you'll be able to watch the battle yourself!



Ruleset

Earth.png

image.png

  • Armored Up: All Monsters have 2 Armor in addition to their normal Armor stat.

  • Broken Arrows: Ranged attack Monsters may not be used in battles.

  • Allowed Splinters: Fire, Earth, Death, and Dragon.



Team

Earth.png

Since every monster was going to have extra armor, melee attackers would be at a disadvantage, and since ranged wasn't allowed, it was only natural that both my opponent and I would focus on magic, on Obsidian.

CardDescription
OBSIDIAN

As I stated before, going for a magic team is the most optimal thing to do because of the ruleset.
MYCELIC SLIPSPAWN

I could have gone for Unicorn Mustang, predicting the magic from the enemy, however, I decided to go for the Slipspawn to protect my backline from possible attacks, since they have little health.
REGAL PERYTON

Peryton is my monster with the 2nd highest health, so it's in the second position in case my main tank falls.
MUSHROOM SEER

As I said before since I'm predicting my opponent to go for magic, thanks to Silence, they'll deal little damage. And it also benefits from Obsidian's magic buff.
GOBLIN PSYCHIC

With Tank Heal, he'll cure the Slipspawn every round, allowing it to survive for longer, while also dealing some damage.
SPIRIT HOARDER

Since I was running out of mana, I needed some low mana magic monsters. His ability Triage is great, but in this battle, it doesn't take effect.
KHMER PRINCESS

Another low mana magic monster to fill my mana cap.


ROUND 1

Earth.png

image.png

  • As I predicted, my opponent went for a magic team, so Mushroom Seer will get to shine in this battle. However, they went with the Unicorn, which takes less damage from magic attacks, which evens the battle.

  • The Unicorn Mustang attacks the Slipspawn, but only damages its armor.

  • All of the magic monsters from both teams take turns attacking the monster in the first position.

  • At the end, both Goblin Psychics heal their respective tanks, leaving the Unicorn with 4 health and the Slipspawn with 8.

If it hadn't been for the Mushroom Seer, I would have received an additional 4 damage, meaning that I'd have the same health as the Unicorn.



ROUND 2

Earth.png

image.png

  • This time, the Unicorn deals damage directly to the Slipspawn. Peryton and Elven Mystic damage it as well, leaving it with 3 health.

  • Then, the Slipspawn, my own Peryton, and Spirit Hoarder attack the Unicorn, defeating it. Now that their tank is gone, this will be a breeze.

  • Djinn Biljka attacks the Slipspanw. It only has 2 health left now. If the enemy's Goblin Psychic attacks first, then my tank will die as well.

  • Luckily for me, my Goblin goes first, healing it, before the enemy is able to finish it off. And it also defeats the enemy Peryton, along with the rest of my monsters.

I have to say, I was lucky that I healed my tank before it was taken out. However, it still wouldn't have been enough for me to lose.

With a 6 v 4 battle, and the enemy with no tanks left, this is my battle to lose now.



ROUND 3

Earth.png

image.png

  • Peryton and Slipspawn defeat the enemy Goblin first.

  • Spirit Hoarder, Mushroom Seer, and Goblin Psychic one-shot Djinn Biljka, Scavo Hireling, and Elven Mystic, respectively.

As I said, once his tanks were gone, the rest of the team was going to fall one after the other.

Earth.png

Final Thoughts

Earth.png

  • Without the Mushroom Seer, I think I would have lost this battle. The enemy would have hit so much harder, and my tank would have died first, most likely. I can't believe how much difference he made in this battle. However, I probably should have gone for the Unicorn Mustang. That way, it would have negated Peryton's, Biljka's, and Elven's attacks.

  • Aside from that, the Goblin Psychic and Mycelic Slipspawn were crucial in this battle, and while I'd have liked Spirit Hoarder's Triage to have more of a role in the battle, his magic damage was appreciated.

  • I definitely would like to use the Mushroom Seer again, and I'm considering buying one up, instead of renting him. However, since I want to focus on Modern League once it comes out, I'm not sure if I'll do it.



Finally, I really hope you liked my review of the Mushroom Seer! And if you want to be part of the incredible community of Splinterlands, and earn crypto assets while playing a really fun game, click here! See you soon.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ginnungagap! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 20
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121