Anyone else feel like they kinda got fucked by Splinterlands?

in Splinterlands4 years ago

Perhaps fucked isn't the right word, but I feel trapped. Maybe I'm just naive. I've been a supporter of Splinterlands for a long time. I was there when it was SteemMonsters. I was there when the game didn't even exist yet, and I was there buying up the Alpha cards with my hard-earned STEEM/SBD. I traded a real currency for these cards because I believed in the future of SteemMonsters while being under the impression that I would be one day selling my cards for STEEM/SBD. I was excited that all these assets existed on the same blockchain.

Fast forward a couple of years and we experience the corrupt Steemit Inc. takeover and the birth of Hive. A few months later, Splinterlands moves to the Hive blockchain.
Let's talk about that airdrop! We all received an equivalent amount in Hive assets as we held in Steem assets. This... This is when it clicked! The value behind the cards I own is simply an illusion as the card itself does not hold value and it only becomes valuable when you convince someone else of this false value. I felt cheated out of the airdrop until I realized that the value of my cards is actually zero.
Screen Shot 20200630 at 2.28.32 PM.png
Splinterlands created their own token which is described in the snippet below:


So why do I feel trapped? I'm glad you asked! 🤓 When I sell my cards now, I will receive DEC. Then I have to hope that there is a market for those who want to buy DEC, but I question why anyone would want to buy DEC? Anybody who plays Splinterlands knows that it is overrun by bot accounts. These bots are earning DEC so how could anyone expect DEC to hold any value when it's earned the way it currently is. I feel Splinterlands has designed a system that traps the user into a valueless pit in the illusion of ownership.

Sort:  

At least you received the airdrop, there was an issue with mine, which they say will be corrected with the next hard fork.

I don't think one can really earn mush with Splinterlands, but it is still nice to play.

I received $11 for my airdrop. I had a couple grand in cards though.

:reply:
Also BTC has its value only formed in the markets which are way larger then with DEC. It was good while we had @peakmonsters trading cards for STEEM/SBD.
Cheers!

You could say that about almost any asset - its value depends on the demand for it - if you got out now, you could cash in cards for DEC, DEC for Hive then Hive for BTC then BTC for the current value of your cards.

There is a market for DEC on Hive-Engine

You'd lose something on the way down, but not much.