Battle share with Life splinter - Melee versus Range attack!

in Splinterlands2 years ago

Hello Splinterlands Community!!

This post is about a battle showcasing the skills of the Life Splinter and more specifically range attacks!

Neon Glitch Gamer YouTube Thumbnail.png

The Life Splinter is one of my least favourite splinters to play with. I only play with it in specific cases - daily quests, magic attacks are not allowed and in low mana battles. Both the summoners of the Life Splinter have very specific usecase in my opinion. I am only limiting myself to the base card where one gets to play with these 2 summoners -

image.png

I use Mother Khala for low mana battles to increase my monsters' health. I use geeral sloan when I want to use a range attack heavy lineup. I will share one such battle today and my strategy for that game.

The link to the battle is below and you can also watch the battle on YouTube (please subscribe to my channel if you want to watch more Splinterlands battles.)

Battle Link
Youtube link

Battle Description

image.png

  1. No healing ability allowed
  2. Total Mana limit 26
  3. Can play with Fire & Life Splinters

I chose to play with Life Splinter for this battle. The reasons to choose life in this battle were as follows -

  1. If the opposition chooses fire splinter, then I had the chance of lowering their speed and reduce the probability of successful melee attack. It will become evident in team selection later.
  2. I could direct all attacks to my tank and then keep attacking the opposition's lineup.
  3. There is no summoner or monster in fire that can reduce range attack level. 4. There is a high probability of a draw if the opponent also uses life.

I went for the following team -

Summoner

image.png

Team

image.png

Reason for Team Selection - Strategy

My tank was Shield Bearer that comes with Taunt ability. This means all monsters attack this monster. I knew that I wanted 3 monsters in my team - Shield Bearer, Time Mage and Pelacor Arbalest. This leaves me with 4 mana and given my summoner, I filled up the positions with 2 range attack monsters.

The Shield Bearer allowed me force all enemy monster attacks on it. This gave a longer life to the most important monster in my lineup - Pelacor Arbalest. This is because it has Double Strike ability. Time Mage reduces the speed of every monster in the opponent's line up. This does two things - It increases the probability of opponent's missing their attack on my tank if their Speed goes below 2 - and - it ensures that my Pelacor Arbalest does not miss.

Adding 2 range attack monsters was my preferred choice here because if I used a 4 mana range attack single monster then I would only be able to have at most +3 Range attack where as 2 monsters give me +4 rage attack power. Additionally when my tank dies, a 4 mana range attack monster becomes useless immediately as it becomes the tank and range attacks cannot be used from tank position.


I did win the battle and hope you all liked my strategy. Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @karamyog ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121

Hi
It is interesting to see how the game have evolved over time. There are so many nuances to the game which the new players may not be aware of.
yet the game gives so much opportunity to grow

Congratulations @karamyog! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 31000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 32000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz supports the HiveFest⁷ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the July PUM Winners
Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Today I Decided to go around handing out some !PIZZA and !LOLZ.

Cheers,

!BEER

What do you say when a Southern person stabs you in the back?
Betray'all!

Credit: reddit
@karamyog, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of rentmoney

(4/6)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@rentmoney(6/10) tipped @karamyog