Healing Fortress - A solid strategy for low mana battles

in Splinterlands2 years ago

123.png

I want to share a new strategy that I created today for sub-24 mana games. It becomes very difficult in such games to fill all six monster positions. Also, one mostly has to use sub-4 mana cost monsters, that have low speed and can be ineffective against strong opposition. The game that I am sharing today is one strategy for such games where I think a lot can be achieved by the healing abilities of monsters. Again, a lot depends on the cards one has, as we will find out later in the post.

Battle Rules

The overall mana limit for the game was 23 and standard rules applied i.e. no limitations whatsoever. One was free to choose any summoner and any monster.

My Team

Summoner: Obsidian; 4 Mana, +1 Magic

  1. Xenith Monk - Level 2, 4 Mana, 1 Melee, 3 Speed, 6 Health and Heal ability
  2. Fungus Fiend - Legendary Card, 0 Mana, 1 Melee, 1 Speed, 2 Health
  3. Khmer Princess - Level 1, 2 Mana, 1 Magic, 1 Speed, 1 Health
  4. Spirit Hoarder - Legendary Card, 3 Mana, 1 Magic, 1 Speed, 3 Health, Triage ability (Restores the health of back-line friendly monster whose health has taken most damage)
  5. Goblin Psychic - Level 2, 6 Mana, 2 Magic, 1 Speed, 4 Health, with Tank Heal ability
  6. Queen Mycelia - Legendary Card, 4 Mana, 1 Magic, 1 Speed, 4 Health, with Protect ability

As you can see above, my team had 3 legendary cards and 2 Level 2 cards. Moreover, I call this the Healing Fortress as I have a monster to heal the back-line friendly monsters, a monster to heal my tank, and a tank that self-heals!

The battle link is here for anyone that wants to see the full action - Healing Fortress Battle link

Let us look at the results of each round one by one; My opponent also chose Obsidian and therefore it made the battle more interesting -

image.png

Round 1

All Magic attack monsters on both teams gained +1 Magic attack. My team also got +2 Armor, thanks to Queen Mycelia.

My tank got hit first by Regal Peryton from the opponent's team. It restored its Health and the opponent's tank was destroyed in the next two attacks. The opponent's team's second-in-line monster went next. I did suffer a blow from the opponent's team Khmer Princess but my tank's health was again restored by Goblin Psychic.

image.png

Round 2

Two monsters from the opponent's team were down and My tank had taken a hit from Goblin Psychic in the opponent's team. It again got hit by Regal Peryton but then my tank's health was restored twice - Once by the tank and the second time by Goblin Psychic.

image.png

Round 3

My entire team is still standing and only Regal Peryton from the opponent's team is left. We all know the result by now. :)

image.png

End

image.png

image.png


Hope you liked this strategy and found it useful. This just highlights the importance of leveling up and having solid cards and also how sometimes all monsters together can ensure complete destruction of the opponent's team without even getting scratched. Let me know your thoughts. Do you think this is a good team to have? How will you tackle this?

P.S. This strategy is for people new to the game, just like I am. This is not for Gold and Diamond level players who have insane cards. I see them sometimes in battles and I wonder what is the point of engaging in that particular battle.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Fortress of healing. I like it. Smart strategy. Sharing this on Splinterlands Digest Twitter.

Thanks for sharing! - @marianaemilia

Very good strategy, congratulations!