Starting my Splinterlands journey: Completed my first daily quest

in Splinterlands2 years ago

image.png

One of my resolutions for this year was to get into play-to-earn gaming. What better place to start than our very own homegrown Splinterlands on Hive. I want to share my experience from the first few days and hopefully, my posts can help those, who like me, are early into this game.


How did I start

image.png

Well, I did not go through any videos on YouTube or read multiple posts on this community. I decided to get help from some of my friends who have been playing Splinterlands for a year and have decent SPS staked in their wallets. I also tried to read the Learn section of the Splinterlands website.

It feels like too much information in the beginning. However, within a few battles, one starts to get the hang of things. Again, let me remind you that I am very new to this game so I may sound stupid to many of the slightly more experienced users. Initially, summoners, monsters, splinters, etc. can all sound very confusing. However, I would recommend that you read the learn section and then practice a few games so as to understand what you read.

I had to go to the learn section a number of times to remind myself of all the features of summoners and monsters. Then I was wondering which summoner is the best?

image.png

Don't worry about this. If any game would be this straightforward then would there be any fun in it? From whatever I have understood, each splinter gives you access to different monsters. You choose the monsters based on your strategy for the game and then you try your luck.

My mistakes

  1. Again getting lost in the information is easy. One mistake that I did was not selecting monsters based on my summoner. A summoner either benefits your monsters or negatively impacts the opposite side once at the start of the game. This helps in choosing a team. I realized this after a few practice sessions.

  2. I was finding it very hard to choose an entire team in case of low mana games. I wanted a high mana melee attacker upfront and rely more on magic attackers. However, I realized this after playing a number of games. One does not need to have a team of 6 monsters. I can play a game with 3 monsters as well. At least, now I don't end up surrendering because of time expiry.

  3. I was relying heavily on Magic attackers because they do not miss. Well, I have realized that all stats matter. Range attackers have their own advantages. One has to think about all stats. I am yet to understand the implication of speed stat as I haven't fully been able to grasp how this works, or how I should use it to my team's advantage.

  4. I was ignoring abilities. Remember, I said I had to go back to the learn section quite often as I could not understand a game fully. This, like speed, is something I am still trying to understand. I am sure that the abilities aspect helps tremendously in battles. Clearly when monsters have the ability to dodge melee/range attacks. Sometimes these abilities can prove better than shields.

Finally, I decided to buy the Spellbook

I played a lot of practice games before buying the spellbook. I can now play ranked battles and I did manage to move up 1 tier in a day. I mean, ok, I am still BRONZE III but when one is excited about something, then each small step matters a lot more than it should. After the spellbook, I got a chance to participate in my first daily quest and it was the death quest.

image.png

I did manage to complete this quest. Here are the links to my battles -
Link 1
Link 2
Link 3
Link 4
Link 5

Next Steps

  1. I want to play a lot more ranked battles so that I can improve my rating
  2. I want to understand what power means and how I can improve my power
  3. Buy a few cards. However, before buying cards, I want to have a better understanding of the game so that I can make a better judgment while buying cards

There is still a long way to go for me as I am just starting. I am excited about the prospects of playtoearn gaming in general and my long association with Hive makes me even more excited and optimistic about Splinterlands. Hopefully, this series of posts will help more people who want to join this game. Comments that can help me as well as others will be immensely appreciater!

Sort:  

Welcome to the journey, it is very addictive haha

I know! I want to give it some rest but then I want my ranking to go up as well.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Welcome new friend, and hope you enjoy it.

Welcome! By the way, you can also rent cards for power or if you want to practice more. I also suggest to watch videos that feature splinterlands battle, tips and tricks. And most especially enjoy the game ^^

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121