Social Media - Happy 6th Year Anniversary

in Splinterlands21 days ago

image.png

Happy Anniversary Splinterlands, 6 Years is no joke, you are Battle Tested and have a beloved Community that supports you. Splinterlands has become more than just a game for me to pass time, it is a platform where I can communicate with people all around the world, allowing me the ability to share my blessings with a wider scope and have a great time doing it.

Discovery of Splinterlands: How did you come across Splinterlands? Was it through a friend, social media, or perhaps a chance encounter?

image.png

Splinterlands was my introduction and gateway into Crypto Currency. Whilst I had been introduced to Bitcoin and Ethereum by a good friend of mine @Leveluplife, it really did not gain my interest, here in the Philippines, Cash is King and to be honest just holding tokens didn’t really do much for me. I had mentioned this to my friend and in conversation he had brought up an NFT related game which left me curious, the word GAME of course. I am an avid gamer, from PC to various consoles, and have been for a good part of my life, usually playing FPS and strategy games such as War Craft Reign of Chaos, Command and Conquer, Gears of War, Call of Duty, Destiny, Dota and even Mobile Legends (Due to Internet limitations over here). It is my way to de-stress from the challenges that reality can bring, and whilst being a business owner in the midst of the pandemic, I had a lot of stresses accumulating.

I actually started in August of 2021. I created my first account named Mangomayhem and @leveluplifeph delegated me a variation of 1 BCX cards including the infamous Yodin Zaku and Cerberus. I can tell you that from the minute I played the game, I couldn’t really put it down, the similarities, whilst digital, reminded me of Magic the Gathering (I was pretty big into that during my childhood and still have a bunch of cards in the UK), I remember calling my friend in the late evening and saying, “ Bro I need more cards” I’m already at Gold League, back then there were still CP restrictions and I couldn’t move forward without them.

image.png

I wanted to purchase cards straight away and remember getting some DEC and SPS from my friend. He mentioned a new set was coming out called Chaos Legion but I really couldn’t wait, I began purchasing Untamed Packs from the secondary market (they were like 80usd at the time) and I remember the thrill it had given me opening them up and seeing what I could get, checking the prices and abilities that these cards could offer, a Gold Foil Chanseus The Great was among the Legendary Gold Foil cards Received, it was worth a pretty penny back then, whilst I have no need of it in ranked play due to low level and I spend primarily my time in the Modern Format, I could never sell it, it sits on land for now, farming grain as we speak.

I played on my cell phone, the app was sufficient and to be honest I really didn’t know what to do besides play the game. I had a great New Player Experience, Trial by Fire, although I had pretty beast cards. This game has kept me occupied for hours on end, learning strategies to best suit Splinters, it was great to find out that it had a large Filipino Community involved also.

Duration of Participation: How long have you been a part of Splinterlands? Are you a seasoned veteran or a recent addition to this mesmerizing realm?

I have been around Splinterlands since August 2021. I would say that I am one of the new additions to Splinterlands, that has really embraced the game and community, in terms of gameplay, I would like to believe that I am becoming a Seasoned Veteran, I have seen many changes, many challenges, yet have never shied away from Ranked Battles, Brawls or Tournaments.

Time Spent in Splinterlands: Share the amount of time you dedicate to Splinterlands daily. Does it consume a significant part of your day, or do you balance it with other activities?

Splinterlands has fit in to my daily routine, I spend about 3 hours in the morning whilst enjoying a coffee. I also have an additional 3-4 hours during the evening time which is primarily where I will play the majority of games. Of course, this is just a rough guideline and the reality is, every moment that I can, I spend playing Splinterlands, buying cards, talking shop on discord or looking into new projects, Liquidity pools etc. The great thing about the game now, is that there is no restriction to how many games you can play as well as this there are high stake tournaments. The energy system in my opinion was a great feature, before you would have to stop due to low ECR, now that is not the case.

Accomplishments: What have you managed to achieve in Splinterlands? Have you conquered certain leagues, earned particular rewards, or accomplished personal milestones that make your journey stand out?

I have managed to achieve so much within a short period of time. Firstly, understanding and entry in the Crypto Market was because of Splinterlands, secondly obtaining Max Level Decks for my scholars and myself, creating a community and token with Team Philippines, accumulation of SPS and DEC and also a sustainable income generated through passive methods and of course, becoming a Champion Player. I Started in Bronze and now play against the best players in the world and even taste the Leaderboard Prizes on most occasions.

Upcoming Goals: What are your aspirations within Splinterlands? Are you aiming for a higher league, collecting specific cards, or mastering a new strategy? Share your future ambitions within the game.

I will be with this community for a very long time, I believe we have key individuals as well as the founders that pride themselves on helping the smaller guys. @davemccoy, @clayboyn, @thepeoplesguild to mention a few, but to me @azircon stands out the most, he has inspired me personally, he helps so many people for nothing in return, he is disliked by many abusers of the game and community for his integrity, he for me, the peoples champion.

If you ever run into these individuals on discord, reach out to them, they will help you. The game mechanics in my opinion have significantly improved and is consistently being revamped. The new card editions are amazing and inter mingle with the older sets perfectly yet not one edition can stand alone.

My main upcoming goal is to get all of the Chaos Legion Set in Gold Foil, I could just buy them on the market but I do not want to lose the thrill in opening packs. I wish to also max out all newer sets and once done, focus on completing the edition I had started with, which is Untamed. I believe that a Vintage Mode will be released for Human only in which these cards will be showcased and in the lime light again.

Advice for Beginners: Imagine speaking to someone who's just stepping into the Splinterlands universe. What advice would you give to beginners, based on your experience? Share tips, strategies, or insights that could help them navigate this world effectively.

image.png

I think knowing your financial standpoint is a big factor. Can you invest in cards or SPS, it is an expensive journey however how much do you truly love TCG’s? If you are looking for quick cash, perhaps Splinterlands is not for you, it takes time to master the game and cards to do it. What we have here is a great community. Who will show you the ropes early on, support your endeavors perhaps in scholarships or delegations, who will teach you about ways to earn passively, but the truth is being an active member of the community is the key to success, there is a lot to learn in this space, I know I have learnt a lot and am still learning.

For those on a budget, the rental market is a great way to experience the game, at a minimal cost, you can still make a profit this way but I would hope with prices this cheap, people would start to accumulate cards and combine for the goal of playing in higher leagues, that’s where the competition is.

Summary

What makes this game great is the Community, the game itself relates to a generation of TCG gamers that had enjoyment in childhood and now have the capital to spend on collecting NFT's and playing a solid game. It is not for everyone, quick money is not to be made here, we are in this for the long haul. Together we rise or together we fall.

Thank you for taking the time to read this, should you have any questions, please leave a comment below. This is MangoMayhem Signing out, Ciao for now, and I look forward to seeing you on the battlefield!

MangoMayhem by DamienWolf.png

Together we Thrive Kapamilya

Sort:  

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 5% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Greetings,
How are you doing?
Happy anniversary on Splinterlands. Congratulation on your achievements
Do you have a preference between renting or buying SPS?
Have a great end of season in Splinterlands
!PGM

Hey there, thank you for your comment. I do a combination of both, I rent SPS and own also but my owned SPS is usually delegated to my scholar accounts. Great time to buy if you have some dry powder, I am accumulating whenever I can. The updates for Glint utility look great, happy grinding!

Thank you

Happy 6th Anniversary Splinterlands 👍 !PGM

Thanks for sharing! - @azircon

Good to see these pictures. I recognize @jayemm there :)

The great thing about those pictured, they are the nicest guys ever, humble, respectful, funny, and know how to have a good time. When you come over to the Philippines we are going to have a big meet up :) Thank you for all that you do for the game and for the people, only the ignorant allow these things to go un-noticed.

Yes, that will definitely happen. Question is only timing.

We are looking forward to that day :) Hope to see you soon!

Congratulations @mangomayhem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2024