Splinterlands - Battle With Centaur (Weekly Battle Post)

in Splinterlands2 years ago


image.png

I have to be honest that I do not use Centaur much at all. However since it is a Beta card I had been fortunate to get a gold foil 1 bcx version of it before prices rose in middle of this year.

image.png

At the time I was trying to collect enough unique gold foil cards that I could afford and Centaur back then was one I could afford. Now worth a little under $55 per bcx I have to admit it was a wise investment to purchase the card.

Since I rented out my Centaur to earn passive income I will not be able to test it out in battles and show the results in this post. Instead I looked for a alternative to compare that is similar to the Centaur. For a gold foil 1bcx I found the reward card Highland Archer fit the bill.

image.png

Although it is worth mentioning the Highland Archer does not have any abilities and that at equal level of the Centaur it has lower speed and health but this is due in part with lower mana.

Formations

image.png

The match was had a limit of 23 mana and rule sets earthquake and no heal. In addition water splinter was ban from use. I consider using fire but since I also remembered the Nectar Bee would do well in earthquake I decided to lean toward earth splinter.

My formation started off with Nectar Queen followed up with the following monster formation. Regal Peryton, Enchanted Pixie and closing off with no other than Highland Archer. Three of the four monsters would nullify the earthquake rule set since they have flying ability. Then there was Highland Archer just to fit in as supplemental range attack.

My opponent went with life splinter and put in a full set of monsters. Their lead off was Gargoya Lion, Luminous Eagle, Furious Chicken, Pelacor Conjurer, Celestial Harpy and ending with Tower Griffin. At first glance it appear to be a decent formation as all but Furious Chicken had flying ability while only two of the six monsters would not be able to attack in any of the rounds.

This all seem to be an interesting match to unfold as I had less monsters than my opponent yet the level of the monsters were mostly the same. Highland Archer stood out as it was level 4, highest in both formations.

Round 1

image.png

On the surface it appear to be a stalemate however look carefully at end of round one there is damage done to Gargoya. It should not take long to finish him off.

Round 2

image.png

At the end of round two both Gargoya and Eagle went down and now it was four against four. On top of that both Furious Chicken and Pelacor Conjurer did not have attack stats so it really came down to four against two with me having the advantage.

Round 3

image.png

Round three turn out to be a back and forth round leading it to two versus two. We are now equal in monsters but mine had more health in Regal Peryton.

Round 4

image.png

Nectar Queen knocks out Celestial Harpy and that would be the end of the match even though my opponent still had Tower Griffin alive. The monster's range attack would do no harm at the front of the formation and the match ends with me winning in five rounds.

Conclusions

Highland Archer contributed in a small amount at the beginning of the match with its range attack. However due to no flying ability it would eventually be knocked out due to rule set gravity. If Centaur was used in its place of Archer it would have similar results.

Overall my formation came out on top probably due to likes of Nectar Queen with high melee and high health. The assistance of the middle and rear of the formation in attack help bring my formation to victory. The range and magic attacks showed its colors in this battle on both sides but I came out victorious.

Until next time thanks for reading!!!

If you are interested to learn more about Splinterlands please go through some of my other posts. Order is from newest to oldest posts:

Splinterlands - Securing Your Cards From Hackers

Everything About Dark Energy

All You Want To Know About Reward Chests

SPS White Paper Cliff Notes

Helpful Links for New and Veteran Players

I have plenty of other cards for rent! Just go on peakmonsters and check out the market place and if you are curious what I offer here is a link:

mawit07 rentals

If You have yet to take part in playing this great game called Splinterlands please click on my referral link. It is free but in order to earn real assets such as cards and token you would have to invest in a starter deck or purchase game cards. Join the discord to learn more. Good luck!


THANKS FOR READING! CONTINUE TO PLAY SPLINTERLANDS!