Strategy Corner #07 - Aim True with Fire- Battle Mage Secrets

in Splinterlandslast year (edited)

Strategy Corner Picture.png

Hiya Splinterlanders :)

Recently there was a change in a weekly challenge from Splinterlands, they switch the format from concentrating on one monster to the specific ruleset. What does it mean to Strategy Corner cycle? Not much, we still concentrate on a different strategy which you could apply depending on the ruleset, I will try to find some different alternatives depending on mana and available splinters.

Let's first talk about rulesets in general, not concentrating on the specific line-up. There weren't any good occasions before, and the rulesets are the main catalyst that determines what setup you would like to play.

cooltext431456941947918.png

Ruleset definition:

Aim True: Melee and ranged attacks will always hit their target.

Note: This applies to magic attacks as well even if there is a phase monster.

Firstly, the description of the ruleset in the game is not perfect, sometimes you got just general information which not giving you all information you need. Best way to read the full description as above from the game documentation at least once. You can check all here.

Overall rulesets define battle, now with new changes to the rulesets system where usually you have 3 of them, there are even more important.
Aim True is maybe not be the most impactful, for sure you need to be aware of all dodge strategy that will not work.
You still need to take into consideration the speed, of course, even the slowest monster will hit his target, but it needs to be alive till that moment. So for sure taking low-speed monster is less risky for Aim True ruleset, but as in the battle below speed is the king. :)

image.png

cooltext431457060595464.png

Today's battle is unusual. I rather present how not to play from my side, and an almost perfect line-up from opponent's side.
I'm not a very experience fire splinter player, I think in lower league silver and below fire splinter overall is one of the weakest and quite situational. (without Yodin of course :D ). I still need to play and learn more about it. In a higher league as I always say you need to rely on patterns and there are a few effective from fire splinter, but still I usually don't even rent any fire cards. But today I wanted to present you one of the best setup of Fire splinter and the battle was with one of the best players in Splinterlands - @schnapoon.

image.png

As I mentioned Aim True is the perfect opportunity for the Yodin team, I couldn't find any good counter, maybe the Ilthain team, but it still feels underperforming. I risk one of the best setups with Immortalis and Mycelic Slipspawn, hoping to block some of the high damage with forcefield. As you can see it failed.

image.png

Round 2, the situation doesn't look great, my only hope is that Quora will start snowballing and grow monstrously. I'm still standing, but how long? :D

image.png

Round 3, as you can see not too long, I have just lost two of my most beefy monsters on the battlefield, good thing Quora get one kill and bloodlust buff. Unfortunately, because of the divine shield from the Holy protection ruleset, she couldn't get a second one. Blast is so useful here :).

image.png

Round 4, there is a still small hope with Quora on the battlefield, but we are running out of firepower :) We need a miracle here :), oh no it's true strike :)

image.png

Yep, true strike means no miracle, we haven't survived to 5th round, Quora wasn't enough, let's jump to summary to get full picture.

cooltext431457103011148.png

As I mentioned I haven't got a lot of experience of fire splinter, but we got great opponent with very effective line-up, so let's do some post-mortem analysis ;).

cooltext431457119374817.png

image.png

Yodin Zaku, the best or at least at top 2 summoners among fire splinter. His main power is in my opinion Blast ability, additional range attack bonus is nice also. He is still very powerful, but recently with addition of reflection shield ability there are more way to be better protected. Aim true is perfect ruleset to use his offensive power, speed is still very important, but you don't have to worry about misses.

image.png

Magnor , one of the staple in fire Yodin team, great tank with so many useful abilities. I think he shines more in higher league, with more HP and trample. But still with Enrage and Blast guarenteed by Yodin he is very powerful. You could see the sample in battle above. I think in his case Aim True doesn't change much, because his enraged speed is so high.

image.png

Countess Sinash, quite new reward card. On first glance seems not so powerful, but additional speed bonus is crucial. Her weakness is low health points, but camouflage is handy here. With the newest change to scattershot ability she couldn't feel safe all the time, but overall I think it worth to risk to put her on the battlefield. With the Yodin Countess start to shine so much brighter, opportunity ability with blast is a nightmare for opponent team, so be aware.

image.png

cooltext431457083695370.png

The battle was far from perfect, it was challenging match during the stream and is very good opponent, so maybe I got a little stress :D. I have tried to check other line-up using the cards which were available to me, and I couldn't find any which could even barely compete.

I think one good lesson which you can learn from it, is how important are rulesets. As you can see my opponents perfectly use all the rulesets in his favor. True strike is so important for any ranged unit. One of the best counters to Yodin is high speed and trying to avoid hitting at all costs, we couldn't use this tactic here.

Yodin Zaku is not a cheap card, even for rent, so I usually don't see him quite often. But on higher level tournament you should always have in mind that opponent could use him. One of the hint is rulesets, if you see Aim True, probability is much higher, I haven't do my lesson in presented battle, and took nice beating :).

image.png

I hope you like this kind of battle and strategy presentation. More strategy analysis, discussion, and prediction games you can find on my Wednesday Splinterlands.tv stream. You can check the schedule here

If you have any comments, please do not hesitate. Do you think I could improve anything just tell me :)

cooltext431457987711722.png

If you wish to try out Splinterlands you can use my reference link.

Thumbnails and other pictures borrowed with permission from the Splinterlands team or made in Cooltext

image.png

We continue our game from the previous week, today new battle, new card to win :).

I come to some idea, I hope you will like it and participate. Every week I will publish one battle, and your goal is to point out first victim of the battle and who will be the winner. This game is exactly the same as my prediction game which I run on my Wednesday Splinterlands.tv stream. I know that not everyone can attend the stream, so I hope you will still have fun in that way. More about rules you can read here.

Among all participants who get correct answer I will randomly (probably on my Wednesday stream) choose one winner.

The prize of first blog prediction game for lucky winner will be the epic card:

image.png

Here we got the battle, of course with our today's hero: Yodin Zaku

image.png

Game instruction:
Try to point out which monster will die first on the battlefield and who win the battle

  • t - top player
  • b - bottom player
  • number - order counting from the first position

Examples:
t2b = monster on second position of top player die first, bottom player wins
b6t = monster on sixth position of bottom player die first, top player wins
t3t = monster on thiird position of top player die first, top player wins

cooltext430880853225991.png

image.png

Previous articles:

10
09
08
07
06
05
04
03

Sort:  

Thank you for the challenge. And thank you for the article.
It is useful to be able to destroy two Holy Protection because of the blast. Aim True so I don't have to worry about being evaded even if it's Jacek. I was afraid of Ilthain, DeepSwimmer, Varnamor.

Thanks for the post. My prediction is t1b. Ign: caminomechilles.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @maxmaka! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 250 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 500 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD
You distributed more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - March 15, 2023
HiveBuzz rewards participants in the Afri-Tunes Anniversary event
Keep Hive Buzzing - Support our proposal!
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Do you know you can win a Chaos Legion pack and many other things just by following some simple steps ?? Check out our Latest Daily Showcase and Participate our latest Giveaway. Thanks

SPLBDVoter.gif

DELEGATE HIVE POWER TO BDVOTER & EARN HIVE DAILY.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL & CHECKOUT OUR HIVE BLOG & TWITTER PAGE FOR DAILY CURATION REPORT

thanks for upvote #pickrick :)

b2t IGN barrowhill

my prediction is b1t

b6t

Thanks for sharing! - @yonilkar

thanks for upvote :)

b1t ign cryptoace33

my guess is b2t
IGN: Dtam

my guess is b2b. Thanks maxmaka!!!

B5t ign shankssss

b2t

thanks

arniboi

Hi Max!
t1b
!GIF Good Luck

This post has been given a 10.0% UpVote by the SplinterBoost Community Curation Bot.
image.png
Vote For Witness | Delegate HP | Join Discord